Skip to content
Ashley Hill Cottage Conservatory
Ashley Hill Cottage
Ashley Hill Cottage
4 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
4 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
2.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

Ashley Hill Cottage is a very beautiful, spacious Georgian house in the characterful Montpelier area of Bristol with a secluded feel and a warm atmosphere. It is light, clutter-free and peaceful, but it's a 250-year old home, not a shiny hotel. Both double beds are very comfortable and there is a powerful shower and a bathroom. Please, couples or quiet families only - no young children or parties.

The space

This house is a lovely place to rest, relax, cook and be at home, with lots of greenery all around, yet within easy reach of all the main city amenities by foot, car or taxi. There is a big light conservatory opening onto a courtyard and a garden. Nearby are an organic cafe and health food shop, a city farm, St Andrews park, the city centre, and Gloucester Road with its eclectic mix of shops.

Guest access

You can access everywhere (2 receptions, a breakfast room, a kitchen, 3 bathrooms, two double bedrooms, a study, a single bedroom) apart from one bedroom which I use for storage. We have two rabbits which have a hutch but which mainly live free-range in the garden, as well as fish in the courtyard pond. I will have someone come in to feed them and to water the garden unless you prefer to do it yourself. I can't promise no rabbit droppings on the lawn...sorry! There is a bike shed you are welcome to use.

Interaction with guests

I will be staying away but available by phone or email in case you need to contact me. Either I or my friendly cleaning help, Anca, will be there to let you in.

Other things to note

This is our house, not a vacant property, so our possessions are in the house but it is tidy and there will be plenty of space for your clothes in the emptied chests of drawers.

Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Dryer
Laptop friendly workspace
Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $50 NZD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 double bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 10AM - 8PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - There are two flights of stairs. The bottom flight is wooden so take care not to slip, especially when going down.
Potential for noise - Traffic; and at the weekends there can be students and teenagers making some noise in the street outside although this is almost never excessive.
Pet(s) live on property
No parking on property - The parking is residents' parking only. There is some paid parking nearby; free parking at St Andrews a 5-10 minute walk away.
Amenity limitations
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Availability
5 nights minimum stay

1 Review

Veronika User Profile
August 2017
The Ashley Hill Cottage is a great place for a romantic or family getaway. The house is very cosy and spacious with beautifully furnished rooms, located on a picturesque hill at a walkable distance from the downtown of Bristol. The rabbit and the fish in the garden (with an occasional fox) are an added bonus. Sally, our host was really hospitable, our communication went great, there weren't any problems during our arrival and departure. There's a 24 hours minimarket nearby, and we saw some bus stops, too (since we rented a car for the whole trip, didn't use the public transportation, but it exists). The nearest free parking space was about 400 meters (yards) from the house, but it didn't cause any inconvenience (Sally was nice enough to offer some parking permits, but we didn't use them). We had a busy holiday visiting Stonhenge, Wales and Tintagel, and it was very comforting to return to such a nice and cosy place every night.
Sally User Profile
Response from Sally:
Thanks for your lovely review Veronika. I'm so glad you had a great trip. We were very near Tintagel ourselves by the way! Thank you for looking after our house so well.
August 2017

Bristol, United KingdomJoined in October 2014
Sally User Profile

I am a nutritional therapist and writer, and the mother of two children aged 14 and 12. My son loves football, animals, and the outdoors; my daughter loves art and music. We love exploring new places and often go hill-walking in Wales.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings