House is centrally located in Hilo in a safe residential neighborhood, a short walk to tennis courts and ocean view park. E Komo Mai (Welcome Home)
Bamboo View Supports College Conservatory Student
Hosted by Kalama
Kalama is the host.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

This room in Hilo has wood floors, high ceilings with great air flow and lots of light. High-speed internet, WiFi, Hot Tub, Washer/Dryer, Basic Cable, Stereo, Piano, Access to kitchen area, Outdoor sitting Area, Fruit trees, Bamboo, Fenced Yard.

The space

Great community oriented family home in the middle of Hilo yet in safe area with fully fenced yard.

Guest access

Hot tub, laundry facilities, yard, outdoor living area, garden space.

Interaction with guests


Other things to note

We have a variety of ocean toys. Neighbor has older cars for rent.
Price includes State of Hawaii GE TAT (13.44% Tax).

Air conditioning

Cleaning Fee $22 NZD
Weekly Discount: 5%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Quiet hours from 11 pm - 6:30 am. No smoking anywhere on property.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

6 Reviews

Check In
Dana User Profile
April 2017
Kalama's home is welcoming and comfortable. Great central location within walking or biking to downtown Hilo.

Sayuri User Profile
August 2016
Great location close to town, safe and very helpful permanent renters downstairs. The room was spacious with two big windows, which I loved. The cleanliness could improve a bit as there were dust when I moved in the room, the smell of mildew, and mold. I lived here for two months and encountered some critters, but Kalama had someone come and spray it right away. I had a hard time getting used to seeing geckos in my room, but they were harmless.

Arnold User Profile
March 2015
This room is situated in a calm and safe residential area of Hilo. Was not able to lock the room door or house during the day, maybe a point of improvement. Spacious clean kitchen with Nice dining table. Spacious room. Clean neat bathroom. Downstairs do live some 3-4 permanent renters, who help you if needed. Place is just few minuten drive from Hilo centre.

Christien User Profile
February 2015
Nice and clean room in a beautiful flat with friendly (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN). Close to Hilo Town.

Isaac User Profile
October 2014
pros: the long term renters at this house are a very enjoyable group to hang out with. The kitchen is nice and well equipped. Bathroom is clean. Kalama was generous enough to lend me a surfboard during my stay, which made my time there much more enjoyable. I left some things in the room and Kalama was nice enough to contact me and return what I had left. Cons: I left early due to a persistent bad smell issuing from the attic of the house, supposedly resulting from a recently fouled extermination job (rats are a bad problem on the big island of Hawaii). A vent connected the room where I was staying to the attic and the smell filled the room from there. Kalama offered to have a maintenance person block the vent but this never materialized and, unable to stand the smell, I left after 5 days. I asked for permission to change rooms but Kalama didn't let me on the grounds that the room i wanted to move into was "overflow only." Although I enjoyed meeting the other tenants and I thought the location was alright, this was definitely a bad experience; my first negative time renting a room on airbnb. Kalama was generous about refunding me for leaving early. I think this is a fair review and I hope it helps improve conditions for future renters. Best of luck, Isaac
Kalama User Profile
Response from Kalama:
Thanks Issac. We didn't know it happened till the day you arrived. I am glad we were able to find a solution in spite of that unique situation. I came home the day you left and there wasn't any smell.
October 2014

Randee User Profile
May 2014
I had a great stay in this classic late '40s era home. The house and room are spacious and comfortable, the permanent renters are friendly and helpful. It's located in a quiet neighborhood just a 20 minute walk downhill to the Hilo Farmers Market and the downtown shops. You can borrow a bike to see the area. I would definitely consider staying there another time. Plan ahead to rent a car as bus service is mostly between cities and not so much within neighborhoods.

This host has 117 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Hilo, Hawaii, United StatesJoined in September 2012
Kalama User Profile

Professional writer.

Response rate: 90%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings