Great bird watching!
Fall Getaway - 10% off!
Hosted by Dune
Dune is the host.Dune is a superhost.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
You won’t be charged yet

Separate entrance to private room with 1/2 bath, step outside to access outdoor shower, hot tub, grill if you want to cook and lovely backyard patio with pond.

No breakfast available this time of year, but coffee and tea are in the kitchen. Make yourself at home!

The space

Weekend getaway. Walk to beach, cat friendly dogs welcome, fenced in back yard with pond, private half-bath, shared outdoor shower, hot tub, patio, grill.

This is a cozy house with great energy for creativity. Three books have been written on its premises;) many songs and when you aren't writing or hiking the dunes, you can relax in the hot tub and enjoy the night stars.

We live outside in the summer - so you will see us by the pond in the evening enjoying a G&T or having a long relaxing meal under the stars. We are easy going and can either interact or be private.

Quiet neighborhood, a mile to ocean beaches and protected shoreline - great bird watching!

Guest access

Outdoor shower, hot tub, patio, grill if you'd like to cook out while you're in town. We have a fire pit on the patio where we like to sit out in the summer, you're welcome to join us.

Fresh towels, linens. Beach towels and beach chairs available too. Bicycles and helmets.

Washer and Dryer are available if required.

Interaction with guests

Light interaction - we offer you your own space but you may run into us in the backyard and probably the beach.

Other things to note

This is a wonderful quiet home where you can unplug from work, the city and life in general.

We would like to have a flexible Check-in policy but find between Noon and 3:00pm works best for everyone.

If you would like to arrive early and head to the beach you can leave your things in the house, but please do NOT arrive before 11:00am or disturb other guests if you arrive early.

Check-out by 3:00pm--and feel free to use the outdoor shower before you go!


House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Don't smoke in the house, please - use the yard.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) and cat(s) live in the house


47 Reviews

Check In
Toni User Profile
September 2017
Heather's place was the perfect escape from Manhattan I was looking for! The House That Art Built is a friendly and warm house with the most peaceful backyard. If you are looking to unwind...this is the place for you! Heather is the most gracious host, providing breakfast and coffee (or tea) each morning! She even had a glass of wine waiting for me by the hot tub upon my arrival. The extra touches of fresh flowers and home baked banana bread for breakfast made my stay even more lovely. I didn't want to leave!

Direna User Profile
August 2017
Heather's house in Hampton Bays is a perfect place to spend a weekend away from the city. The house is beautiful and has a very interesting story behind. We had our private room with direct entrance through the backyard, and enjoyed a lot of privacy and alone-time during our stay. When we arrived Heather had a list of recommendations of places to eat (Rumba and Cowfish are especially recommended) and beaches nearby which was very helpful. The house is within minutes driving from the beach, stores and restaurants. The first day we went to the beach in the morning and chilled out in the backyard in the afternoon listening to the hypnotizing sound of the fountain and enjoying the hot tub. We woke up every morning with a delicious breakfast that Heather had prepared for us. Heather is a fantastic host and was very responsive during the whole weekend. We also enjoyed very much chatting with her one of the nights in her backyard. She has a beautiful dog and two cats; all very friendly. We will definitely stay at her place when we visit the area again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a weekend getaway in Long Island. Thanks for a wonderful stay!
Dune User ProfileDune is a superhost.
Response from Dune:
This is what i love about airBNB, meeting wonderful couples like you ! Enjoying the summer night over a glass of wine, under the stars and sharing this beautiful place on earth with lovely people:) You have a place here next summer!
August 2017

Georgia User Profile
August 2017
Tried my best to stay positive at Heather’s place. Unfortunately, there were a couple of problems. Heather had messaged us saying her stepson may be able to pick us up from the train station. I replied that it would be great and she left me and my boyfriend hanging. I planned this trip without a car, and I figured I’d have to uber around anyway. I chose this Airbnb partly because it was advertised that bikes and helmets would be available to use. The bikes: were in serious need of a tune up – and no helmets were to be found. Heather’s roommate called her to help us find the helmets. We searched around and wound up in a frighteningly messy cellar/basement where the helmets were allegedly tossed down and should be on the floor “wet” from the last time they were used a year ago and it rained… we did not find or get to use helmets. Day 1 we used the bikes “as is” (my boyfriend pumped the tires) but would have liked to have adjusted seat heights as well but there was no wrench. Day 2 Heather’s stepson found us a wrench. The bikes were pretty dangerous – between my boyfriend having to wrench his seat every couple of blocks and the bike I used totally broke - Heather had to take it to the shop Day 3 – so we had to uber to the beach when biking would have been preferred. The room: The room was pretty tight for two people. The sheets were dirty and had hair on the pillows. I tried to message Heather about it but she didn’t readily reply. We dubbed her the “Ghost Host”. She did come through Day 2 and changed the sheets but both days we put towels down on the pillows. Day 1 because of the hair but Day 2 also because those pillows are OLD… a seriously soiled tan color. The bathroom: had some random leftover items that could have been from previous guests. The towels had all sorts of stains. Conclusion: towels and pillows should be replaced, and throw away other peoples random stuff. The backyard: Looks like the photos, however much dirtier. The backyard needs some TLC, it looks like it hasn’t been kept up and dirt/weeds could be neater. The hot tub: Wasn’t sure the chemicals had been kept up to speed since everything else was dirty – decided it was best not to risk it. Day 2 when Heather arrived she put chemicals in… good thing we didn’t utilize the tub day 1. The kitchen: We did not use – did not feel comfortable going into the kitchen especially seeing it in ruins on day 2 – the dishwasher was being installed? I wanted to use a glass for some wine I brought – the wine glasses were all dirty my bf had to hand-wash one to get lipstick stains off. The roommate situation: There isn’t just one roommate there are 3...
Dune User ProfileDune is a superhost.
Response from Dune:
There is always one weekend when things don't work and that was yours... My most sincere apologies. My stepson's car broke down and I didn't know that you were expecting a pick up because I never got a confirmation from you that you needed it. his car actually broke down on the way to the train station, which I found out later because I was dealing with a family issue in Delaware and didn't have service there. Since you never mentioned it, I didn't bother to tell you. Communication is key. Yours and mine. I am grateful that you tried to communicate with me and apologize for my inability to respond during a very difficult situation with my blind brother. YES... I actually was dealing with something and trying to do everything I could to accommodate you--I could have cancelled your booking and made my life easier, but I did not because I know how hard it is to get away from the city and how important it is to get out of the city in the summer. That's why I offer my guest room for rent and I don't charge an arm and a leg because I like to help young people get a vacation that they can afford. Your bed was clean and the maids had cleaned on Thursday. The sheets were ironed myself before I left town. They were hung out in the sunshine before they were ironed. Someone left the door open to the bedroom and the cat clearly came in. You might rather stay at the crack motel and pay $150.00 per night and see some truly stained pillows. The pillows and towels are NOT dirty. If you want 5-Stars you have to go elsewhere. I have 1 roommate and her boyfriend came to visit. Is that 2 roommates? I suppose you could consider that. My stepson was there for the weekend. Family is family--not a roommate. The "Ghost Host" arrived late Friday night. Sunday morning I left you an expensive breakfast and fresh coffee that you chose to ignore. I got the bike fixed at 9am when the bike store opened and back to the house by 10:15, you had left already. I had a broken dishwasher and was having another one delivered on Monday--that's life at an airbnb--I had to get the hook up prepared,as it was a real nightmare and I didn't have time to do it on Sunday. I was also dying my hair when I met you. The look on your face was precious! I must have looked terrifying. But I have a sense of humor about these things. The hot tub was balanced. I don't know how you saw lipstick as I don't wear it and neither does the roommate. The random items in the bathroom are emergency things for guests who have forgotten a razor, soap, want a loofah or nail file. They are from 5-Star hotels around the world where I have stayed and they are there for my guests to use. If they have not been used, they are unopened. If they have been used they have been thrown out. Clearly, you have never been in an AirBNB where there is nothing! I have. I make sure to even have toothbrushes that are sealed and shaving lotion for men. My guests are welcome to use those things. Thanks for staying at the House that Art Built. Sorry it sucked for you. You're the only person this summer to complain. So don't come back. That's the beauty of AirBNB and why I love hosting easy going people who aren't looking for perfection, just a relaxing place to stay.
August 2017

Mike User Profile
August 2017
Very nice place to stay. Enjoyed being a Wombat. And the natural artifacts all about the place add a nice vibe to the whole experience.

Emily User Profile
July 2017
We had the best time @ The House That Art Built! Heather + her cute Dalmatian were the perfect hosts (to us + our curious hound dog :) ) and her home is amazing. A must see/stay for anyone looking for a relaxing weekend getaway. We can't wait to go back in the fall.
Dune User ProfileDune is a superhost.
Response from Dune:
HURRY BACK! You're the best.
July 2017

Philip User Profile
July 2017
We had a wonderful time at "the House that art built." Heather is an extraordinary host who goes out of her way to insure her guests are comfortable. We enjoyed our conversations with Heather and having breakfast that she prepared for us. She was accommodating to our dog Biscuit and made us feel at home. There was so much to see and do. We enjoyed the beaches and the restaurant recommendations given by Heather. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The location is in the center of the "Hamptons."
Dune User ProfileDune is a superhost.
Response from Dune:
Loved having you and your little dog too! Enjoy the rest of your summer and come back anytime!
July 2017

Jeff User Profile
July 2017
Great stay. Thanks!

This host has 10 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Hampton Bays, New York, United StatesJoined in June 2013
Dune User ProfileDune is a superhost.
We are both published authors and work at home. We live half the year in Europe and the other half here, in the House that Art Built, which was featured in a NPR commentary that I wrote back in 2003. We travel extensively and you can expect a European attitude here in our Hampto…
Languages: Deutsch, English, Français, Italiano, 中文
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings