Snuggle under your down duvet with 100% cotton sheets and lots of pillows. Goodnight!
Warmth, Privacy, Coffee + Best Area
Warmth, Privacy, Coffee + Best Area
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Sanctuary in the city! Enjoy your private sunny room with your own bathroom on quiet, tree-lined street. Five minute walk to galleries, parks, funky cafés, great restaurants, cool bars and indie boutiques. 24/7 streetcar 20 mins to downtown.

The space

Love the friendliness of airbnb, but also like a little privacy? Welcome to your oasis in the heart of one of the most fun and interesting neighbourhoods in the city. We are proud of our superhost status and do our very best to make all our guests feel comfortable. This space does not include kitchen access, but you can make simple breakfasts in your room (we both work from home, usually on the kitchen table). Your room and bathroom are at the front of the house with a great view of the quiet, safe, tree-lined residential street. Your cozy Queen bed has a down duvet, all linens are 100% cotton or linen, and there are extra pillows and comforters in the closet.

In your room you have your own well-stocked Tassimo coffee machine (cappuccinos every morning!), your own mini fridge, kettle, toaster oven, a small smoothie blender, an HD TV with AppleTV (including our access to our Netflix account), a small table with two chairs, a Dyson fan for hot summer nights, and separate heating control for the room, so you can be cosy and warm in winter.

The room is bright and sunny in the afternoons, but also has black-out blinds to help you sleep for as long as you need to. There is lots of space for your clothes in the closet and a full-length mirror – you have to step back into the hallway to see your shoes though! We share a hallway with you, but there is a door we usually keep closed between your very clean bedroom and bathroom and our (usually a bit messy) kitchen and living room. This gives you a little more privacy, keeps our curious kids with their sticky hands away from your laptop, and keeps things quiet even if the kids are playing in the living room.

You have primary use of the main floor bathroom. It’s an older bathroom with the basics: toilet, sink, tub/shower, nothing fancy, but clean. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom and along with lots of towels on the high shelves. We also provide soap, shampoo and conditioner and any other toiletries you might have forgotten.

We are family friendly and can lend you anything most things you need (stroller, toys, portable crib, etc.). Kids stay for free in your room.

There are a few cheap parking lots nearby and sometimes one of our neighbours has a free spot we can borrow for a few nights.

Guest access

This space is ideal for those who prefer to eat out while travelling. It does not include kitchen access, but you can make breakfast or heat things up in your room and we are surrounded by great local cafés and a wide range of restaurants ranging from cheap and cheerful to some of the best in the city.

We love hosting and will be happy to welcome you and answer any questions you have. There is a door between our guest room and bathroom and the rest of house because we have young kids, so it helps cut down noise, keeps your iPhone safe from sticky little hands and means that we can keep your bedroom and bathroom spotless (which is a challenge for the rest of the house!)

Interaction with guests

WHAT YOU CAN EXPECT
We are friendly, easy-going people who will do everything we can to make you feel at home. We take our cues from you to either give you your privacy and/or sit down with you and customize a map of the neighbourhood according to what you are interested in exploring.

Let us know if you need your boarding pass (or anything else) printed while you’re here.

We usually keep the door to our kitchen closed (becauSe we sometimes work at the kitchen table and to hide our family chaos!). Just knock anytime if there is anything you need, we want to make sure you enjoy your stay here as much as possible.

Other things to note

We love meeting incredible people from all over the world and have made great friends through airbnb, but will also give you lots of personal space. We are family-friendly, LGBT friendly, everybody friendly! Please note that some of the art in your room has some subtle, yet cheeky, gay content.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

Prices
Extra people $9 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $29 NZD
Weekly Discount: 12%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

Please do not smoke in the house.

Please do not bring home guests not previously mentioned in your booking.

If we aren't home when you leave/check out, please lock the front door and put the key through the letterbox -- thank you!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

95 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jonathan User Profile
May 2017
This was our second stay with Gisele. The room is, as it was before, exactly as pictured and described: compact, thoughtfully equipped and perfectly comfortable. The location is in a lively neighbourhood - the restaurants and bars on Ossington are a short walk away. Transit by bus and streetcar is similarly close. Highly recommended.

Jason User Profile
May 2017
By far, one of the best experiences in Toronto! Giselle and Archer were fantastic and generous hosts that provided food and tips on what to do in Toronto. I would recommend staying here 100%. I'll definitely rebook next time we're visiting Toronto.

Tania User Profile
April 2017
Wonderful people with a very homey place!

David User Profile
February 2017
Very comfortable room, especially in the wintertime. Safe neighbourhood, close to shops( Dundas) and park( trinity bell woods). Friendly and efficient hosts. I enjoyed my stay

Lars User Profile
February 2017
I stayed with Gg's family for four weeks and enjoyed the quiet but still central location, near to the 505 streetcar line. The family is very friendly, they tolerate your privacy but Gg is always available for travel tips and other problems. If you can accommodate for not having kitchen access (which she pointed out in advance, thank you) but small fridge, coffee machine and oven, it's a great place to stay.

Anna User Profile
January 2017
My boyfriend and I had a very pleasant stay at Gisele and Archer's. Gisele frequently checked in with us to make sure everything is okay, even before our arrival. Archer searched up a few affordable parking lots nearby for us upon our arrival. You'll also notice their thoughtfulness in every corner of the room/bathroom. It's hard not to feel at home. Clean, quiet, very thoughtful... we would highly recommend!

Jack User ProfileJack is a superhost.
December 2016
I stayed for 16 nights with Gisele and Archer in December 2016. Gisele was the main point of contact throughout my stay. From the first day, Gisele was welcoming and gave tips on where to eat around the neighborhood. The room is filled with information on where to go and what to do in Toronto so you can never be without something to do. The room was nice and clean. The bathroom and shower are located just outside the room and both were clean. Gisele and Archer have a young family. I was lucky to meet both of their young children on my last night. Both children are very friendly and well behaved. Overall it was a pleasant stay and perfect for any person wanting to experience the delights of Toronto in the snow or sun in a perfect location.

Toronto, CanadaJoined in November 2013
Gg User ProfileGg is a superhost.

We are artists with a young family who love to travel -- whether it's kayaking off the coast of Vancouver Island, working at a hotel in an Egyptian oasis town or hiking through bogs in Siberia. It's harder for us to get away these days, which is why we enjoy hosting people from all over the world. We speak a little German, a little French, a tiny bit of Spanish, some Cree, and a few words of Russian. We look forward to sharing our love of Toronto with you, helping you have a wonderful stay here and learning more about the world as you see it.

Languages: Deutsch, English

The neighbourhood

Similar listings