Skip to content
The yard after walking in the gate with your cottage at the back.
Bamboo Bungalow in Berkeley
Bamboo Bungalow in Berkeley
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
Half-bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
Half-bath

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

This back yard cottage is in a central Berkeley neighborhood. It's walking distance to transportation, fantastic food markets, and treasures like UC Berkeley and hills for hiking.

The space

You get your own private cottage, that opens onto a sunny yard, for a reasonable price (i believe) . But please read on as there are some unique features that may not be for everyone:
1. While you have a private and dedicated toilet in the cottage, this does not have a traditional "bathroom." The toilet itself is divided from the room with a shoji screen (see picture--when booked for one person only i usually leave the screen in storage).

2. The shower is outdoors (see pics). Additionally, I am still putting the finishing touches on some of my yard, including the shower floor. Many guests tell me that the outdoor shower was the best part of the space!

In 2014 the cottage was totally remodeled with bamboo floors, recessed lighting, and a custom black walnut "lunch" counter. The door and two windows are south facing, so there can be plenty of light, but I also installed top/down bottom/up shades to let in all the light you want or make it pitch dark for relaxation and sleeping in. The cottage opens to the newly landscaped yard with tan flagstone throughout, an outdoor table, and sun umbrella. Despite being in the city it is very well insulated and thus surprisingly quite at night (in my opinion).

The space itself is small, about 20 by 10. Other than the bed and the stools at the counter there is no where to lounge inside. But outside you have reclining chairs and a picnic table.

I have had some folks complain of ants. I live on the same property and while ants can be a nuisance during certain times of year, i have no issues if i can keep thing clean or spray or wipe down an occasional ant.

"Kitchenette" includes toaster oven, hot plate, coffee maker, mini fridge and some basic cooking supplies.

I do have a dog. He is super friendly, and great protection. He is in the yard part of the day but not always.

I always tell people I have a house full of stuff I"m happy to share if there is something that's needed.

Interaction with guests

It just depends on how much we are around, and also what you prefer. Sometimes you will have the yard to yourself all of the time, other times me and my boys could be around bbqing or playing ping pong. I certainly like to say "hello" if I see you and see how your day is going.

Other things to note

1. Outdoor Shower ONLY (see pics)
2. Toilet is in the cottage but free-standing in a corner, not in a separate bathroom
3. My property has ants. If the unit is kept clean it should not be a problem but certain times of year they are relentless--I just don't believe in spraying my whole property to kill them all

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Gym
Wireless Internet
Hangers
Prices
Extra people $15 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $63 NZD
Security Deposit $224 NZD
Weekly Discount: 5%
Weekend Price $124 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is 3PM - 9PM
Check out by 11AM

--No smoking anywhere on property
--Basic Courtesy with things like hours and noise
--Only guests registered through Air B and B

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Availability
4 nights minimum stay

145 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Richard User Profile
November 2017
Jesse’s place is just as he (URL HIDDEN) is just the right size for one person or a couple. BART is a short walk away as are the Berkeley Bowl and coffee shops. The outdoor shower was different, but a great way to start the day!

Roelof User Profile
November 2017
Very nice place - definitely recommend it.

Kaliah User Profile
October 2017
Jesse's place is so peaceful and beautiful. My fiancé and I spent the weekend there enjoying the small, cozy space. It's perfect for couples who like a simple sanctuary. Overall, Jesse's place allows you to have a restful and memorable stay while still having the mobility to explore since the BART is so close. Not to mention Rufus, his beautiful dog, is the cherry on top of the whole thing.

Christina User Profile
October 2017
We loved Jesse’s place! It literally had everything we needed in one cozy spot. Parking in a Berkley isn’t easy but Jesse was kind enough to let us use his driveway which made things much easier for us.

Cindy User Profile
October 2017
We loved our stay at Jesse's place. It was cozy, clean and quiet. The location was great - close to BART, restaurants, grocery stores. The backyard was peaceful and the outdoor shower was very relaxing. Maybe we will have an opportunity to return another time.

John User Profile
October 2017
Clean, quiet, convenient, comfortable.

Ryan User Profile
October 2017
Great stay in a quiet neighborhood, just enough privacy for the outdoor shower. 7-10 minute walk to BART. Room was a nicely stocked studio with no separate bathroom, and a small kitchenette. Tip: run the indoor faucet till it's hot before stepping outside to the shower. It will be hot right away instead of waiting outdoors for the line to heat up. Jesse offered to let us use the house laundry mid-week, wish we hadn't packed quite as much as we did! Fieldwork Brewing(!) and Eureka! were our favorite meals/brews in the area.

Berkeley, California, United StatesJoined in April 2013
Jesse User Profile

I have lived in Berkeley all my life and hope to share my love of my hometown with guests. I guess I just never felt the need to leave. I"ve travelled extensively, especially in Spain, where my dad's family is from, and playing ultimate frisbee years ago took me to Japan, Thailand, England and all over the U.S. I also speak Spanish and Catalan (to dome degree!).

I have two teenage boys, with one off to college now. I love to exercise and play sports, to study the human body and nutrition, and to garden. I recently underwent a career change after years in the specialty foods business; I now work as a fitness and nutrition coach. The fitness training I do is rooted in neuroscience. When not with my boys I'm usually hanging out with my long time girlfriend, either at her house or here in Berkeley. I spent a majority of my 20s and 30s as if I was a professional ultimate frisbee player (that is I put in the time but didn't get paid!). Back then I also studied English at UC Berkeley and SF State.


Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings