Grand bedroom in a Queen Anne mansion house.

Private room in castle hosted by David

  1. 2 guests
  2. 1 bedroom
  3. 1 bed
  4. 2 baths
Great location
100% of recent guests gave the location a 5-star rating.
Great check-in experience
100% of recent guests gave the check-in process a 5-star rating.
Guests often search for this popular amenity
This is a very spacious en-suite first floor guest bedroom in our 280 year old Queen Anne family mansion house, set in 7 acres of manicured gardens looking out towards the river Tyne. The house is furnished throughout with many antiques and collectables so care is expected. The estate is walking distance to several good pubs and restaurants and a supermarket, and close to transport routes. We have a friendly, elderly cat. Plenty of secure private parking on the driveway.

The space
This is a large bedroom furnished in the English Country House style, with a very comfortable bed and antique wooden furniture, and even an old 70's style analogue tv with a digibox. It looks out over the North lawn of the 7 acre grounds that surround the house, down towards the river, and if you have the window open you can sometimes hear sheep bleeting in the fields or the local rowing club marshalling their teams on the river. The bedroom has an en-suite toilet and basin, and just across the landing is your further private bathroom with bathtub and shower. There are endless possibilities for lovely walks around here, with paths that take you down through the woods to the riverbank and our former lakes. The house originally had 350 acres of grounds, but now most of those are looked after as a nature reserve. It is still not unusual to see deer grazing on the lawns, and foxes and badgers also appear in the twilight. Most nights there are owls hooting in the garden trees. The walks also take you past several delightful pubs, so you can break up the journey with a refreshment stop. In the village we have 3 great pubs, some that serve food, a micropub that's popular for real ale enthusiasts and also Indian and Italian restaurants and a big co-op supermarket, so everything is within easy reach. We are 9 miles out of Newcastle and less than 2 miles from the MetroCentre, so every kind of retail pleasure is closeby. The bright lights and night life of Newcastle are just a 25 minute bus ride or a 15 minute drive away (about £14 in a taxi at the time of writing 2021), so we are also handy for the Arena, the Sage, St.James's Park and the GNR, and just 3 miles from Newcastle Business Park and Team Valley. It's the closest place to feel like you are 'in the country' but still be on the edge of town.
We are avid collectors of all sorts, mostly vintage and retro items rather than precious antiques, and also have a collection of classic cars, so fellow collectors are most welcome.
We very much subscribe to the original concept of Airbnb as it was founded, giving people an opportunity to use a spare bedroom in our home, and sort of become a short term personal house guest. We are not pretending to be a hotel, and you take us as you find us. The room is really our 'spare bedroom' so it has a few odd personal bits and pieces in it. It is clean and well appointed, but we don't have a minibar and we don't pop in at bedtime to put a mint on your pillow! Some airbnb hosts seem to have turned themselves in to wannabe hotel managers, and we must stress that we are not trying to be that!

Where you'll sleep

1 double bed

What this place offers

Lake access
Free parking on premises
Washing machine
Patio or balcony
Luggage drop-off allowed
Security cameras on property

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Add date
Add date

4.78 out of 5 stars from 37 reviews


Where you’ll be

Ryton, Tyne & Wear, United Kingdom

We are situated within easy reach of the coast and some lovely beaches, less than a hour's drive to both the Yorkshire Dales and Lake District, a short drive from Hadrian's Wall and Keilder Water, and an easy daytrip to the Scottish borders. We are on the edge of Newcastle and Sunderland, Durham and Hexham are all about 25 minute's drive.

Hosted by David

  1. Joined in April 2017
  • 61 Reviews
  • Identity verified
Hi. I have been a seasoned traveller from an early age. Born in the UK, I grew up as a teenager for 9 years in Fiji and loved the tropical life. We also used to travel up and down the UK via stays in the USA, and visited all the Pacific Islands and NZ and Australia as well. Now I take every opportunity to travel out around Europe and the world and try to fit in at least 2-3 holidays a year. I am interested in a million things, and think I have enough to keep me occupied until I am at least 100, so I hope I live a long life. I am great collector of vintage and retro stuff, a working DJ all my life and a property developer and landlord by day. I started off as an AirBnB guest and now I am also a host with a couple of places available. It's been great fun and enjoyable experience being a host, and we've met some great people along the way. Read the reviews and judge for yourself. I love to visit a place and get away from just the usual tourist sites. Of course it's nice to see the attractions, but it's also nice to meet the real people, and on previous stays we've been invited out to parties and gigs by our hosts and found all sorts of hidden treasures off the beaten track. As a landlord I am very used to making sure houses and apartments are immaculate, and I am very clean and tidy and treat where ever I am staying as well as I would treat my own house. I am friendly, educated and social and can talk about almost anything. I don't have many foreign language skills but I'm happy to learn. I come to a place to be part of that place, not to bring my home and my habits with me, so I love to adapt to my surroundings. I am hungry for new experiences and love to share and socialise with others.
Hi. I have been a seasoned traveller from an early age. Born in the UK, I grew up as a teenager for 9 years in Fiji and loved the tropical life. We also used to travel up and down…

During your stay

We have lots of maps and information and recommendations about the local area.
  • Language: English
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Checkout: 11:00 am
Not suitable for children and infants
No smoking
No pets
No parties or events

Health & safety

Airbnb's social-distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
Security camera/recording device Show more
Carbon monoxide alarm
Smoke alarm
Security Deposit - if you damage the home, you may be charged up to $195

Cancellation policy