Red Room 1backyard
Room in the artist's home
Room in the artist's home
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

We have two nice, bright rooms on the second floor with single beds in each of them. Another mattress can be added if needed. Brand new guests' bathroom . Very private. It's gorgeous here. See our guidebook for places worth visiting in the area.
As an artist, I definitely recommend visiting Carnegie Gallery and many unique stores (they carry my artwork of historical buildings of Dundas). Dundas museums, ShEd Brewery, antique shop, fabulous restaurants all in our vibrant town of Dundas.

The space

You will be staying in a professional artist's home.

We rent 2 rooms on the second floor (shared bathroom with one more person only if the second room is rented).
Both Rooms are equipped with a kitchenette (toaster, kettle, plates, cutlery, glasses and a small fridge)

Guest access

Your room is upstairs, we have a separate door to our living space which makes your entrance private.
Guests will have access to our very nice, private backyard, and bbq in the summer.
We have 3 mountain bikes for rent - $20 per day.
WIFI Internet for email checking and browsing

Interaction with guests

I look forward to meet you. I will be happy to offer suggestions for your stay


Amenities
Internet
Kitchen
Wireless Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

Prices
Cleaning Fee $35 NZD
Security Deposit $288 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $58 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed
Common spaces
2 double beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

Bathroom is only shared if both rooms are rented.
Plenty of Free parking on the street,next to our home.

Our kitchen (stove) can be used when we are home as our main level living space is seperate from the rooms we rent. Each room have small kitchenettes set up with Microwave, toaster, kettle, cofee maker, dishes and an electrical frying pan for your convenience to make your breakfasts and lunches. If anything is missing at the time you check in, PLEASE let us know as we might not be aware of things being moved from the room. No hot burners are allowed.
Laundry machine is available after 7pm on weekdays and most of the day on the weekend.
For long term rentals, we would like to set up the "laundry day" when is convenient for the guest and us.

COMMUNICATION is the key to happy guests and hosts. You have any questions, concerns, you need something, something doesn't work or is not there..... Tell us and we will be more than happy to try to accommodate Your requests.

Don't just assume that we know what you want, and write bad reviews after you leave.

"If you don't have anything good to say, don't say it at all" - Bambi.

We work hard on our and on making your stay pleasant.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - Rooms are on the second floor (approximately 13 stairs)
No parking on property
Some spaces are shared - Bathroom is shared only if both rooms are rented
Amenity limitations - Bathroom is shared if both rooms are rented.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

12 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Anna User Profile
September 2017
Staying with Danuta was like staying in a friend's house, only being more taken care of. The room is very clean and has everything one needs. The bed is comfortable, there is plenty of room for clothes and personal things. The bathroom is shared with another AirBnB tenant, it was always spotless clean, with plenty of towels and even shampoo and conditioner and lotion provided. I needed a few extra things (an iron, an extra couple hours after the scheduled check out time) and Danuta accommodated immediately. Besides, the house is so charming. There are her beautiful paintings and sculptures everywhere. It's a really good deal for someone who looks for safe, clean, friendly and comfortable place to stay. If you are into luxury and all things new, maybe this is not for you, as the house is a typical 50-60 building with all the charms and quirks of it. But it's a great value. I will be going back to stay with Danuta.

Karen User Profile
September 2017
I arranged this accommodation for my dear friend coming for a visit from Montreal. He was very happy with his room. Wanted to take the bed back home with him. Danuta was respectful of his privacy and was a very gracious host.
Danuta User ProfileDanuta is a superhost.
Response from Danuta:
Thank you Karen. Tell JOE he is welcome here anytime! it was my pleasure to meet both of you
September 2017

Jen User Profile
September 2017
Danuta's place was ok. The room was very clean but I found the room and bedding to be a little dated and worn. It was nice to have amenities in the room such as a desk, plenty of lights, lamps, mini fridge, kettle and dishes. The room has lots and lots of storage space and is a big room. The coffee machine was missing from the room. The bathroom (which is shared with the other room) door would not lock and would not stay closed. Danuta was very nice.
Danuta User ProfileDanuta is a superhost.
Response from Danuta:
So disappointed with your review. Your checking in time was changed by you so many time, I waited for text or email and was stuck at home and you did not even thank me for waiting over 4,5hrs for you. When you arrived, I told you if there is anything your need, just ask. Coffee maker was moved and I was not aware of that, same with the issue with the lock on the bathroom door (it does stay close, and locked, the little lock was a bit stuck). All you had to do is text or tell me. My house is almost 70 yrs old, it is my art studio, I live here and love it! I keep it very clean, cozy, and I like the rustic look. I will not change it for someone else, like you. I am very environmental friendly and will NOT buy new sheets just because they were already used few times. They are ALWAYS nice and clean. You also complained to Airbnb that there is only one curtain on the window. Yes, but it's big enough to cover the whole window plus there are also blinds on each window. You also complained to Airbnb that “Check in time was confusing. I emailed five days prior to arrival and received a confusing response about check in time and where to park. I unfortunately arrived 4.5 hours late due to traffic and Danuta was wonderful about my tardiness. On the last nig”. LOL. check in time was confusing? you were so late! and I was waiting. It says on my listing that there is plenty of parking on the street. Still confused? People like you, who just joined Airbnb, use it for the very first time, (you did not even have any references), complain about unreasonable things and ruin are rating record, which each of us, hosts, work hard to earn! My advise to you is learn how to communicate and learn from Bambi... "if you don,t have anything nice to say, don,t say it at all". I love hosting and will do anything for my guests to feel good here.
September 2017

Tom User Profile
August 2017
Danuta is a great host with a fantastic gem of location where it is very quiet yet only 15 minutes walking distance to the scenic and historic old town of Dundas. I would recommend Danuta's place anytime and definitely go back again myself!

Nancy User Profile
June 2017
Another wonderful stay with Danuta!

Nancy User Profile
March 2017
An excellent place to stay - quiet and only a short drive to Dundas' charming downtown. Danuta is a lovely and most hospitable host.

则谦 User Profile
October 2016
Very good host, helped me with a lot of things. Not only the room is well decorated, the entire house is beautiful, a truly home of artist.

Hamilton, CanadaJoined in June 2013
Danuta User ProfileDanuta is a superhost.

Local artist and a graphic designer. Most of the time I work from home, my hours are flexible.
I am involved in the Hamilton Arts Community and can help you to decide what to see, where to go and how to get there. I live close by the Webster Falls, the largest in the Hamilton area. We have over 125 falls here!

I have maps, and pamphlets about the city and the region. There is no problem for me to pick you up from the (GO) bus station at McMaster University, or drop you off there if needed.
Breakfast: you can make a basic breakfast in your room (upstairs), or you can use my kitchen if you prefer using a stove (when I'm home).
Depending on my "busy-ness", I also can make YOU a breakfast for a small additional charge ($15per person).

Time permitting; we can have a private art class together!!!!
I love to travel as well. This year (2017) I spent 3 weeks in Spain (week on the cruise ship, week in Mallorca and week in Calpe). I just love Spain! in 2016 I visited a beautiful city of Boston! In 2015 I explored Catalonia Region in Spain with a gorgeous and artsy capital, Barcelona and country of Poland. My recent visit to Rocky Mountains (Alberta and BC, Canada) and Vancouver Island almost took my breath away. I love to visit Europe often, because I was born there, and because Europe is full of art and history.

We can't wait to meet and host you here!

Languages: English, Polski
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings