Eocene - a family home @ the beach
Eocene - a family home @ the beach
8 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
1 bath
8 guests
3 bedrooms
6 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

A 3 bed home from home providing a comfortable holiday environment. A mix of bed sizes ("air mattress' is a trundle bed). 2 mins walk to the beach, close to local shops and public transport. Compact garden, furniture and BBQ on site. Pets negotiable. Min 2 night stays - except public holidays when 3 night min applies. Reductions for longer stays; slight increases for school and public holidays. ETF transfer receipt requested on booking. 20 Jan-April booked!

The space

Ideal holiday location - easy access to Adelaide, McLaren Vale Wineries, the Fleurieu Peninsula and Kangaroo Island; watch the Tour Down Under. The famous Star of Greece and Victory restaurants are not far away, and there are lots of casual eateries around too.
Private garden area, off street parking if required.
The property is named after the geological period during which the rocks on the beach were laid down. It's a fascinating place, a State Marine Reserve - enjoy it, but please respect it too.

Guest access

Guests can access the whole of the house and garden.

Interaction with guests

It's not a complicated house, not much to go wrong. I'm almost an hour away but can generally get there the same day - or send someone - if there's something seriously amiss.

Other things to note

Dear potential guest - I accepted a booking 20 Jan-April but the Calendar is not updating. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Free parking on premises

Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $29 NZD
Security Deposit $347 NZD
Weekly Discount: 20%
Weekend Price $145 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Bedroom 3
1 single bed, 1 bunk bed, 1 floor mattress

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 2PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check out by 10AM

- Put bins out/leave bin space for next occupier. Leave the property as you would expect to find it. Respect neighbours' peace and quiet. Please ask before bringing a pet - and not inside the house unless by agreement. Please and thanks.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

On Fridays and Saturdays the minimum stay is 2 nights.

9 Reviews

Check In
Robyn User Profile
October 2017
Great value for money and great location, easy walk to the beach.
Anne User Profile
Response from Anne:
Thank you Robyn. I appreciate your comments. I'm sorry you had difficulty contacting me. I can't explain that. Thank you for being a neat and tidy guest. Welcome anytime.
October 2017

Jovana User Profile
October 2017
I would NEVER stay here again! NO value for money - for this price we could rent an apartment for a week! Or even get a house ON the beach. Firstly, this house claims to sleep 8 people, yet the hot water ran out after less than 24 hours! My friend was forced to clean the (filthy) bath with boiling water from the kettle, then put cold water into the bath, AND THEN fill it with more boiling water. Disgusting. The mattress and pillows are cheap and cardboard-like - dirty beds and sheets. Smells like moth balls. Not enough chairs for even 6 people let alone more. NO outdoor seating and worst of all, not even an outdoor light so we had to have a bbq in the dark! There’s a driveway.....that you can’t even get onto because of the curb so we had to park our cars on the street which is so unsafe. Dog hair all over the carpet and we found some sort of porno in the movie collection so definitely not family friendly. Also the shower door doesn’t even close. I honestly can’t even think of one good thing to say. Biggest waste of money. Never again. BUYER BEWARE!!!!
Anne User Profile
Response from Anne:
Jovana I'm not sure what house you were staying at or who you were trying to call. I'm not sure what has prompted this vicious attack. Not sure where you'd rent an apartment on the beach for the price you paid for Eocene. It does sleep 8 and I advised the 8th is a pull out bed. If there was a problem with the house you should have called me - I certainly did NOT get any calls during your stay at Eocene, nor did I get a text and there's nothing on the AIRBNB site. Did you switch the hot water on rather than just rely on what was in the tank? The bath was NOT filthy. I can guarantee that it was not only washed but disinfected after the previous tenant. I grant you that the mattress on the single and the pull out bed are not the best but the others are all new/next to new; pillows are standard. Fresh linen is provided for every new booking and the beds are clean. I do not use moth balls. Extra chairs, garden furniture, BBQ etc are in the shed; keys on the key ring. Dog hair on the carpet? Really? If so then I apologise but it was vacuumed, but it means the previous guest had a dog I knew nothing about. Porno in the movie collection? Seriously? I can't really be held responsible for what people leave behind or if guests don't check before letting their families watch movies that are left behind. Not sure what you were doing with the shower door either. Thank you for destroying my reputation on Airbnb - and for emptying your BBQ ash in my garden and littering it with cigarette butts.
October 2017

Charmane User Profile
January 2017
Really cute place which is ideally located very close to the beach so we enjoyed plenty of beach walks. Air conditioning makes it comfortable and the place was neatly presented and very clean. Only complaint was the second double bed and one of the kids beds rather uncomfortable but we loved our stay regardless and would stay again

Jodie User Profile
January 2017
House good value for money compared to others we looked at. Small but perfect for us close to beach and other great beaches nearby. Jodie

Gabby User Profile
January 2017
Great spot by the beach!!

Chris User Profile
January 2017
Lovely walk to the beach! Glad to find a pet friendly place away from home.

Andrew User Profile
January 2017
This is a great place for a budget family holiday near the beach. Think of a basic beach house and this is it. Nothing flash but great location and value. Can walk to the beach. Probably 7 max, not 8. 8th bed is a trundle which takes up most of floor space in 3rd bedroom.

Erindale, AustraliaJoined in May 2014
Anne User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Anne’s place.
Erin helps host.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings