Trip to lighthouse
Hosted by Claudio
Claudio is the host.
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
3 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

The house is situated in front of the famous cliffs of Caldera. Built on a plot surrounded by vineyards and sea views. It is located on the road to Akrotiri in the middle of a quiet atmosphere and a landscape with unique sunsets.

The space

The accommodation is immersed in the typical landscape of the volcanic island of Santorini out from the crowd and from the tourist bustle but not far from the town of Akrotiri or to Megalochori, between sea, vineyards and cliffs.Nel radius of 300 m. They are two of the most exclusive resorts of Santorini. Not to mention the spectacular sunsets and the dawn sun kissing your windows every day.
The furniture is mostly the work of art of the owner that the inspiration of the island exposed to the walls and the room decorated with paintings and ethnic objects that recall the sound of the sea and wind.
The tranquility is what will greet you every day of your stay!

Guest access

Guests have access to the courtyard of the house and the porch located in front of the room and of course to the parking lot.

Interaction with guests

Hospitality is a pleasure in our house and I certainly will not miss the warm welcome typical of the Greek islands!
We will be available to answer any curiosity on the island and can give advice on the best places to visit according to your needs and do not know who enjoy Greek cuisine.
Finally we are open to dialogue and for any problem or difficulty that you find in the house you are invited to riferircelo and we will help you solve it the best.

Other things to note

To whom it may concern a window on history, not far from home (about 3 km) is the archaeological site of Akrotiri (city buried by the eruption of the volcano 3-4 thousand years ago) that tradition identifies as a possible site of the legendary "Atlantis".Of Course you can also get to see the beautiful and special "red beaches" located near the site archeologico.Oppure simply crossing the street in front of the house there is the spectacular view of the "caldera" with the volcano and the islands that form the contour.

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Cleaning Fee $34 NZD
Security Deposit $423 NZD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed, 1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 3PM
Check out by 11AM

Il check out alle 11 a.m.
Breakfast viene offerto dalle 8,30 alle 10,30

Nella stanza non si può fumare.
Ovviamente ci auguriamo che gli ospiti si comportino in maniera civile e corretta con noi e gli oggetti della casa. Sperando semplicemente in un rispetto reciproco! grazie

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house


Safety features
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

2 nights minimum stay

68 Reviews

Check In
Shirley User Profile
April 2017
Claudius treated us very well and we enjoyed our time there.

Jenny User Profile
September 2017
Communication was great until we were actually in Santorini. Irene, Claudio's daughter, hosted us and arranged their partner transportation from the port. The driver claimed to have waited for us for an hour, while we did not see him. We wasted 1.5 hrs waiting for him thinking he might be running late while having to decline other cab drivers' offers 100 times. There are so many cabs, and honestly I'd strongly recommend renting a car since it's hard to get around the island without one. Called the listed phone number numerous times only to land straight to voicemail. No response on Airbnb messaging either for the entire 1.5 hrs. The room we checked in had mothball smell and had used bath towels still hanging on the door of the bathroom. No shampoo, soap or body wash, toilet paper at all. Ran to the supermarket twice to buy these basic things anyone would expect to have. Before she left for work, she informed us to message her for whatever we need while she works till midnight -- thinking if we need basic things like this, she would get her family or friends to deliver them to us. No response until close to midnight and got told that she already told us that she's working till midnight. Never explained or apologized for lack of toiletries, so I guess we were expected to bring them with us. The breakfast everyone's been raving about is cold bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and coffee. Not omelet or warm pastries you see in bed and breakfast places in the US. The location was good -- away from super crowded fira or oia. We've stayed at many Airbnbs, and this one was definitely below expectations.
Claudio User Profile
Response from Claudio:
Dear Jenny, It is just FALSE. I have been working in 5 star hotels for 4 years and it's three years that I'm taking care of this Airbnb together with my parents. We have never been accused to give dirty towels or missing toiletries. So I have a simple question: why should I have started to give a bad service only with you? You have paid a miserable price for a nice room in Santorini and still you are complaining for the breakfast. Have a look to the price around the island please! Probably it was cold because I prepared the breakfast at 8:30, as you requested and you were waking up every morning half hour later... You should apologize, first to my partner transfer who's been waiting for you at the bar I have told you to meet (he has never missed a guest in the port neither airport). Normally in a 5 star hotel you should have pay for it anyway, but I haven't asked for money neither apologize. You could ask me anything but I TOLD YOU, I'm working and I cannot be with my mobile phone all time. I'm working as professional receptionist in a five star hotel and that it is not allowed.
September 2017

Suneet User Profile
September 2017
Of all of the many places available to stay in Santorini, we were delighted to stay here! It’s a small island so even though Akrotini is not the center, everything is within easy driving distance. Claudio’s house is a beautiful red building that is located just a few minutes away from stunning views of the caldera where you can watch the sunset (often without any other people around). The apartment we stayed in adjoined onto his house and it was cozy, clean, colorful and comfortable. It was beautifully furnished in an exotic style which provided a romantic ambience. Of particular note were the many pieces of striking artwork crafted by Claudio. The space was ample for two people. Claudio and his daughter were wonderful hosts – very responsive and helpful, including arranging airport taxi transfers and a quad rental for us. And the delicious, hearty breakfast provided each morning was a delight. We hope to visit again and stay here!

Véronique User Profile
August 2017
I have to say I am utterly disappointed. Claudio treated us like castaways the moment we arrived because he was angry we were an hour and a half late for check in. He felt the communication should have been stronger and that is fair, except for the fact that we were in an unfamiliar country trying to take public transit without data service because like most backpackers, we are on a budget. If you get lost there is no way to communicate without paying a lot of money for cell phone data, which is what happened to us. He wanted to know when we would arrive weeks before the scheduled trip date, and although we could estimate, it is not really known until you get here and figure it all out yourself. He felt we should have communicated better even far before the trip and I understand that but access to data where I am from is also very limited for personal reasons; I spend my entire days taking care of my sick father with cancer treatments, cooking meals, etc. This trip for us was different than most people and had special circumstances which would have been explained but we apologized several times and he refused to even hear an explanation. He practically threw everything at us when we got in the house and his big exotic, "homey" breakfast everyone raves about was a hard boiled egg and some bread. He did not eat with us and would not even let us set foot in the house. He did NOT treat us like family as everyone else says, he did not offer any information, help or guidance for our stay either as he did in all the other reviews. One mistake or misunderstanding and we were loathed. So I do NOT recommend this host to anyone who may be like me and may make mistakes in your travels, but to those who don't or can afford to taxi everywhere and have unlimited data m, then I'm sure from the many good reviews that you will have the pleasant experience we unfortunately never got to have.
Claudio User Profile
Response from Claudio:
Dear Veronique, My name is Irene and I am the daughter of Claudio. I am writing this message in order to be clear and be sure to do not have misunderstanding by the language, as my father doesn't know it good. I have been working in five star hotels since four years ago. I know what means hospitality and I can recognize the quality of a good hospitality. However our airbnb it is not a five star hotel and that means that several comforts cannot be provided from us. One of those it is a 24h opened reception. We always ask to our guest to inform us about the number flight or vassel name in order to check it online and get an idea of the time of our guest's arrival (especially when they are coming bythemselves). That it is helping us to organize all at its best; especcially for cleaning, preparing the room and eventually organizing the transfer, or even running out with car to find the guest lost somewhere on the island. So everything it has been thought in order to provide our guest an enjoyable stay. In your case we have never recieved any news about you arrival. I know that Santorini looks a bit old style compare to other countries but I promise you that nowadays you can get free wifi everywhere on the island. As you could probably understand my father doesn't know a proper English but he tries his best to make himself understand, and I'm sure you didn't get his behaving ( italian and greek people gesticulate a lot ). Regarding the breakfast it is simply not true. I won't spend a word on this topic. You can simply check any review from all our past guests: they all enjoyed our "Fat, Big Greek/Italian Breakfast". About eating with you: 1- you are clever enough to know that in order to get the breakfast ready my father has to wake up earlier than you and probably get a coffee two hours earlier. Even though I don't think he would like to have double breakfast everymorning. 2- I am sure also that he prefers having brekfast together with my mother than any other guest in this world. 3- you have paid for your breakfast and for this reason my father would have never eat your breakfast. Finally, regarding the fact that he hasn't let you stay in our apartment on your first morning. I think it is normal to wish a bit of intimacy in your home. If we would have let all our guest enter in our home as if it was their, probably we had to buy a new house to have back our intimacy. I personally don't like to have any of our guest entering inside my house any time they like. Any of us could have a shower, wearing only underwear or even sleep...which I was, when you came. I work every day from 2pm to 2am and I'm sure that my father thought it was better to let me rest (it was 9am). All my best wishes, Irene, Claudio&Daniela
August 2017

Catharine User Profile
August 2017
Claudio helped us find Almyra Beach, dropping us down there in his car. It was nice having breakfast put out for us in the morning. Claudio is lovely, speaking limited English but we got by. The house is on a road which gets noisy and ideally you would need a car or quad/motor bike to get around.

Ben User Profile
July 2017
Claudio's place is the quintessential "real" Santorini experience! Beautiful country home in a more rural part of Santorini, but close to a central bus stop which can take you all around the island. Claudio and his family (including three very funny dogs) are extraordinary friendly, going out of their way to prepare breakfast and arrange a very late night / early morning airport transfer
Claudio User Profile
Response from Claudio:
Thank you very much for everything you wrote about us
July 2017

Joanna User Profile
July 2017
Claudio's place lived up to all the positive reviews! I was a little nervous booking this airbnb because it seemed so far away from Fira and Oia, but it is TOTALLY worth it. The room is beautiful and spacious and perfect for our group of three girls. Yes, akrotiri is a little out of the way, but the buses do come relatively frequently and you are also close to beaches. The breakfast that Claudio makes is AMAZING, I still dream about it. Also very convenient to do laundry. Thanks again!

GreeceJoined in October 2013
Claudio User Profile

Salve a tutti! Il mio nome è Claudio e sono italiano. Sono ex operaio in pensione. Ho lavorato anni nel campo aeronautico e nella componentistica per aerei.
In seguito alla mia pensione ho deciso di venire a vivere a Santorini e di trascorrere gran parte dell'anno in questa casa.
Le mie passioni sono la musica Jazz, l'archeologia, e la cucina greca e italiana. Come hobbie mi dedico soprattutto al disegno e alla pittura a tempera oltre che alla cucina.
Dopo aver trascorso ormai piu' di 20anni su quest'isola posso dire di essere una guida provetta e di poter dare i migliori consigli sui luoghi da visitare e in cui mangiare. Mi piace indicare luoghi e paesaggi dell'isola molte volte sconosciuti a gran parte del turismo

Hello everybody, my name is Claudio and I am Italian. I am retired after I worked years in the aeronautical sector and in aircraft manufacture. When I finished my work I have decided to come and live in santorini.
I love listening to jazz music, cooking Greek and Italian kitchen and studying archaeology. My hobbies are drawing and tempera painting.
After spending 20years on this island I can say that I'm a quite excellent guide. I can advice and tell you all the best spots and places with an amazing view, and for eating which are normally unknown to most of tourists.

Languages: English, Español, Français, Italiano, Ελληνικά
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings