The guest room. The guest room set for two.
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

We have one bedroom available in a small, sunny house with a big yard, not far from downtown. The room has one twin size bed, with a second that can be made up upon request. Enjoy our rustic home & bucolic lifestyle, complete with chickens!

The space

Our home is warm & colorful with a retro-rustic aesthetic. We have a large vegetable garden & a small flock of chickens.

Your room is sunny & brightly decorated with spring colors & vintage furniture. It includes one twin-size bed (a second can be added upon request), a desk, seating area & locker for your things. Please note, the bathroom is shared.

Breakfast can be arranged upon request with our very own eggs, fresh bread from local bakery Hungry Ghost, local greens & high quality coffee at an additional $15/day.

We are located just off the Manahan Rail Trail, a 15 minute walk from downtown.

Guest access

There is a large yard with a fire pit & picnic table, a sunny porch with seating, a comfy living area, some very friendly animals, & wifi: all of which you are welcome to enjoy!

Interaction with guests

** Due to the recent birth of our daughter (10/1/15) we are offering our room at a reduced rate. Please be aware that there is a baby in the house, and while she is relatively well-behaved, we cannot promise that your stay will be free of crying. On the bright side, she is incredibly adorable! **

We will be present during your stay.

While we are usually at work during the days, we are typically home in the mornings & evenings, and thoroughly enjoy getting to know our guests!

Other things to note

We have a dog, two cats and a small flock of chickens. Animal-lovers will be most comfortable staying with us.

We have had guests with mild allergies stay with us in the past. Please let us know if this is you! We are happy to keep the cats out of the guest room and do an extra deep clean for you.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 couch

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 2
Pet Owner: Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Extra people $28 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $21 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $91 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Sadly, we cannot allow guests to bring pets. With so many of our own, adding another animal to the mix can be disruptive to the delicate harmony.

If you are a smoker, we only ask that you do not smoke indoors or near open windows/doors.

We only have one bathroom, and we (probably) have to work in the morning! We simply ask that you share the bathroom accordingly & keep late-night ruckus low or outdoors.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

37 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sabina User Profile
October 2016
Staying with Melody, Figge and Hester was a real pleasure! Hester (their one-year-old) is the most delightful baby I've met, and made an already lovely stay even more wonderful. Their home is cosy, comfortable and just a really pleasant space to be in. Their rocking chair is superb! They also have a very friendly dog and cat, and some lovely chickens - their home is clearly a family home, which is a pleasant change from other accommodation which is so often impersonal and bland. The family were happy to include me in their daily lives (inviting me to have dinner with them and their friends, for example) but it also felt comfortable to leave each other to our own devices. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Melody and Figge as hosts, and would love to host them if they're ever in the UK. Thanks Melody, Figge and Hester!

Nell User Profile
September 2016
Melody and Figge made me feel very welcome. Baby Hester and the animals were charming! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a homey space with friendly people who live lightly on the earth.

Perri User Profile
August 2016
They were super accommodating and I appreciated the space (psychically and physically) that they provided during my stay. Would stay again!!

Erin User Profile
May 2016
The listing description was very accurate. Melody, her husband, and their adorable daughter were very welcoming and laid back during my stay, and comfortable with my coming and going during the day. And the pets! So loving. Their adorable home (indeed, it is a space that hums with that word "home") is located within minutes from Smith and downtown. I'd definitely recommend staying with them.

Ginny User ProfileGinny is a superhost.
May 2016
Melody and her family were very welcoming. Their new daughter Hester was simply adorable, and even the pets were friendly My son and I shared the guest room, each on a twin bed – real mattresses, not an aerobed in sight! There were plenty of outlets in the room, and lots of space on desktops and shelves to spread out. And miraculously, there was never a wait for the single bathroom, at least not for us. Melody’s home is very warm and comfortable, and I admired her graciousness while dealing with a young baby. The home is very convenient to Northampton and easy access to Rt 9 leading into Amherst. It is also right off interstate 91.

Jessica User Profile
April 2016
They were very flexible with my coming and going from the airport and welcomed me to let myself in and get comfortable. I was able to use the kitchen, which was helpful for staying a whole two weeks. The listing was as described and the animals very friendly! The location was close to my training, the downtown, and a supermarket, which was exceptionally helpful with not having a car. Very safe. Their baby should be listed under amenities!

Colin User Profile
February 2016
I highly recommend this place. Melody is friendly and responsive, and the description and pictures are very accurate. It's nice and home-y. I've stayed there twice, and would happily stay again.

Northampton, Massachusetts, United StatesJoined in May 2014
Melody User Profile

We are Melody, Figge & baby Hester. We're passionate about living an inspired, sustainable lifestyle.

Melody & Figge (hubby & wifey) recently opened a small business (The Haberdashery in Easthampton, MA) where we sell supplies for & teach classes about homesteading skills & practical crafts. Figge also bakes bread at a local artisanal bakery.

**Due to the recent birth of our daughter, Hester (10/1/15), we are offering our room at a reduced rate (for the potential inconvenience of any baby-related improprieties).**

We spend most of our spare time gardening, building, cooking, sewing and otherwise creating & enjoying the present company.

We love getting to know our guests & look forward to breaking bread with you!

The neighbourhood

Similar listings