Skip to content
Entrance Bathroom
Private room in house

Comfortable double bed bedroom - self contained

Comfortable double bed bedroom - self contained

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath

Double bed room for renting, walking distance from Curtin Uni,7km from CBD,quiet and peaceful atmosphere all around. Independent from main house,own entrance with toilet, bathroom & laundry/kitchenette area, cooking facilities, similar to a granny flat. It can host up to two people in a double bed preferable for shorter periods of time but negotiable. The common areas are shared with only another room (single person there)


Free parking on premises
Air conditioning

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 double bed

House Rules

No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check-in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

5 Reviews

Check In
Dannielle User Profile
March 2018
Great place to stay! About a 20-25min walk to Curtin University and about the same distance to a shopping centre with a coles, iga, reject shop and some eateries. Comfy room with a lot of storage space so I felt like I could fully unpack and make myself at home in the week that …

Lara User Profile
February 2018
I really enjoyed my stay at Monica's place. Its in a great location to get to Curtain uni and its a very good price. The room is very nice, a desk to work on and a comfy bed. You have access to a bathroom and seperate toilet, washing machine, a single electric cooktop and a fridg…

Jess User Profile
April 2016
I would not stay here again. I had troubles making the booking as the host had double booked the room and was unable to provide me a refund. Once arrived I was given 1 roll of 1 ply toilet paper to last the week, I ended up going and buying my own as halfway through the week an…
Monica User Profile
Response from Monica:
It's a shame we've been provided with this review as we made all the possible efforts to have our guest Jess happy during her stay. It really make us very sad but more than that, really offended with what we consider defamations to our service. For a start there wasn't any double booking since the application doesn't allow that. We explained that while updating our profile it seemed the instant booking was inadvertently activated and we had Jess booking immediately without any check or previous review/pre-approval for our surprise. That concerned me as we only had taken people we could previously check in other profiles or with reviews from Airbnb. It was then explained to Jess that the current tenant had intentions to stay longer and we were unsure since it was only a conversation not confirmed. When we looked to the possibility of a refund the phone recommended to do it through a PC which at that time was not available, so to avoid more hustle for everyone, we decided to take the risk and give Jess the opportunity of staying. We managed to explain the current (at that time) tenant, that the room had been inadvertently booked, he understood and agreed to leave as he had initially planned. That was immediately communicated to Jess that the booking was going ahead so she didn't have to worry and apologies given and accepted for any inconvenience. That's in the history of our Airbnb communications. It's really a surprise she still came with that resentment as in her case I would have requested a refund by all means. The room was vacated one day before Jess' arrival without problem and an intensive cleaning was done as per our normal routine when a new guest is arriving, even more being a weekend as we have more time for that. About the cleaning of the room, it was spotless and the common areas as well when given to Jess. We even fumigated as some tenants take food to the rooms which is outside our control. No ants or insects were spotted and we would never provide a room in those conditions. It was explained and it's in our profile that we work full time during the week so each guest is responsible for cleaning after themselves. We never had a complaint before. A written set of the house rules was provided as outlined in our profile, as well as a roster if staying more than a week for deeper cleaning. This is shared accommodation not a hotel with daily housekeeping service and we never had a problem with either long or short term tenants. As far as we understand is similar than renting a home, you pay for the rent but the landlord is not responsible for cleaning after yourself, nor your food or your toiletries or essentials. Our booking is pretty clear and straight forward, we don't or didn't offer things we don't have. Pictures show what it is and no more. We didn't offer any essentials or toiletries but as a gesture of kindness and courtesy we provide a big towel and toilet paper to our short term tenants. I also put a couple of small towels and another two hand towels for Jess. There were additional toilet papers below the vanity, Jess just could have asked if she didn't see them and we could have point them out to her. As I usually do, I checked with Jess if she was settled or needed anything else e.g. if everything was ok. The responses were always "all good", "no need anything", even John wanted to drive her to the shops when Jess arrived but a self-sufficient answer was given "I have a map I'm ok". I offered food/drinks and all responses were negative. 'Please let me know if you need anything or can help you in anyway'. 'Sure no worries, all good' was a constant answer. So we understood a little or none contact was desired, which seemed ok for the nature of our work and activities, we are independent people and we appreciate the need of independence of some guests, that's why we offer the rooms as independent. And we thought Jess is perfect she doesn't need anything. Little we knew she was planning to say anything to make us look bad. During Jess stay I had a potential long term tenant who wanted to see the room so I've asked for permission to Jess and she agreed. The inspection was quick and, as a short notice I explained our potential tenant it might not be tidy. In fact the room wasn't tidy and food as fruit and lots of snacks were around the room with crumbs on the floor, I also noticed the windows were open so I closed them to reach the security lock (which leaves a small ventilation space open) why? Because they only have the mosquito mash. It was explained not to leave them open and it is in our set of rules for security purposes. Nothing has ever happened to us but it's because we're careful and we want to keep it like that. Obviously Jess didn't pay attention to it but for only a week I didn't want to make her feel uncomfortable or bad so I didn't say anything and just close it and let her mass and food be around. When she left I received the keys and checked the room. One hand towel was missing and in front of her I found an ant walking on the wall and said to her: look there is an explorer from the garden, they are always looking for food and nothing more. She left the room with crumbs and no the same way we gave it to her, again if she would have rented from a landlord she would have had to give it back the same way. All our previous tenants left the linen in the washing machine or already washed or hanging for us. But again it wasn’t a big deal for us. During her departure, she only said thank you and appreciated the hosting, we chatted friendly and no feedback was given other than we would put each other’s review. Which we did to help her out to build reputation. Why wasn’t she more sincere and honest since the beginning? We don’t know. After this I can only say be careful to receive Jess as she is not sincere or honest in her words. For sure we’ve learned a lesson not to trust everyone but I’m sure life will teach Jess her own lesson at her own time no to damage other people freely. We wish Jess well but we’ll pursue a further actions if needed to avoid other people being damaged the same way than us.
April 2016

Emily User Profile
February 2016
I was happy with my accommodations here! I booked this rental based on a review someone left for Monica and her family, and that person was not wrong! Monica and her family were really gracious hosts, and they went out of their way to make sure I had everything I needed/that I wa…

Taka User Profile
October 2015
Monica and her family are great host, so kind, respectful. They provided me with many information about the city and support to live in Perth. The house is ideally located. I could go to the CBD and Fremantle easily by bus and walk to the shopping center. Room was clean, t…

This host has 10 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hosted by Monica

Western Australia, AustraliaJoined in October 2014
Monica User Profile
15 Reviews
We are a family of three living in the main house. Monica: a professional working woman, John: a hard working trader, we are married. Sami is our teenage daughter who goes to uni and lives with us. We like to enjoy life with simple things but we also like to try new things. Mon…
Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Karawara, WA, Australia

This is a quiet neighborhood, friendly neighbors, nice area. Very central for transport and shops. Lovely and peaceful surroundings. One block from Golf course and Parks, ideal for taking a walk or ex…

Getting around

5 min walk to bus stop at the rear of the house. 7 min drive/bike to train station which is one stop to the CBD. You can take a taxi or shared shuttle from Airport to the city and then take the 34 or …

Exact location provided after booking

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings