Skip to content
Door to the right is my bedroom off the kitchen.Full access to kitchen and laundry room.
Private room in artist's house
Private room in artist's house
3 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1.5 shared baths
3 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1.5 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

I have 2 guest rooms and this is a great place for taking time out to reflect, work or get inspired. Guests please fill out your profile -I need to know who I am inviting into my home, and read the Detailed Description before booking. Thank you!

The space

This room no longer has an actual bed as seen in the picture. I only have a blow up Aero bed for this room now. The Aero bed is a full size but it's really only comfortable for one person.

I have 2 guest rooms and this is a great place for taking time out to reflect, work or get inspired. My space is clean, quiet and peaceful. And, in case you read about a rooster in my reviews, the chickens and roosters have moved out. Guest rooms are located at opposite ends of the same hallway so I ask that you be especially considerate of your “hallmate”. Guests share the main bathroom , which includes tub & shower. Also, my bedroom is right off the kitchen and I have to keep my door ajar for the cats, so I ask that you keep the lights and noise down in the kitchen after I’ve gone to bed, usually around 11:00pm. I practice my cello mornings 10am-12, or evenings between 5 & 9pm.
I typically avoid using AC because I prefer to live with the windows open but during the hottest months I set the AC at 78-80 during the day and once it cools off outside then we open the windows. During the winter the thermostat is set at 62-64 degrees. Please be prepared to live with these indoor temperatures.

Guest access

Guests have full access to the washer & dryer, kitchen, and living room. Internet is not provided. But there is a coffee shop 3 blocks away with Wi-Fi and, Boise State University library (a 10min. bike ride away on the bike path) has guest computer access and Wi-Fi, and is open 7am-midnight while school is in session.

Interaction with guests

I am an experienced traveler and I enjoy meeting new people, but I also work from home and my work is project driven so I have to stay focused. I am looking to host independent, responsible, considerate, like-minded people, and I especially look forward to hosting other artists. Since I started hosting in 2014 I have learned that I do best hosting people who have their own agenda, or who have a specific goal/assignment while they are here, for example: students doing internships, or research projects, musicians on tour, or people who have just relocated for a job. That being said, I do enjoy socializing with my guests when I have time, but if you are coming here on vacation and are in need of a tour guide or companionship this might not be the right fit.

Other things to note

Please be prepared to observe house rules upon arrival!

Amenities
Smoking allowed
Kitchen
Free parking on premises
TV
Prices
Extra people $38 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $53 NZD
Weekly Discount: 40%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed
House Rules

House Rules

1). Please shut and lock bedroom and bathroom windows before leaving the house for the day, and test old aluminum windows sometimes they just look closed.

2). Quiet hours 11pm-7am. PLEASE be considerate of others who may need to wake up early, or who just want to get a good nights' sleep! If you are going to talk on the phone or (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN) after 11pm please go outside (away from bedroom windows) to talk, and wear headphones when you watch movies.

3). Miko will try to sleep with you- please resist because his hair gets all over the blankets and sheets and it is very hard to wash out. If you don’t want to have your door shut please keep the extra sheet over the top of your bed to keep the blankets kitty free!

4). Every Sunday I clean the house and vacuum guest rooms. I will ask before I vacuum your room, but please put valuables away and anything that could get accidentally sucked up.

5). All food items should be stored in the kitchen. I prefer guests not eat meals in their room. But if you do eat in your room PLEASE do not get food on the linens, in the bed, or on walls and furniture. Also clean up spills immediately and do not allow dirty dishes to sit.

6). Do your dishes once a day; please don’t leave dirty dishes in the sink for more than a day.

7). PLEASE do not adjust thermostat! In the summer once it cools off at night, and the outside temp. reaches the inside temp., I will shut off the AC and we can open windows. In the morning please shut and lock windows before it starts to warm up and I’ll turn the AC back on. Windows should be closed when the AC is running.

8). Smoking is allowed outside on the front porch or in the front yard, please dispose of ashes & butts in large tan outside garbage can.

9). I have a morning routine and I work in my studio up until about 1:00 and prefer not to be disturbed during this time. But please let me know if there is an emergency or something that requires my immediate attention.

10). When asking favors please keep in mind that I am also on a budget and my time is valuable to me. Please be prepared to be self-sufficient and provide your own transportation, food items and other necessities.

11). My cancellation policy is flexible: If your plans change then you must adjust your reservation through Air bnb, but be aware that Air bnb charges a cancellation fee.

12). Please help keep bathroom, tub, and toilet clean: rinse the tub after you use it, keep drains and counters hair free, etc.! For serious cleaning, the GREEN sponge is for counter and tub only, and the YELLOW sponge is for the toilet only.

Please keep in mind that you are renting a room in someone's home. If you cannot show respect and consideration for your fellow guests and host by observing the house rules then I will have to ask you to find other accommodations. Your cooperation is much appreciated!

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Availability
1 night minimum stay

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Donna User Profile
August 2017
Jessie was a great host, even letting me borrow her bike to ride to the Idaho fair. The bed is an air mattress but you coulda fooled me. Super comfortable !

Jackie User Profile
August 2015
Jessie was very accommodating and the room was as expected in the description. One of her neighbors does own a rooster who loved to wake me up sometimes though. I'm just a light sleeper. I would recommend Jessie to anyone looking to stay in boise.

Ethan User Profile
July 2015
I had a great time staying here in Boise. Wasn't home much but I had a hot shower and place to seep for a week. Thanks so much! Will stay again if I make it back to Boise soon!

Heidi User Profile
July 2015
Easy, exactly as described, well coordinated and worth it.

John User Profile
July 2015
It was really nice and clean

Therese And Steven User Profile
February 2015
Jessie was a very accommodating host and she was more than willing to show us around and inform us of interesting things happening in Boise. Her home was clean and cosy, (as described) and the cats were the very sweetest. The neighborhood was quiet, and conveniently located in close proximity to groceries, library, coffee etc.

Guillaume User Profile
November 2014
I felt like being at home with a friend. Excellent experience. Room was as described, house was great in a quiet street. Jessie was a terrific host. Thank you !

Boise, Idaho, United StatesJoined in January 2014
Jessie User Profile

Hello Air B&Bers,
I am an Idaho native who has been working as a visual/performance artist in Boise for nine years. I earned my MFA from Cal Arts in Los Angeles in 2002. I have also played the cello for twenty-seven years and over the last five years I have been composing and recording music for theatre and artist installations. Since graduating I have been working a variety of odd jobs as I try to advance my artistic career. And in March of 2013 I took up Stand Up Comedy and am currently attending classes at Second City Chicago. Overall people find me a likeable and easy going person. Five things I can't live without? Travel, adventure, spending time outdoors, dancing, fresh fruits and veggies, my notebook/journal.

As a guest I am pretty low impact. I am clean, quiet, and drug free and I don't generally watch t.v. or listen to loud music. I am never bored; when I travel I like to get my exercise and I enjoy exploring my surroundings on foot. If I'm not exercising I am usually writing, studying music, working on an art project, cooking, or reading. I also enjoy making new friends and I am a very open and friendly person but, I also need my alone time.

As far as favorite books. My favorite-true life adventure tales like Papion. Movies- my favorites are comedies,art films and old movies; one of my favorites is the original Joan of Arc, from the 1700's? and Punchline from the 1980's. But I do enjoy the occasional popular flick. Food- my favorite fare is Persian and Indian food!

Well, I think this is probably enough to get us started- I look forward to getting to know you all in person!

The neighbourhood

Similar listings