If it's nice out, hang on the deck.My light and bright family room. Do you play piano? I'd love to hear it.
Ottawa Hills home near UToledo

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Bright bedroom in leafy Ottawa Hills. Walk to the University of Toledo, Westgate Plaza (Starbucks, 5 Guys, Barry Bagels, Fresh Market, Costco) or borrow a bike and ride to Toledo Hospital (3 mi), UT Med Center (5), Toledo Museum (3), downtown (5). Less than a mile to I-475 and I-23.

The space

The room I'm offering is bright and clean with a double bed, rocking chair, closet and dresser. The room opens onto a tiled bath with shower. Need an iron? I've got it. Want to do laundry? No prob. Hang out in the yard? It's a nice one. Make a fire in the winter? I've got logs. My casa is (mostly) yours for the days of your visit.

Guest access

Guests have access to the entire house and yard except for my bedroom/office. (Though I expect you to ask before you start rummaging for things in the kitchen and the like.) I also have bikes--I'm under a mile to the University Trails bike path.

Interaction with guests

I love meeting people and talking/eating/drinking with them. (I came to AirBnB after years of hosting exchange students and Couchsurfers.) But if you want to be alone, I'll pretend you're not here ;--) You're on your own meal-wise (feel free to use the fridge, and kitchen, but please don't eat my food or drink my wine unless I make an explicit offer).

Other things to note

Please be sure to read through my entire listing (including the House Manual) to minimize miscommunication. Note that I only accept requests from people who send a message telling me why they're visiting and have profiles that include a photo and relevant information--what you "do,", things you enjoy, a bit of history, etc. See mine if you are new to AirBnB and unsure what to include...I don't need a complete resume, but I do need a snapshot.

I'm a well-traveled artist/writer/educator. I can (and will, unless instructed otherwise) make suggestions as to the interesting sights and events in the area, and even introduce you to like-minded people, if you want.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 3PM - 12AM (midnight)
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 3PM - 12AM (midnight)

I expect my guests to be polite and neat and treat my home like it's their own (assuming theirs is also well cared for.) Convo me about pets--I like small, non-shedding dogs and cats, and if yours fits that description and is well mannered, he or she may be able to stay with you ($20 extra/night; litter box in your bedroom; if he/she urinates/poops, you clean it up immediately). I don't allow indoor smoking ...but frankly, you shouldn't be smoking outdoors, either...c'mon, you know it's a bad habit.)

I expect guests to read through my entire listing and complete a profile...I do not accept guest with empty profiles even if they have been "verified." I want to know who you are any why you're visiting.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

48 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Stephen User Profile
August 2017
Barbara's place is a wonderful, charming place with everything you require.

Shaun User Profile
August 2017
Barbara's house was really wonderful! We had our own private bedroom and attached private bathroom. Parking was easy, and Barbara was able to give us recommendations for restaurants around town.

Jane User Profile
July 2017
Lovely comfortable home on tree lined street. Barbara is flexible host, a good communicator and enjoyed conversations. Especially liked the private bath and good morning coffee.

Tom User Profile
July 2017
Barbara was a wonderful host, a pleasure to talk with and we enjoyed her lovely house. It was super clean, tastefully decorated and located in an upscale neighborhood in Toledo.

Kelly User Profile
July 2017
Barbara was an outstanding host. We had a nice time getting to know her, which made our stay even better. She was willing to share tidbits about the area and town, which is also useful when we are in a new area. The house was very comfortable and inviting and we were able to "make ourselves at home". The area was very pleasant, with good access to whatever we needed and was just a short drive to anything we wanted to do. Overall, we had a very nice experience.

Candice User Profile
June 2017
Barbara is a great host. She was very welcoming.

Morton User Profile
June 2017
Barb is an outstanding hostess--welcoming, warm, caring. We hope to stay with her again.

Toledo, Ohio, United StatesJoined in July 2013
Barbara User ProfileBarbara is a superhost.

I'm an artist/writer/educator and over the years, I've lived in 10 states, the UK and Germany. I once wrote a dessert cookbook for bookgroups and I now tutor ESL students and make custom ceramic pet portraits and other tile projects--you can see these by googling Ceramigrafix. I also have a small business writing personal profiles and memorials...you can find this at

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings