The cottage (1/4)The cottage (2/4)
MountainCottage by the "Sognefjord"
MountainCottage by the "Sognefjord"
5 guests
1 bedroom
4 beds
1 bath
5 guests
1 bedroom
4 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The cottage lies surrounded by mountains that stretches from the "Sognefjorden". From our parkin-lot you will reach the cottage by foot in 20-25 minutes. Its a demanding trip for beginners but it will be worth it as you get to the cottage. All the nature that surround the cottage is like taken from the most beautiful Disney movie. A big freshwater lake lies only 50 meters away from the cottage. Her you can use our fishing-rod to catch the tastiest freshwater trout. It's possible to rent a boat!

The space

The cabin is located approximately 500 meters above sea level. Stølsheimen is located on the south side of the fjord compared to the small city Høyanger. It takes from 10-30 minutes to walk from the nearest parking to the cottage "Stølen". Here there are unlimited opportunities of enjoying fresh air and hiking. Those staying at the lodge can fish for tasty trout rod in the mountain lake "Årsdalsvatnet" that is situated just below the cottage. Stay offers 'Luxury' in form of absence of television, mobile and no network signals and using an outhouse WC. There is hot water and a shower in the cottage.

Guest access

The cabbin includes electricity, hot water, a kitchen, a wet-room with shower, a outhouse and unlimited hiking possibilities.

Interaction with guests

We live 10 km from the cottage. We enjoy communicating with pleasant tenants. We would be happy to have you over for coffee and cakes!

Other things to note

Sengeklær og håndklær:
150kr per person per opphold.

Leie av båt (vist på bilde):
150kr per dag eller 750kr per uke. + drivstoff.


Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Heating
Free parking on premises

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

No smoking inside. No garbage throwing outside the cottage.


Cancellations

15 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Christina User Profile
April 2017
The host canceled this reservation 2 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Mirthe User Profile
October 2016
We stayed in the cabin for a week and we had a great time! We also were very lucky with the weather, which helped to make it a magical place. Aleksander's family was super welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed some coffee twice and even got to eat some of their lovely stew. They also were so kind as to bring us up the mountain by car. The location is really beautiful and ideal to retreat. If you are looking to explore the Norwegian fjords, it's a bit isolated, unless you got a car. We are very grateful for this experience!

C&N User Profile
August 2016
This has been an amazing experience!! If you are up for going into a fairytale and forgetting about everything this is the place for you!!

Matthias User Profile
July 2016
Warning - some things are different from the pictures: a pile of waste 4 meters from the door, a rodden house some steps away, and mud areas around. Everything in the cabin is old (except the bathroom), and many things are defect or damaged: windows, fridge, lamps, stools, ... Even more disappointing was the fact, that nothing was cleaned or tidy: bathroom, kitchen and all floors dirty, waste on the terrasse, and personal things of the owner laying around - even if we arrived late (6 pm). Very positive was the kindness of Aleksander and his father to offer additional services and to carry us 1 hour to a bus stop.
Aleksander User Profile
Response from Aleksander:
Dear Matthias, I do not find you complain reasonable at all. First you sent me a message that we should not wait for you at all because you would arrive late. You gave us no other time information. I wrote you that it would be hard to find the cottage and that you should meet my father at his house just like all our other guests. Since your last message was that you would arrive very late, my father enjoyed the sunny day hiking in the mountains and got to the cottage to clean it some hours later than usual. If you would kept us informed that you would not arrive this late after all the cottage would be ready when you arrived. We have had little problems communicating with our guests. The first time we talked together in the evening the day of your arrival you mentioned only the cottage being old and the kitchen especially. All this other information is new to me. The pictures and information we have on airbnb are 100% authentic and all out earlier guests find the cottage to be as described. We also agreed on that my father will drive you to the buss on Tuesday 26 of July. Only due this my parents waited till the 27 of July with their travel to Poland. I feel we where trying our best to give you a pleasant stay. Communication with you was not easy. Understanding the problem was also not easy. My father confirmed with you before he left the cottage that it was the cottage being old that was the problem. He would have finished cleaning the cottage if you would have wanted him to, but he was told it was ok. We even found time to drive you to the buss the day after you arrival thou this was no part of our deal. We have no refunds for cancelations made close too arrival. I would kindly ask you to contact airbnb and ask them to look at this case because i do not agree with you at all. I would rather have them look upon the matter than to pay my way out of a bad review. Best regards, Aleksander Førde
July 2016

Sam User Profile
July 2016
This is the dream Airbnb apartment and holiday destination. We could not recommend it more highly! It's a beautiful cabin, surrounded by mountains and waterfalls. It's completely secluded - an incredibly peaceful experience. The hike to the cabin is about 30 minutes, and you will have to carry all your food on your back as there are no shops nearby. The surrounding area is fantastic - a great lake, plus waterfalls and pools to swim in. There's a fishing rod and a fire in the cabin, plus the amenities you need like towels and clean sheets. Aleksander was great to communicate with, and provided us with all the info we needed. Aleksander's father met us, drove us to the lake, and hiked with us to the cabin. He also invited us to his house for tea, which was very generous and enjoyable. Thank you Aleksnder, and thank you Gunnstein, for an incredible holiday!

Bonnie User Profile
July 2016
We had a lovely stay in Aleksander's family's cabin! Communication with Aleksander beforehand was great and his family was very helpful upon arrival, taking us to the cabin and letting us know how everything worked. The cabin itself is really cosy, warm, and has everything you need. Especially the kitchen is very well equipped. The surrounding area is wild and beautiful, perfect for hiking and fishing in the lake! We can most definitely recommend to stay here, if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet vacation surrounded by beautiful Norwegian nature!

Richard User Profile
September 2015
This place is a little bit special. We can't recommend it enough! We only spent three nights but wish it had have been more. Our 1 year old daughter loved it just as much. Gunnstein (Aleksander's Dad) was v helpful and Aleksander provided all the e help we needed. This place is all about an escape - no phone reception, tv or internet - so liberating. Be prepared for a small walk to the cabin (take a backpack) but that adds to the charm of this rural idyll.
Aleksander User Profile
Response from Aleksander:
Than you so much. We are happy that you like the stay. You are welcome to stay at the cottage anytime:)
September 2015

Oslo, NorwayJoined in June 2013
Aleksander User Profile
Min far er norsk mens min mor er polsk. Selv så studerer jeg russisk språk på ILOS ved universitet i Oslo hvor jeg også er studentrepresentant i ILOS styret. Jobber deltid som vekter i Securitas AS. Jeg er en glad og energi rik mann som alltid er på jakt etter nye steder å re…
Languages: English, Norsk, Polski, Русский
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings