single bed in the open space
Basement room: cozy, quiet, dark!
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Eclectic bungalow with 1 artist and 2 teenagers. Large room with storage, mini fridge, double bed, private bathroom. Fits 2 adults and 2 children. Bicycles available. Easy transit to downtown or Whyte Ave/University. Near King's College and Capilano Mall

The space

This is not a business hotel! We are into art, music, dance, and cooking.

You will have most of the basement to yourself, with a private shower/restroom, closed room, and sitting room. We are generally quiet around the house.

I am a choreographer and Artistic Director of a contemporary dance company in town.

Luka (17) and Echo (15) are quite busy with school and their own activities.

We have plenty of books as well as VHS and board games around that you may use.

Guest access

Guests have access to most of the basement- a closed room, plus a sitting area, and private washroom.
Mainly use the back door, bottom keyhole. If we are not around when you arrive or leave, there will be an arranged key drop off.
We do have bicycles and locks for you to use.

Interaction with guests

We live upstairs, so come up and hang out if you want to interact. I can be very busy sometimes, and can be reached urgently through text. Downstairs will be relatively private. I speak a bit of French and Luka speaks Japanese.
Most guests are quite independent.

Other things to note

Please communicate any of your needs (including any dietary issues) so that we may help you have a nice stay! We can be quite busy at times and may not be able to hang out much. Please let us know if you want information about local arts, bands, theatre events going on.


Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 single bed, 1 sofa bed

Amenities
Kitchen
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

The room is downstairs via the back door, and can accommodate 2 people in a double bed, plus I can place a single bed beside that OR place the single bed in the common room downstairs. (You will essentially have most of the downstairs including private washroom/shower). Please let me know your setup in advance so I can prepare the space for you.
You can smoke in the garage. Ask in advance about that.
Laundry available. I will need to show you how to use it.
You can store food in the mini fridge, but please use the kitchen for food prep and eating and please clean up after yourself!
Do not leave any food behind when you leave unless you have already discussed it, and please use the appropriate compost, garbage and recycling containers upstairs.
Please leave the room as you found it~ thank you!


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

28 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rony User Profile
July 2017
Gerry was very nice to us.such a good host. Everything was so perfect.clean and good interiors.close to all amenities and facilities.great place to stay.will definitely choose this place again.

Ross User Profile
June 2017
Nice, quiet neighborhood. Host is easy-going and friendly.

Jared User Profile
May 2017
Perfect place for me. Quiet and cozy. Nice neighbourhood.

Allanah User Profile
April 2017
My friend and I stayed at Gerry's place while in Edmonton for some weekend workshops. We found it to be well situated to the workshop venues, and an easy 15 min drive to downtown. We found there were limited options for food nearby. Gerry is a kind and welcoming host. She and her family were very friendly, I had a nice chat with her daughter while I was there. The listing isn't exactly as described - the single bed in the main living area option was actually a double(?) futon; perhaps this changed since the listing first went up? It wasn't a big deal for us, just something to note. This rental is a good choice if you are primarily concerned about your budget. The mattress in the bedroom is squeaky and sags in spots, there were stains on some of the towels and bed linens, and the bedroom rugs were in need of a deep clean or replacement. The bathroom was okay, but we found some hair in the shower, as well as a used razor and toothbrush (presumably left behind by previous occupants). The cooking facilities posed a problem for us. Both my friend and I have dietary restrictions and so prepare much of our food at home. I brought a lot of my own pre-prepped food with me, which did not all fit in the mini-fridge (it's quite mini). The shared kitchen was very cluttered and did not have much space for food prep, and what surfaces were available were covered in crumbs and other kitchen dirt. It was difficult to access the sink as there were many dishes piled in the two basins. We made it work, but kitchen space is a deal breaker for us. Like I said, if you are looking for a place to stay that's easy on the wallet and are not overly concerned about these items, then this is a great place for you. Unfortunately it just wasn't the right match for us.
Gerry User Profile
Response from Gerry:
While I don't boast a Home Sense space, I do my best to accommodate people's needs if I know what they are. I am sorry this guest's first Air bnb experience was not more like a hotel, as she expected, but I appreciate the feedback.
April 2017

Jared User Profile
March 2017
Quiet and cozy! Thank you!

Maggie User Profile
March 2017
I've stayed at Gerry's place twice now and find it super accommodating! She knows all the best places to visit in Edmonton and makes sure your trip is easy and enjoyable from start to finish, she even picked me up from the airport. Thanks again for everything!

Maggie User Profile
October 2016
Gerry was an excellent host!! She made me feel very welcome in her cozy home, offering to pick me up from the airport and drop me off. The room was warm, clean and inviting. Gerry made sure I was comfortable and had everything I needed. Good location in Edmonton, easy to get around the city from here, would definitely stay here again!

Edmonton, CanadaJoined in October 2013
Gerry User Profile

I am working in the arts as a dance company Artistic Director, and am very interested in meeting other artists and travellers from around the world. I have toured and lived in Vancouver, Montreal, NYC, Belgium, Poland, Estonia, Kiev, Tokyo, and Turkey.

I love food but sadly I am a celiac, so gluten free people are easily accommodated with us.

I am fairly hands-off as a host, since at times I get extremely busy with shows, so you can come and go as you please and make yourself at home.

I have 2 teenagers. They both like to meet new people and are very friendly. We speak a bit of Japanese (Luka is fluent) and I speak intermediate French.

Please ask if you have any questions about anything! I can get you all sorts of arts info for Edmonton if you are into that sort of thing.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings