Cozy living room
Private Cottage By Ithaca College

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Small quiet house, perfect for a 1 or 2 person getaway or artist retreat.

Just 3 miles from the Ithaca Commons, around the corner from Ithaca College and minutes from Cornell! Surrounded by hiking trails, with a Labyrinth in the backyard.

The space

This is a unique little space, perfect for those with introspective and contemplative sensibilities, or simply looking for a quiet place to stay.
It is lightly furnished with oriental and celtic-themed decor, the space has a warm autumnal feel to it.

The kitchen features a beautiful maple countertop custom-made for the area, with adjustable height chairs suitable for any guest.

The living room has a cozy floor set up with a circular persian-style rug and a large 5 ft picture window, out of which you can often see the peaceful deer from the surrounding woods gather in the morning times. It is an excellent area for contemplation or relaxing with a book and a cup of tea. Also in the living room is a great sound system with two cherry-finished floorstanding speakers and a 10" subwoofer to support all genres of music. The living room also holds a small library of books ranging from classics, philosophy, spirituality, and science.

The bathroom is tiled with blue swirl tiles from spain, bamboo ceiling and trim, and oil-rubbed bronze on all accessories.

Guest access

- Fully furnished kitchen with many cooking supplies

- Excellent sound system that can sync with internet services such as Pandora, Spotify etc... Or be connected to any device via 1/8" jack

- Right next to the beautiful trails of upper and lower Buttermilk park, within 10 minutes walking distance, no need to pay park fees

Interaction with guests

You will have complete privacy for contemplation, relaxation, reading, spending time with your art, etc. However, there will be someone available on the property if you should need anything.

Other things to note

Composting is available for those so inclined.

The house has filtered well water, which is perfectly fine for the purposes of washing dishes and bathing, however a Big Berkey water filter will also be provided for further filtering for excellent quality drinking water.

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Futon
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Free parking on premises
Smoking allowed

Extra people No Charge
Weekly Discount: 36%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM

As this is a furnished house, great respect to belongings is expected. Well-behaved pets are welcome, smoking is not allowed in the house but there is a small concrete porch in front with a lounge chair on which you are welcome to smoke.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

1 night minimum stay

9 Reviews

Check In
Annette User Profile
July 2017
Kelli's place was very nice and clean. Great kitchen and comfortable bed. Very close to Buttermilk Falls and drivable distance to Ithaca and other parks. There is also a backyard labyrinth that you can explore. Kelli was very nice and helpful. Definitely would recommend this place if you are looking for something in the area.

Mark User Profile
July 2017
Kelli's place is ideally situated just outside Ithaca's downtown, as well as conveniently proximal to both Cornell University and Ithaca College. Her decor is warm and welcoming and the peace and solitude is palpable. A great place for contemplation, writing, and resting. I'll certainly return when next upstate.

Haley User Profile
October 2014
The pros of the cottage is that it has a roof, a full size bed, a TV projection screen, and lots of pots & pans. It also has wonderful views of the sunset and lots of deer traveling through the grass. The cons are that while we stayed there was a crack in the well and there was only enough water for us to wash our hands and flush the toilet (ie: we didn’t have access to the shower for 6 weeks). There was a clog in the main line of the sewer, so we also didn’t have a toilet for a day. The internet & cellphone reception was spotty. It didn’t have a coffee pot or microwave (however, Kelli did bring up a microwave once we requested one). The grass was not cut for the 6 weeks we were there (Aug-Sept) and the grass was taller than my 12 pound dog (deer ticks were a concern). There was also a carpenter bee problem at the front door and tons of spiders (inside & out) that were bigger than I’ve ever seen. Lastly, when the plumber was fixing the toilet, they left floor boards removed and our cat went missing in the walls for 5 hours (not Casey & Kelli’s fault, but wouldn’t have happened if the toilet was in working order). The items listed above are not meant to be out of angst, just honest reflections of our stay. We were very happy that we paid through AirBNB and had third party protection against some unlivable conditions. Kelli was extremely responsive and pleasant (Casey was away). It’s a shame that the condition of the cottage was so low. This review was left so that the next people looking an make an education decision regarding their stay.
Kelli User Profile
Response from Kelli:
We're very sorry your stay was not satisfactory and had some very unforeseen difficulties that presented themselves. I would like to clarify a few things for potential future guests though: Firstly, these issues were very uncommon and unlikely flukes that we have never encountered before, and when we were informed of them, we offered the guest a full refund. However, they chose to stay with these known issues, at a 30% discounted rate. There had never in the history of the cottage been an issue with the well system before, so this came as a complete surprise that we had no way of foreseeing. Because of the severity of the issue, it could not be mended promptly. We will certainly not be accepting any new guests until a new well is drilled and the system has been updated, this was a very shocking and devastating issue to have arisen during the time of their stay. The clog in the sewer line was also unprecedented, and was due to a prior Air BnB guest flushing non-flushable items down the toilet, unbeknownst to us. This built up and eventually made the toilet dysfunctional during the guest's stay, but there was no way we could have possibly foreseen this and we had it repaired as fast as we could. Cell phone reception being spotty will depend on your service provider, I use Sprint and have crystal clear reception in the cottage at all times. I had never been told by a guest that there were issues with the internet service, and have never encountered them before. This was an unusually long stay compared to what we usually do, in general we opt towards allowing the tenants privacy and will respond to requests or concerns if they arise. The desire for the grass to be cut was never expressed to us, and we would have done so if it was, but we opt for not disturbing our tenants as a default. Issues with bees and spiders were also not expressed, and this is the first I am hearing of them. I have never encountered or been told of bees on the front porch and while I have seen spiders on the property I have not found them to be anything beyond what you would expect from a house in this kind of area. As far as the issue the plumber incurred, we apologize but as we said, there was no way of foreseeing this toilet issue. All of these issues expressed will be looked into and remedied prior to any more guests are booked for this property. We are very sorry so many strange issues arose during your stay, but they were all unprecedented and we did our best to address them when they were expressed to us. A stay of this length is unusual for us and due to the issues it posed for us and the guests, we don't expect to be hostings stays of this duration again going forward with this property.
October 2014

Erica User Profile
August 2014
This place was perfect! It was extremely clean and cozy! Casey greeted us and was very friendly and explained everything really well. It was a great location, with a short walk into Buttermilk Falls State Park. The decor was charming and the bookshelf was filed with wonderful books! The projector and netflix set up in the bedroom was also awesome! We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Ithaca!

Colleen User Profile
July 2014
The cottage was cute, clean and well stocked. My friend and I felt secure, and the location is convenient to walk to Buttermilk Falls Park gorge trail(GO!!!) and to drive to downtown. We had a nice stay, and the owners were helpful in every way. I had written down the street address incorrectly which caused us a delay in finding the cottage, but it was totally my fault. The owners were very kind, the accomodations nice & comfy. I like having a kitchen, my friend slept in the bedroom, and I slept on the living room futon, both comfortable and in good condition. We enjoyed this cottage and give it a :) !!!

Alice User Profile
July 2014
A wonderful place, complete with nightly firefly displays. Casey was helpful and friendly, the voltage was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

Christopher User Profile
June 2014
I had a great time. It was a quaint little cottage. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's beautiful on the inside, perfect for 1 or 2 people. It's packed with spices, books, and DVDs if you don't bring entertainment yourself. There's something of a garden maze in the backyard. Buttermilk Falls was beautiful and within walking distance. The tv projector is great (note - there isn't a blu ray player, but you could bring one). There's no a/c but the temperature was fine for the week we were there in June. Why anyone would take an Ithaca hotel/motel over this is beyond me, unless you don't have a car.

This host has 32 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Ithaca, New York, United StatesJoined in January 2014
Kelli User Profile

I've lived in Ithaca for over 20yrs. The properties I list will be on my 4 acres of land located just 3 miles from town but has the feel of being out in the country. I can share locations of the best hiking trails, restaurants, local music and entertainment as well as quiet spaces for reflection. I have occasional bonfires, music jams and potlucks at my house. Although,the majority of time it's a quite space where deer, flocks of turkey and bunnies roam. I love children and balance childcare with working at the local co-op (Greenstar) I also have a love of animals and live with my dog Tuco. I enjoy poetry, free-style dance, singing off key,and learning about nutrition and health care. I like to cook and prepare foods,practice occasional yoga and meditation and indulge in creative projects around my home.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings