and  to Charlton Place, one of Islington's oldest streets.Charlton Place
A Perfect Small London Townhouse, at the Angel
A Perfect Small London Townhouse, at the Angel
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
4 beds
2 baths
You won’t be charged yet

1783 four storey terraced family home, for 2-6.

Double bed (Bed 1) & bathroom: top floor.
Sitting room (1st floor) & double sofa-bed (Bed 2) - doors for privacy.
The Cabin: ground floor 2-tier ADULT bunks (Small-Bed 3), ideal for 2 kids - or my 6 foot son-in-law.
Ground floor loo/shower, next to Cabin.
Kitchen/diner semi-basement, TV sitting room.
Storeroom.
Garden, BBQ.
Not nosey, but I like to know who you are & Expected Time of Arrival (most important). Calendar often flexible.

The space

This is my lovely 1780s two/three bedroom terraced town house, on four floors. In fine shape, well furnished and in a (usually) quiet street with good neighbours. My home has been rented out by EasyRental via Aibnb and One Fine Stay for several years and has had excellent reviews, but I prefer direct contact with the guests.

This is an ideal house for a couple with two children. Six people are squash if it's for long, but quite possible. I often have a houseful overnight when I'm here.

Top (second) Floor: main bedroom (double bed) + bathtub, shower & loo + store cupboards for clothes and luggage.

First Floor: sitting room, TV, hi-fi + sofa bedroom (double bed).

Ground Floor: The Cabin - tiny bedroom but with adult size bunk beds (for two), loo, shower + my study/your luggage storeroom - see Guest Access.

Semi-basement: kitchen/dining room &c.

Basement/semi-cellar/utility room: washing machine & dryer.

Garden: paved, table &c and BBQ.

Guest access

Guests have access everywhere: My Study (Ground Floor) is not for use by guests, except for storage. See Floor Plan photo.

Interaction with guests

You'll receive a warm welcome, and we can sort keys &c, and either I or my staff will have the place clean and ready for use. I'm unlikely to be in London while guests are here - I'll either be in Anglesey, sailing or on holiday. But I'll usually be available by phone or email.

Sheets (Egyptian cotton, quality stuff), towels &c provided: you simply move in.

Other things to note

Cleaning and help (Laura, first language Spanish), washing & ironing &c: all available.
Parking: at meters, or local carparks, but best to use public transport.


Business travel
This listing has essential business travel amenities.

Amenities
Wireless Internet
Kitchen

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $98 NZD
Security Deposit $585 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
1 sofa bed
Bedroom 3
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Non-smoking, please.
You should find the place clean, and please leave it clean.
There is a full house manual that explains how things work.
Children welcome.
Rubbish disposal: Islington is keen on recycling. So am I! Instructions easy to follow. Collections on Friday mornings.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Nina User Profile
October 2017
Charlies place was great. The location for us was brilliant. So close to Camden passage with its wonderful places to eat and drink. The house was so comfortable and homely especially the lovely kitchen for family breakfast and late evening coffee.

Kristin User Profile
August 2017
We really enjoyed our stay in Charlie's townhouse in London. Charlie was a great host, he made us feel welcomed, and he was very good at communicating prior and throughout as needed. The townhouse had plenty of room for our family of four and was clean, charming, and exceeded our expectations. We loved the location, the neighborhood of Islington/The Angel is lively, full of restaurants and unique shops, and is very central without feeling touristy. It was easy to jump on the Tube and get anywhere in London quickly. We'd often spend the days exploring London, then head back to the townhouse and sit in the lovely back garden and relax with a bottle of wine and some cheese from one of the local stores around the corner. We hope to return to London again and if we do, we would book Charlie's place again in a heartbeat.

Neil User Profile
August 2017
My wife, three daughters (12,15,18) and I stayed at Charlie's for a few days in August (our first Airbnb). Though we never actually met Charlie (he was away), we spoke on the phone and exchanged several emails. He was very helpful and flexible about arrival and departure times. Charlie has a lovely period home, however it's probably not suited to those who are less mobile. It has quite steep, narrow stairs and you spend a fair amount of time going up and down them as kitchen, bathroom, living room and bedroom are all on different floors. There are also quite a few personal items, ornaments, pictures, etc around the house, which make the place very homely, but perhaps not ideal if you have younger inquisitive children. The neighbourhood seems quite fashionable, and there's plenty of nice little boutique shops, eateries, and bars around the place. Charlton Place is a short distance from the main action, so its quite quiet. Occasionally, after closing time, you'd get the odd loud voice walking down the street, but nothing to worry about. Blackfriars Bridge is about 3km due South, so certainly walkable, but with Angel Tube station just 5mins around the corner, we used that everyday to get around London. It also meant that after a busy day seeing the sights, we knew we only had a short walk from the Tube to get "home". If we are visiting London again, I'd certainly see if Charlie's place was available for another stay. Neil

Elisabeth User Profile
July 2017
Charlies house is perfect for a stay in London. The house and garden is very cosy and comfortable. Kitchen is very well stocked with everything needed and we felt very welcome in the house. Very good information from the host Charlie about the house and surroundings. The street s quiet, yet there's only a few minutes walk to the station with buses og trains. The area is absolutely lovely with lots of nice cafe, bars, restaurants and shops. We would love to rent the house another time.
Charlie User ProfileCharlie is a superhost.
Response from Charlie:
Delighted you enjoyed it. Do come again! Charlie
July 2017

Patrick User Profile
July 2017
Charlie is a great host and bis Place is a real gem. I love the area of angel a lot as it is full with Shops, coffee places and bars. Getting around is also pretty easy. And the house is just perfect for a staying in London.

Shirley User Profile
June 2017
Charlie’s house is so full of personality, its often hard to leave and do your planned sightseeing. It was also very clean and comfortable. Charlie sent me not 1 but 2 envelopes prior to my stay with keys and information for my stay – really amazing attention to detail. The proximity of the house to Islington (20 meters!) means you never want to/need to cook but if you do, the brand new kitchen will serve you well. I really felt safe and could pretend I was a local. There is a lovely walk 2 mins from the house along the Canal which will take you right up to Hoxton etc. 2 mins walk in the opposite direction to Angel Station and many bus routes.
Charlie User ProfileCharlie is a superhost.
Response from Charlie:
Shirley, you had better come again! all good wishes Charlie
June 2017

Caro User Profile
June 2017
The house is really great, Univ. and we felt at Home since the first minute we arrived. The location is perfect quiete and the neighborhood is a lovely place but super close to the next tubestation. Arround the next corner there are verry nice and delicate coffeeshops, pub, fancy small shops ... Charlie wasn't at home during our stay, but he organized evereything perfect and our contact was verry friendly with helpfull Informations. we really loved to stay here and cecomend charlies lovely home definitely !!!! Thank you Charlie!!!!
Charlie User ProfileCharlie is a superhost.
Response from Charlie:
Delighted you had a good time. Come again! Charlie
June 2017

This host has 25 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
London, United KingdomJoined in July 2014
Charlie User ProfileCharlie is a superhost.

I am a neurologist with wide interests - high altitude climbing, exploration and sailing. I live in London (house in Islington via Airbnb) and North Wales - see Cwm y Wrach (cottage in Snowdonia, via Airbnb) and Bryn Mel Garden House (country house with pool, via Menai Holidays).

I speak some Spanish - my partner Marcela is from Chile.

I love food, wine, old books, nice old things and writing - see Everest The Unclimbed Ridge (1983), Tibet's Secret Mountain (1998) and Neurology A Queen Square Textbook (2009/2016) .

Languages: Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings