Queensize bed in     Frangipani roomFrangipani room

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Iconic Queenslander home, located a short walk to magic Wongaling beach. Views of famous Dunk and Hitchinbrook Islands. Coral reefs, tropical walks, mountain trails, river rafting, sky diving, and much more all available from this beautiful home.

The space

The house is an original 1920's Queenslander which we relocated from Cairns and brought to Mission Beach on the back of a truck. The historical value of the property is fascinating to anyone interested in early settlement of Far North Queensland. The property sits on nearly 1/4 acre of landscaped garden, full of gingers, mangoes, pomeloes, starfruit, breadfruit, limes, oranges, guavas, heliconias - the list goes on. Your bedroom has a queen size bed, desk, wardrobe, chest of drawers, DVD player, & tea & coffee making facilities. The windows, which are fully fly-screened, look out over the front garden. The house has timber floors throughout, four bedrooms, music room and two bathrooms. both with a full size bath. You will have private use of the upstairs bathroom. There is a wrap-around verandah where you can relax & take in the view and the sounds of the birds from the treetops. We have an above-ground pool where you can sit and cool-off. There is air-conditioning in the lounge/kitchen area only but the high ceilings keep the house fairly cool in summer.

Guest access

Guests will be able to use the modern timber kitchen and all its appliances and keep food cool in the fridge. The lounge room is comfortably furnished with lounge suite & TV. There is a huge verandah all around the house with table and chairs. The laundry and second bathroom are downstairs. You have private use of the upstairs bathroom.

Interaction with guests

I work 5 days a week at the local library and don't get home until 5.30 pm on week days. During the day guests will have use of the house, with its large verandah and garden. You can shop at the new Woolworths Supermarket only 3 kms away, but note that it closes at 5pm on Saturdays and doesn't open at all on Sundays. There is a small local supermarket at North Mission which is open on Sundays and an IGA in Tully. We could come to some arrangement regarding cooking an evening meal together.

Other things to note

I provide sheets and towels. There is a kettle and DVD player in your room but help yourself to free coffee and an array of herbal teas from the kitchen. Free WIFI is available. During the week I don't usually get home until 5.30 pm so on your arrival day you may have to wait until then. If it is Uni vacation time my children may be able to welcome you earlier in the day. I have a couple of push bikes which you can borrow.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 2
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 5PM
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Weekly Discount: 8%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 5PM

This is a non smoking house - even on the verandah!
No pets please.
Help yourself to fruit & herbs from the garden.


Cancellations

Flexible

Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Grant User Profile
September 2015
Maxine lives in a lovely old Queenslander home, neat and tidy with full use of all the facilities and close to the beach. It is in a beautiful setting surrounded by the rain forest. Maxine was a friendly host and made us very welcome. Sarah and I enjoyed the peace and quiet. We would highly recommend this property to any future visitor. Grant & Sarah Crowe

Rita User Profile
September 2015
Maxine's place is beautiful, just like she described it in her profile. The moment we arrived we felt welcome and at home. Maxine shared her wealth of knowledge of the area, we even felt part of her family as she shared her Photos of the removal and rebuild of this historic building with us. Loved to read in the hammock on the verandah, looking into the coconut tree. Even though I missed actually seeing the 2 cassowaries I know that they were there as Gary saw them minutes later crossing the main road :) Maxine's place is just 3 minutes' walk to the beautiful beach, it is well worth the early rise to see the sun come up over the horizon. Nice quiet neighbourhood, everything clean and tidy, a place that we both would love to come back to.

Brooks User Profile
August 2015
Maxine isn't joking when she labels her AirBnB at "tropical paradise". With a beautiful quiet beach just a couple minute's walk from the house, fruit trees all over the yard, and a large, comfortable house, it was a great holiday for my girlfriend and I. Despite requesting the place the same day we were arriving, Maxine was very accommodating, even taking us for a walk on the beach after we arrived and talking with us about the area. She also had a plethora of information supplied in the room about things to do in the area, and good internet. Thank you!

Carla User Profile
July 2015
We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful house. Maxine told us the story about moving the house to this beautiful place and we were even more impressed. Maxine is very sympathetic and generous. We forget our passport in the room and she informed us quickly and was so helpful. Thank you so much.

Dawn User Profile
Dawn
June 2015
Maxine made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.She was very generous to us in the use of her lovely home including cooking in the kitchen, lending us some push-bikes and sharing her knowledge of the local area.We had such an enjoyable stay even with the rain! Dawn and Greg and

Sally User Profile
May 2015
Maxine was a wonderful host, who made me feel most welcome, from the minute, she picked me up from the bus, which I had caught from Cairns. Her house was beautifully maintained and I particularly loved the classic ' Queenslander' verandah. I also enjoyed our chats. She is very knowledgeable about the area, having lived and worked, there for many years now. I would highly recommend staying at Exotic Homestay.

Pam User Profile
January 2015
Maxine was lovely, she made us feel very welcome and comfortable, neighbourhood was peaceful, near to the beach and restaurants. The house is beautiful, and being able to sit on the veranders was very relaxing.

Wongaling Beach, AustraliaJoined in November 2013
Maxine User Profile

I am aged 56 and originally came from the UK to Australia as a backpacker in 1986. I fell in love with North Queensland and have been here ever since. I have 3 children and a cat named Jasper. I am fairly active and try and walk, swim or ride my bike everyday. I have done quite a few major walks in the last few years including the Overland Track in Tasmania, The Thorsborne Trail on Hinchinbrook Island and the Hollyford Walk in New Zealand. I have recently just come back from the UK where I enjoyed walking in the Snowdonia National Park. I currently work five days a week at the Tully Library and seem to spend the rest of the week keeping my garden under control.

Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings