Peaceful and Secluded Manse, Bute
Hosted by Margaret
Margaret is the host.Margaret is a superhost.
3 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

TWO BEDROOM B&B Built in the 1850s Cnoc-an-Raer Manse is a large, rambling house situated in unquestionably rural surroundings. With an overall characterful ambiance, the rooms are cosy and exude a tranquillity not of this age.

The space

TWO BEDROOM B&B

Please note: This old house has it's original, large, Victorian bath... but NO SHOWER!! You will find spiders here, if you look for them but they tend to stay in the corners and don't bother anyone!


As mentioned in the opening summary, the house is old and happily retains the character of it's era. I should point out that while it is comfortable, it has GENUINE "shabby chic", GENUINE distressed paintwork (in the places where as yet I haven't managed to get up the ladder!), and the garden has a somewhat overgrown aspect. It is of course, the wildness of nearly three acres that encourages a huge variety of creatures that also lives here! As I write it is a warm summer's day and the widows are open, light pouring in, balmy breezes blowing through, bugs flying in and out, and a multitude of birds is singing.
The winter is special too but be aware that should you chose to stay in the cold months, only certain rooms are warm. Rest assured that your bedrooms and the kitchen and living room are kept warm thanks to a constant effort by the chief stoker (your hostess!). As long as it is clear that moving from the kitchen to the living room will feel like crossing the Urals in February then all will be well. The Rayburn heats radiators that keep the chill off in the bedrooms and there are thick feather duvets and blankets galore AND hot water bottles for each bed. This more than suffices for anyone who has ever stayed here but again, if you do need to sleep at equatorial temperatures…you may not have read this far anyway!

You will have the means to make real coffee in your room with proper milk and breakfast can be as simple or as elaborate as you wish, within reason! I make all my own bread and preserves and provide organic food where possible. Omlettes are no trouble and I am happy to make porridge to your specifications. For the record, I make my own porridge with lots of whole milk, cooked well with a pinch of salt (tiny, barely discernible) and a pinch of brown sugar on top. If there's cream to hand, a bit of that goes in too!

Please see addenda at bottom, "Other things to note"

Guest access

As this is my home without divisions, separate entrances or those nasty fire doors that snap shut behind you, guest space is under the same roof as my space but guests of course have access to their rooms, the living room, the kitchen, and the bathroom. I am happy to let folks use the oven to warm up take aways, or fix their own food, etc. and if you desire a change I could be persuaded to do evening meals! Dining in the winter months is in the kitchen. There is also a barn which can be used to store bikes, etc.

Interaction with guests

You will have gathered by now that the house is always occupied and I am usually here all day. I work from home and I am assuming that most people would be out and about during the day. However, if you wish to stay in your room and read all day that's absolutely fine. My intention is to be an agreeable hostess without being imposing!

Other things to note

It is perhaps worth mentioning that the bathroom is shared with the owner. Nevertheless, guests have priority and all the hot water! Please note there is no "power shower" or shower of any sort but the original Victorian bath is very pleasant!. The rooms provide ample space for a family of four with a comfy spare mattress to hand. I am happy to offer reduced prices for children 12 and under. Just ask.

Please know that a very friendly, fuzzy dog lives here!

Addenda, 10th August 2016:
I wish to make it crystal-clear that there are no "24/7" power-shower facilities at my house. As originally stated, there is no shower of any other description either. There is, however, a large and by most accounts, luxurious original, i.e. old, Victorian bath and a large capacity hot water tank that supplies near-boiling water in the mornings (6-9) and evenings ( 5-10). Outside these times, I am more than happy to over-ride the emersion to give a boost of heat should it be required. Please, just ask : ) !!


Amenities
Free parking on premises
Breakfast

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is 4PM - 8PM
Check out by 10AM

No rules pertain beyond those which one would expect from any guest. The one exception is that it is helpful if people are not back too late, especially in the winter. Calm and relative quiet are essential in the evenings as your hostess makes an early start! It would be greatly appreciated if guests could vacate their room by 10:00 or thereabouts on the day of departure. Please no smoking in the house.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

66 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Elaine User ProfileElaine is a superhost.
September 2017
Just returned from a lovely 2 nights stay at this beautiful old Georgian former manse. Margaret is a very welcoming host and goes out of her way to give her guests a different experience. Margaret's home has an eclectic mix of artwork, period furniture and lots of quirky items to look at. We spent many hours chatting to Margaret in her cosy kitchen and putting the world to rights! Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.
Margaret User ProfileMargaret is a superhost.
Response from Margaret:
Lovely to meet you both and very pleased that you had such an enjoyable get-away : )
September 2017

Tom User Profile
September 2017
Expectations are everything in life ( and Air Bn(URL HIDDEN)so if you are looking for a place to stay that is a genuinely secluded location, where you wake up noticing how much the silence of the area and the wild flowers in the garden, the proximity of the local beach ( and a cobweb clearing swim ) the queue of wee birds at the window feeder, the homemade bread & jam for breakfast, the friendly dog at your feet and the warmth of the oven . . . all add up to leaving you suitably refreshed and a bit more ready for the city again ~ then staying at Margaret's house is for you.
Margaret User ProfileMargaret is a superhost.
Response from Margaret:
Thank you so much for that glowing recommendation! : )
September 2017

Robert User Profile
September 2017
Margarets house is exactly as described - charming and interesting and full of period features. Our cooked breakfast was great.

Stuart User Profile
September 2017
Margaret's home is beautiful, peaceful and immediately welcoming. It's clear she works incredibly hard to make her home inviting and enjoyable for her guests - which it certainly is. The location, the rooms, and delicious home cooked breakfast all made a perfect relaxing stay for the last leg of a cycle trip around the Scottish Isles.
Margaret User ProfileMargaret is a superhost.
Response from Margaret:
Thank you so much for the great review, and glad you enjoyed your stay.
September 2017

María Luisa User Profile
September 2017
A very cosy home and kind and friendly welcoming.

Frederikke User Profile
August 2017
Margaret was very nice and chatty and my friend and I had a really lovely time at her place. We were able to use the kitchen to make dinner and Margeret cooked very nice breakfeast for us! We didn't miss anything other than a bit more wifi connection :) Would recommend to other guest, looking for a nice bnb in a calm area!
Margaret User ProfileMargaret is a superhost.
Response from Margaret:
Mange tak og gode rejser! : )
August 2017

Helen User Profile
August 2017
Margaret is a lovely lady. The house certainly has character.
Margaret User ProfileMargaret is a superhost.
Response from Margaret:
Thank you, and pleased to know that the baking was such a hit!
August 2017

United KingdomJoined in May 2014
Margaret User ProfileMargaret is a superhost.
I am painter with a particular passion for the landscape. Gardening and cooking are life-long interests as well as reading, tennis and sailing, and I am particularly keen on long-distance walking. I also have a passion for old houses and architecture in general, which may…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings