Stunning Listed Georgian House 1614
Hosted by Clemence
Clemence is the host.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Built in 1614 , this stunning Georgian house is a perfect place to stay. Right on Newington green, you will find a nice bakery, lot of pubs and convenient stores on your doorstep. Perfect for 4 persons .

The space

This is the most fantastic place I have seen in London ! The wooden panels on the walls, the huge living room and the spacious terrace will make you feel like you are staying in a very special place. This house was built in 1619 used to be a school and then a hospital. How cool is that !!

My parents in law are going to Ireland for few months so a couple of rooms are closed but you will still have access to the living room, terrace, kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms - if you book for 2 pers you will have access to one room , if you book for 3 or 4 pers you will have access to both rooms . Check out the huge terrace , it's above the bicycle shop!

There is a separate self contained flat in the basement of the house that shares an entrance and is rented out long term. There is a lockable door between the two flats on the ground floor.


Je suis Francaise et serai ravie de vous donner mes conseils / recommendations pour Londres !

Guest access

Guests have their own keys and can come and go as they please. You will have access to the bedroom (or 2 bedrooms depending of what you are booking) kitchen, bathroom , living room and balcony.

Interaction with guests

Myself or my partner will come to welcome you and give you the keys. We live down the road so if you need anything just shout !

Other things to note

We are flexible on check in time , just let us know when you would like to arrive. We charge £35 for late check in (after 9pm)
Check out will be by 10:30 am if you need to leave later please check with us if it's possible.


Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 sofa bed
Common spaces
2 sofas

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 11AM

A few rules which make things go smoothly:
- Lock door and close all windows every time you leave the flat
- When you leave, make sure you empty the fridge of any half-eaten food, and throw away any rubbish.
- Leave the place as you find it, & please tidy up as you go.

we change an extra £35 for check in after 9pm

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - The flat is on the first floor
No parking on property

Cancellations

29 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Adam User Profile
July 2017
This home is not like the photos. It is a misrepresentation. We had construction noise every day at 8. The house is run down, dirty and not well located. The hosts were nice in responding to our requests but were in another world. Beds are awful. We asked for space in the closets and drawers which were filled with clothes. We asked for space in the freezer which was filled with food. There were no garbage cans. Only plastic bags that had to delivered across the street to a public garbage can each day. We had no hot water one day. We were cut by a loose screw on another day. It should be a 100$ a night home.
Clemence User Profile
Response from Clemence:
You were the most demanding guest we've had in the three years we've been hosting! We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, unlike our other guests, some of whom have left parting notes and gifts! You forgot to mention you lost our keys (and refused to pay) and didn't read the listing properly as you were asking about where the lift was, Air con and were surprised about the location. Accusing me of being ungrateful in your private message was the most inappropriate word you could use to describe me ! A note to future guests - please read the other 30+ reviews for a more accurate picture of our place. This is a lived in family home and not an empty white box !
July 2017

Pierre User Profile
June 2017
Lovely and confortable flat with an history back to the 18th. Good location with good restaurants nearby and a great bakery 20 meters away. Highly recommended

Javier User Profile
June 2017
My girlfriend, my mother and I stayed at Clemence's place for a long weekend at the beginning of June. Ciaran received us on the first day. Our flights arrived late in the evening but this was not an issue for them - which I really appreciated The house is astonishing, we felt really comfortable throughout all the weekend. All house essentials are available, beds and couches are really comfy. I loved the terrace with its sitting space and all sorts of plants which give it a very lively look. Some info on the house's history is also available, which gives it a more unique feel Location is also a plus, bus stops are available right in front of the house, which would connect easily with other bus/tube/train lines. Transport was not an issue during our stay. Also there's plenty of shops/restaurants/pubs within walking distance in the Newington Green area. We tried a few of the host´s suggestions and really enjoyed them (Trattoria, French Bakery...) Communication with the hosts was fluent, and if needed, they offer any help or recommendations. Overall, we were quite pleased with a lovely stay and no doubt would repeat again.

Judith User Profile
June 2017
Loved the look of this flat which is why we booked. Airbnb is great for finding interesting places to stay in. Easy to find and get to with regular buses into the centre of London in 30 mins. Bus number 73 very handy as also a night bus that took you right back with less than a minute to walk to the front door. Clemence met us to give us the keys and made contact during our stay to see if everything was ok. Living room is large with two large comfy settees to relax on with lots of cushions. Eclectic decor. Lots of art on walls. Lots of mirrors. Beautiful wooden panelling and floorboards. Good wifi. Very comfy bed with wonderful bedding. New clean bathroom. Good shower. Hairdryer, iron and washing machine. Small kitchen but good enough with lots of cupboards packed full of things to use. Dishwasher. Sharp kitchen knives. Everything needed for cooking food so no need to bring anything. Table to sit and eat at. Loved the large sunny balcony full of beautiful plants. Compared to hotel prices in central London this is great value for the space and ability to make your own food or have a cold drink on a balcony! Tesco and local shops nearby. Lots of fridge space with another one and freezer outside on balcony. We really enjoyed our stay here. It had everything we needed for five days exploring London. Thanks.

Alessandro User Profile
April 2017
Really large sitting room and common area with the added bonus of a small balcony garden. Excellent local amenities and bus services.

Ruth User Profile
April 2017
We loved our stay in the Georgian flat and felt quite at home there. We were blessed with wonderful spring weather and were able to enjoy breakfast on the Terrace. Clemence's notes were very helpful getting around the neighbourhood and into the city. We would really recommend this flat and host.

Denis User Profile
March 2017
Location is great if you want to avoid the throng of tourists in London. Buses right out front and very frequent.

London, United KingdomJoined in September 2013
Clemence User Profile
Hello, my name is Clemence, I'm french and I live in stokey . I love travelling, eating and I manage my friends and family amazing apartments in Stoke Newington when they are away . Check out my listings! please make sure you tell me a bit about you in your message. its alwa…
Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings