Victorian touch
Victorian heart of Melbourne
Hosted by Sebastian
Sebastian is the host.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1.5 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Access to Everything! Our convenient location nestled among the Parkville-Carlton hospitals, at the door of Melbourne Uni, and steps to Tram 19 make us a hot location! Charming Victorian five bedroom house in a perfect location, withing walking distance to the heart of the city and it's attractions: Victoria Market, Melbourne Uni, Royal Park, Lygon Street. Comfortable, spacious bedrooms - you don't need much more!

The space

It's a newly renovated house, all carpeted, with high ceilings, decorative cornice work, fireplace in each bedroom (not functional though!). The best thing about is an amazing location.

Guest access

The guests will have an access to the living area of the house, as well as a backyard. The room is fitted with a small bar fridge and tea and coffee facilities, and for the longer stays you will have an access to the kitchen and cooking facilities.

Interaction with guests

As much as the guest feels comfortable with. It would be great to have a chat from time to time, I'm happy to share my local knowledge and travel tips. I do not, however, stay at the property at the time, but I am available to answer your question via phone or email.

Other things to note

Natalia speaks English, Polish and Spanish. Sebastian is a native English speaker and speaks French, some Polish, and smatterings of many other languages.

Please note that there this is a private bedroom in a shared house, which means there are other people living at the property (between five and seven). Although there are two separate toilets, the bathroom with a bath and a shower is shared. And since it's a private property, there no locks on the door - we trust each other and our guests:)


Amenities
Heating
Internet
Essentials
Wireless Internet

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is flexible
Check out by 11PM

The house is all carpeted, so I will ask you to take off your shoes, and do not smoke inside, or in the front of the house. I love pets, but unfortunately can't have them either.

We also recycle, so please put all the cardboard, glass and metal packaging in the recycling bin (not plastic bags though).

For the safety and comfort of other guests, if you'd like to invite someone over, please let me know. I usually don't have any issues with occasional visits, as long as you respect the other occupant's right to quiet enjoyment of the premises. Especially any overnight visits must be consulted!


Cancellations

25 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Yanyi User Profile
July 2017
First, I should say that this place is pretty close to the university. If the location is the most important thing for you, you can consider about this place. However, if you don't like to share bathroom with others, it is not your choice since you may need to share one toilet with almost 7 people. If you prefer to have a lock on your door, this room may not be a good choice. It is a good place to meet new people, but if you are a long-term guest, that means that your roommates change frequently.
Sebastian User Profile
Response from Sebastian:
Yanyi had to pay a fee for abandoning a four-and-a-half-month booking without coordinating her intentions with me. There are no more than three bedrooms per toilet and we normally have 1 guest per bedroom (or less with vacancy). Yanyi and another long-term guest both arrived at the beginning of the academic semester, as we finished a room conversion, and as we started up furnishing the house next door, so it was a very busy and stressful time. We do NOT guarantee to our long-term guests that we will never be have short-term guests, but in general we PREFER long term reservations and if a short term guest ever makes you feel uncomfortable you can discuss it with us and we will try to solve the problem as, for example, Natalia has another apartment across the park. We run a shared family-style home but if you want to arrange for me to keep your valuables safe or you want me to purchase or install a privacy lock on your bedroom for a certain period of time, you can discuss this with me prior to your arrival. If something is making you feel uncomfortable, I have been running shared, family-style communal living home(s) for more than 10 years, so please discuss it with me and if I seem very busy, please try to write me or discuss at a more convenient time. I'm committed to maintaining a comfortable long-term atmosphere in the shared home where I also normally live and enjoy the company of our guests.
July 2017

William User Profile
July 2017
Great location and a lovely property. Sebastian was around and eager to help out wherever he could. Would definitely think about staying again if I revisit Melbourne.

Sarah User Profile
June 2017
Great location for me as I was completing some post-grad studies at Melbourne Uni. House was nice and quiet.

Linda User Profile
May 2017
A big thanks to Sebastian and Natalia for being great hosts and making me feel at home. The house is warm and clean. Nice living area to relax on the days your not doing anything. The location is perfect and safe. A walk into the CBD/carlton/fitzroy or tram available at top of street. Area is quiet and conducive to sleep. The house is located beside a quaint coffee shop which sells really good coffee. There is also a 7/11 shop on the corner and parkville hotel if you fancy a drink in the evenings. The house is near a number of lovely parks if you enjoy walking/jogging. Both Sebastian and Natalia were very welcoming and ready to answer any queries you may have. I would recommend this stay to anybody especially people new to melbourne.

Nadia User Profile
May 2017
The room was very nice, cosy and quiet, and the kitchen and bathroom were much cleaner than I had expected. Though I only met Sebastian and Natalia briefly, both were very nice and friendly, and were quick to respond to any questions I had throughout my stay. Would highly recommend this place!

Gregory User Profile
January 2017
Nice, quite area in leafy Parkville, local cafes and tram stop near by. Lygon street only a short walk away. Old terrace house. Very clean and tidy. The room was large with a big desk. WiFi was very handy. Have to climb the stairs to get to the bathroom. Olivia was very friendly and helpful.

Paula User Profile
January 2017
The place is very good! I didn't meet Natalia, but Olivia received me very well and during all stay as well. Communication was excellent throughout my stay. The place is close and easy access to public transportation. I stayed in the house for 1 month during the internship at The Royal Melbourne Hospital which was actually very close. It was well worth it.

This host has 78 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Victoria, AustraliaJoined in June 2013
Sebastian User Profile
Sebastian is an ex-Ph.D. student who teaches finance online and tries to work in startup and Natalia, his foodie Polish all-knowing mother owl, helps him out from time to time:). Between the two of us we are very knowledgeable about finances, food, and Melbourne! We are usually…
Languages: English, Español, Français, Polski
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings