Chill Out Family Bungalow for 3, Tonsai Beach
Chill Out Family Bungalow for 3, Tonsai Beach

Entire home/apt

3 guests

1 bedroom

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Situated on the idyllic Tonsai Bay, nestled in the jungle, just a 5 minute walk from Tonsai beach you will find our Bungalows. Ideal for backpackers or people looking for a simple life our cosy bungalows will have all you need.

The space

Nestled in the jungle just 5 minutes from Tonsai beach you will find our Thai style, cosy bungalows. The Family bungalow sleeps up to 3 people and is minimally furnished with essential items and includes its own bathroom with refreshing cold water shower.
Inside the bungalow you will have a bed, mosquito net and fan. We have also decked the bungalows with their own terrace so you can sit and relax and watch the world go by.
You can submerse yourself in the tranquillity of the tropical jungle but also have peace of mind that should you need anything our reception area and bar is not far away.
Tonsai and neighbouring Railay is famed for its rock climbing which has become increasingly popular in recent years and it is not hard to see why with the towering limestone cliffs. There are many reputable rock climbing shops on both Tonsai and Railay where you can hire equipment and receive tuition.
If rock climbing isn’t your thing then there are still many things to see and do. Diving and snorkelling are very popular in the area and we are also a gate way to many islands, the closest being only half an hour away. If you prefer to stay closer to home then you can explore neighbouring Railay bay with its hidden beaches and lagoons. If you prefer just to relax, then both beaches offer relief from the outside world.
We are situated 5 minutes from Tonsai beach and approximately 15 minute’s walk from Railay bay. Reaching us is very easy, take a long tail boat from Ao nang beach which is the main tourist centre over to TONSAI Beach.
If you take a long tail boat to Railay bay you can still reach us but it requires about a 15 minute walk which is challenging and not recommended if you have a lot of luggage. But for the more adventurous you may enjoy the scenic views along the way.
Krabi town can be reached from anywhere by plane, ferry or bus and from here you can make your onwards journey to us. Tonsai is not a big area so once you arrive at the pier you can ask many people where we are and they will point you in the right direction.
We are not the only bungalows on Tonsai, so what makes us different from the rest you may ask? Well that’s simple! Love! All the buildings have been handcrafted by my husband an artist. All the art works you see have been done with care and attention and all done to make a warm friendly atmosphere that you will experience during your time with us! We are a small community like a family and we welcome anyone to embrace that with us.

Guest access

We have a restaurant on site, and offer Thai and international cuisine, three food stalls with local dishes, one small mini market, a really lovely coffee bar with handmade coffee and a reggae bar where you can while away your evening listening to our house DJ and Live music. We also have a fire show which we receive very good reviews for.
Please understand that during low season it can be very quiet here but there will always be someone to chat with in our friendly bar area. (June to September).

Other things to note

Please understand that our bungalows are in the Jungle so from time to time you may see an uninvited guest or an insect you haven’t seen before but nothing to worry about. The geckos here are great at pest control and their unusual calls are quite relaxing. Embrace what is around you as it really is a wonder! We also recommend you to bring a good mosquito spray and a small flashlight just in case.
(Tips: The mosquitoes come at sunrise and sunset during this time I’d hang out at the beach or in the huts mosquito net) While we do not supply towels or toilet roll you can obtain these items from reception upon request.

We have now moved from the beachfront to the hill side (5 mins from the beach) to make way for a new resort area which is currently under construction. This does not seem to affect guests much but there may be some additional noise during the day time and also now about 50% of the beach front will be taken up by the construction when it starts. There is still plenty of room to top up your tan or sit and enjoy the amazing sun sets we have here but if you prefer you can just nip across to neighbouring Railay beach.

The space
Accommodates: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 1
Bed: 2
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt


Extra people: No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Like all resorts on Tonsai we produce our own power by means of generator and therefore there is power from 8am until 12 noon and again from 6pm until 6am.



Cancel up to 24 hours before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 24 hours of your trip and the first night is non-refundable.

1 night minimum stay

80 Reviews

Check In
Alex User Profile
June 2017
This is really a tough spot if you are trying to relax. No power, very uncomfortable beds and a lot of bugs crawling around the rooms. Not to mention the sweltering heat, all of which made sleep next to impossible. For about $20 extra dollars you can stay at a far superior spot just around the corner. Certainly the right move if you value humanity.
Lerrin User Profile
Response from Lerrin:
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us. We do send a detailed welcome message to you to explain when the power will be on, which is 6pm - 6am. Also too let you know that our rooms are basic and in the jungle, so yes there will be some jungle bugs around. If they room wasn't to your liking, you could have asked to change rooms. Of course if paying $20 more you will get better accommodation. We have many areas in the bar, you could relax and hang out, rather than choosing to stay in the bungalow if it was hot. Thank you for your review and we wish you a safe journey on your travels.
June 2017

Stellan User Profile
May 2017
Wonderful accommodations. Truly paradise, will be coming back for sure. Lovely locals and a great place to stay away from touristy railay. Awesome bungalo 10/10 two thumbs up
Lerrin User Profile
Response from Lerrin:
Thank you so much for your great review. We are happy you had a great time with us. Welcome back anytime. We wish you safe travels.
May 2017

Amber User Profile
May 2017
Very cool place, clean, staff very friendly and easy to find :) great location, all enjoyed our stay!! Thank you :)
Lerrin User Profile
Response from Lerrin:
I am happy you had a great time with us. Welcome back anytime.
May 2017

David User Profile
May 2017
Staying at Tonsai beach in jungle at Chill out family house was perfect. We really enjoyed time and peace over there. It was off season, so just a few people were there, but I guess it was even better that way. Family restaurant cook very tasty thai food. Everything was better than we expected. Thanks!
Lerrin User Profile
Response from Lerrin:
Thank you for your review. Glad you had a good stay. Welcome back anytime.
May 2017

Natalie User Profile
May 2017
We only ended up staying one night, because we couldn't go without AC. It was way too hot in our bungalow. We didn't get any money back, Which i understand the circumstances, it just sucks. Our bungalow was infested with ants. They were everywhere, and all on our clothes. It was just a bit too much for us, the staff were friendly though.
Lerrin User Profile
Response from Lerrin:
We do not have AC and we do let you know this, in our welcome email. We would have moved you to another room, if there were to many ants. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but glad the staff were friendly.
May 2017

Allyn User Profile
April 2017
I will preface this review with that this unit may be great for a backpacker. If you are backpacking through Asia and would like a place with wifi and a bathroom, this would be great for you. You will probably love it here. This was not what we were looking for or expecting. My friend wanted one beach bungalow experience and we thought this would be the experience. I wanted to leave the first night but since my friend seemed okay, we stayed. However, she woke up around 5AM the next night and wanted to get out of there. Reminder: check out is 9AM if you don't notify and check out the night before. Our unit A6 did not have the exterior concrete below the bathroom. I believe those units may have more sophisticated plumbing. I cannot confirm. Therefore it was just a hole in the floor for the shower. Lots of roaches and ants got into the unit at night and into our stuff. The pictures do not show any issues but the construction was not a sealed fit. So critters could easily get into the unit and elsewhere easily. The mattresses were unbelievably uncomfortable especially on the neck. Honestly sleeping on the concrete or just outside in general would have been more comfortable. To reiterate, this may be the perfect place for you and your visit. It was not a fit for us.

Blackcy User Profile
April 2017
Make sure you check in early or the boats won't drop you Ton Sai beach. Tide is low you have to walk. Not for people with suitcases more for people who are backpacking.
Lerrin User Profile
Response from Lerrin:
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. I will take your comments on board. Welcome back any time. Enjoy the rest of your trip.
April 2017

This host has 744 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Krabi, ThailandJoined in January 2014
Lerrin User Profile

Since seven years I live with my husband in Krabi. We have two small children and have a family business on Tonsai bay, Railay beach. I'm half Thai-German and had traveled everywhere in the world. Now I have a place at home and would like to give you the opportunity to know my beautiful "home"....Krabi!
Sometime I can't be there and meet all the guest because I have to take care of my two kids. I apologize for that. But my husband and our lovely Team will be there and take care of you during your stay. If you have any questions or need advice or "Tips" about Krabi...please write me an email or just call me. I speak Thai, German and English.
Thank you

Languages: Deutsch, English, ภาษาไทย
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings