Wild & wonderful guest house with sauna & river

Entire guesthouse hosted by Natalie

6 guests, 2 bedrooms, 4 beds, 1 bath
Entire home
You’ll have the guesthouse to yourself.
Enhanced Clean
This host committed to Airbnb's 5-step enhanced cleaning process.
Pets allowed
Guests often search for this popular amenity
Experienced host
Natalie has 511 reviews for other places.
Beautiful 2 bedroom self-contained studio with all conveniences in peaceful garden setting. Bush views, river access and you'll hear the creek running past. Idyllic setting on 2 acre lifestyle property with bush, garden and orchard, an amazing swimming hole and even a steam sauna (in shared area, book)!

Conveniently located within 45 min of Wellington, near Harcourt Park, Kaitoke park (Rivendell), Staglands, Tunnel Gully, Karapoti mountain bike tracks, the Remutaka Rail and Hutt River Trail.

The space
Open plan kitchen/dining/lounge area with garden views and 2 bedrooms. Bathroom with shower over bath and separate toilet.

The house is situated on a 2 acre lifestyle property shared with the owners but with a semi-private garden area next to an old swimming pool (meet the gold fish!). There's an outdoor gas-fired bath (currently still in shared garden area), a finish-style steam sauna (in shared area but book your private session) and lots of land to explore. There's a quirky outdoor lounge and pizza oven on the section below and you'll have river access to a semi-private swimming hole with rocks to jump off (access via the neighbor's property on a shared path).
We have other listings on the property (a sleep out and a treehouse) so you may see other guests in the shared areas.

What this place offers

Public or shared beach access
Kitchen
Wi-Fi
Free parking on premises
Shared sauna
Pets allowed
Paid washing machine – In building
Bathtub
Private patio or balcony
Unavailable: Carbon monoxide alarm

Select check-in date

Add your travel dates for exact pricing
Check-in
Add date
Checkout
Add date

1 review

Where you’ll be

Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand

We are located near the Akatarawa Cemetery, about 5 minutes off the SH2 (not too far along Akatarawa Road!). Nearby walking tracks include the Hutt River Trail, Kaitoke Park (Rivendell), Tunnel Gully (with the old railway tunnel to walk through) and Cannon Point walkway past the old Birchville dam.

Upper Hutt Township is only a 8 min drive away with all necessary amenities. Brewtown has recently added a real perk to the area with breweries and distilleries, an ice skating rink, go-karting, bowling and paintball - with more attractions to come.

Kids will enjoy a trip to the newly revamped Maidstone Maxx in Upper Hutt, H2O extreme pool, the playground and paddling pool at Harcourt park or even a trip to Staglands Wildlife park - all very near by!

Cyclists can enjoy the Karapoti mountain bike tracks, nearby Remutaka rail tail or simply an enjoyable cruise along the Hutt River Trail.

Hosted by Natalie

Joined in February 2015
  • 512 Reviews
  • Identity verified
Feedback from our WWOOFing site: Tuesday 13th of January 2015 From Jessica "A home away from home" The Rabbit Hole is a magical place. My one piece of advice to you: don't hesitate to stay here, it's exactly where you want to be. Natalie, Sean, Finlay, and Falk are fun loving, down to earth, open minded people who treat WWOOFers with respect and instantly make them feel like part of the family. I stayed here for two weeks and truly didn't want my stay to come to an end. The work was extremely manageable and tasks were varied, meaning that it never got boring. After work there was always something to do, whether it be taking a swim in the river, hopping a train to Wellington, admiring Sean's musical talents, playing a game with the boys, or getting caught up in conversation with Natalie. Without a doubt, if you want to learn about connecting and enriching the earth, ourselves, and others, the Rabbit Hole is the place to be. Sunday 7th of December 2014 From Julia I stayed with Natalie, Sean, Falk and Finlay for 1,5 week, and I had a great time. They try to pair you up with work you're good at, and I also had the opportunity to help setting up the re-tree festival! I loved meeting the other wwoofers and playing games in the afternoons, it was never quiet there and I felt right at home. All in all, they are all very generous people and it's a wonderful place to stay at! Tuesday 14th of October 2014 From Matthew "Friendly, learning new skills and good music and food." I was only at The Rabbit Hole for a week but WOW! Time flies when you are having fun. This was my first Wwoof and Natalie & co made me feel more than welcome - their home and land is beautiful and I learnt a lot. The family strive for a better life style, self sustinability and permaculture their guiding star in how to acheive this and I can say that it definitely pays off. I felt healthier, livlier and better for my time there, I learnt some valuable skills and such that I will most definitely be taking home with me. Great music, people and an all round fantastic experience that has left me wanting more :) ednesday 30th of October 2013 From Hannes I miss this place.. I don't know why i went away, it was like home. It's quite a turbulent family. of course, but i loved it so much. Going busking, going painting or sitting in the peaceful garden was like taking a deep breath again after being in the big city. I learned to make bread to plant veges.. but why I' am sad? I'll come back :) Add a responseto this feedback Wednesday 17th of August 2011 From Expired member "Lovely Little Familyfarm" What a wonderful family! Natalie, Daryl, Finlay and Falk thank you for the great time in your house. We stayed just a week, but we have learned a lot and had so much fun. In this short time we felt part of the family. Thank you! Freuen uns auf ein Treffen an der Elbe. :-) Wednesday 20th of July 2011 From Expired member We have great time working and having fun in Rabbit hole! We experienced a lot of firsts: such as making compost, cleaning chickenhouse. Petr loved realizing his abilities in building and constructing things. Electric bikes are just great and Fin and Finley tiredless in playing. We know Peter Pan quite good now :) Thank you for being our first wwoof host and good luck with all your future projects. Monday 25th of April 2011 From Expired member "Rush to the Rabbit Hole : its GREAT !!!" Even if its overdue, its never too late to say how much we enjoyed wwoofing at the Rabbit Hole with Natalie, Daryl, Finlay and Falk ! Its such a great place with great people and our two weeks there went by without us noticing, full of nice moments, a great atmosphere and experiences (eg. riding the elctric bikes !!!). We really enjoyed our time there, and we miss you and your place so much, guys... We hope to see you around !!! Sunday 2nd of January 2011 From Expired member it was awsome. I really liked the boys, looking after falk was so much fun. Thanks for the nice food, the agriculture festival and the nice jobs in the garden. You are a great family and I hope you can move on with your kind of lifestyle: more fun and less work:-) sounds great to me. thanks, franziska Tuesday 7th of December 2010 From Expired member "Fantastic!" Natalie, Daryl, Finlay and Falk are a wonderfully fun family. Their generosity made me feel like one of the family. They have made amazing progress on their place in a short time and have lots of interesting projects on the go. Natalie has a great get on and do it attitude. For instance; 2 seconds after watching a programme about composting she was out rejuvenating the old worm bin. Finlay and Falk were at times hilariously entertaining and never tire of Lego-building! The beautiful surrounding area has many hikes and amazing swimming spots which they have maps and information on and bikes you can borrow too. Daryl's electric bikes are another interesting project they have on the go and if you're lucky you might get to try one out. Add a responseto this feedback Tuesday 29th of June 2010 From Expired member "Post-oil-apocaliptic family fun!" We stayed with Nat, Daryl, Falk and Finlay for 2 weeks and had a great time. We were made to feel at home instantly. There are lots of exciting plans in the pipeline for their property. Getting to ride and work on electric bikes was a highlight... I might be back for a car conversion ;) Thanks a million! Add a responseto this feedback
Feedback from our WWOOFing site: Tuesday 13th of January 2015 From Jessica "A home away from home" The Rabbit Hole is a magical place. My one piece of advice to you: don't hesitate…
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within an hour
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Things to know

House rules

Check-in: After 3:00 pm
Checkout: 10:00 am
No smoking
No parties or events
Pets are allowed

Health & safety

Committed to Airbnb's enhanced cleaning process. Show more
Airbnb's social-distancing and other COVID-19-related guidelines apply
No carbon monoxide alarm
Nearby lake, river, other body of water
Heights without rails or protection

Cancellation policy