The property is surrounded by fields and trails. The trail on the right makes a nice 'hidden walk' towards the beach and the villageThe house seen from the backyard (photo taken in July)
Country house on the island of Ærø
Country house on the island of Ærø
16 guests
3 bedrooms
16 beds
1 bath
16 guests
3 bedrooms
16 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
16 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

154 square metre house in two floors ideal for one or more families, couples going on a getaway, or couples getting married bringing friends and family. For large groups, one or two modern caravans with floor heat can be set up in the back yard and serve as extra bedrooms. While being an old house with a lot of charm to it, it offers the comfort of floor heat and modern appliances and facilities. The house has been upgraded with a new kitchen, bathroom, and new staircase for the 2017 season.

Business travel
   This listing has essential business travel amenities. 

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
1 queen bed
Common spaces
2 floor mattresses


Extra people $45 NZD / night after 6 guests
Cleaning Fee $420 NZD
Security Deposit $1135 NZD
Weekly Discount: 25%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules

Please feel at home and treat it like your home. Everything in the house and on the property is for you to use. No pets in the house. No smoking in the house.



Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

1 night minimum stay

46 Reviews

Check In
Solenne User Profile
September 2017
The house was really nice with everything that we needed. Negative pointS: Thomas wasn't here when we arrived and when we left. We arrived, the house wasn't ready, the bed wasn't done we had to take care of it and look for linens, btw even for double bed they only have single linen. He left a closes in the wash machine and some closes outside that we had to take care of. We had to do an other wash machine to have clean towels. Before arriving he asked me if we want to use the caravan and then asked me for 1500dkk more which is not written on his page and it is not honest, as in the page he clearly put picture of it and say that it is included and you pay extra from 8 people for each night. He finally gave it for "free" but there were no electricity and water. Our friend preferred to sleep in the living room because it was too cold during the night. After the stay, he contacted me saying that we damaged the house talking about some cuts on the kitchen corner, that we obviously haven't done, my parents are professional cooker and had a hotel and know how to take care of a house. He complained about the fact that he had to clean the house and that he found one fork under a couch ! We paid more then 100 euro for cleaning services and he want us to do the cleaning before and after ? (As the bed wasn't ready and we had to do wash machine). We even put a wash machine before going. Conclusion: really nice house but the host has to re read the Airbnb conditions : don't ask extra money for a services that it is already included on your page! Don't put cleaning fees is you don't want to clean or don't rent the house simply.
Thomas User ProfileThomas is a superhost.
Response from Thomas:
Solenne and her group used my house for accomodation and celebrating her wedding. Communication before her stay was polite and very specific. She asked for my help to organise her wedding. I did that and replied promptly. However, she did not answer my questions leaving me with little idea about their expectations. She was very specific in demanding access to extra facilities (a lux caravan) free of charge even though at the time it specifically said in the description to enquire for more information about access to the caravans. Unfortunately, due to private reasons, I was unable to meet Solenne upon their arrival which I explained in advance and she accepted. Since I had been very helpful in organising their wedding, I thought I could ask a small favour from Solenne: To take a load of laundry from the washer to the dryer and bring a duvee into the house after being dried outside in the sun. In total it would take 2-3 minutes. In ideal circumstances, I would of course do all of that. But I had apologized in advance and explained and Solenne had accepted and said she understood. To me AirBnB travel is about being flexible, tolerant and forthcoming. I've been trying that and run into the problem that Solenne does not share that attitude and concept. That is all fine, except I didn't know and was taken by surprise over her complaints afterwards. They would have had plenty of sheets, covers and towels in the correct sizes and everything had they not been using more than one set per person. Clear instructions on where to find everything were given. The caravan is a top end, lux caravan with insulation suited for use year round. I made it available for them on very short notice. Personally, I would have been just fine with the temperature. I can only regret that Solenne's guests found that it was too cold. They did have an entire house with extra mattresses and beds to go into. The caravan had power from solar panels. The guests were not given access to the toilet and shower in the caravan because they didn't want to pay anything for any extra service. They left the house with a window open allowing rain to get into the house, with many dirty sheet and duvee covers (more than one set per person) and many dirty table cloths and other large pieces of fabric (all mine which they found in the house and left very dirty or some in the washing machine). They left cigaret buds on the ground in the garden. It took me an entire day to bring the house back to standard. This was all ok with me had she not started complaining to me after their departure when I asked if she knew anything about what had happened to the wooden kitchen countertop (the kitchen is less than 6 months old) which I found with several Deep cut marks from a Sharp knife. Instead she started complaining about the extra facilities (which she had access to free of charge), the fact that I was not present upon their arrival (which she had accepted in advance) and many other issues some of which I could have done something about had I known in advance/during their stay. Other complaints/expectations would only have been possible to meet had she communicated her expectations and agreed to paying for extra service/facilities. She also has been telling me before and after their stay how to be an AirBnB host and what the AirBnB concept is about. She wants very high level of service and will go to great length justifying why you as a host cannot charge for extra services and extra facilities no matter how well justified the extra charge is. I am sure that Solenne is a nice and sweet person as long as she gets what she wants. So if you can provide high level of service and she is happy with the Price, I am sure you will have a nice experience hosting Solenne. If you are not sure, I recommend checking with Solenne about her expectations and making it very clear beforehand to avoid misunderstandings and conflicts. No matter what I did, it was never good enough. Had I known in advance, I would not have accepted her reservation because I could not meet her expectations. The effort that has gone into it and the lack of appreciation doesn't make it worthwhile. Solenne and I were not a good AirBnB match. I am sure that many others will feel a good match with Solenne, so my best wishes for happy AirBnB travels.
September 2017

轲予 User Profile
August 2017
Thomas is very sweet and thoughtful, arranged for everything。The place is very beautiful and clean, is big。If you come to Denmark must not miss here,it will be a great experience to live here.

Michael User Profile
August 2017
We (couple from Germany with three children) had 10 perfect days in Thomas's house and can definitely recommend it. You'll find everything you need for a relaxed stay. The kids enjoyed playing with all the toys inside and in the big garden. For us cooking was very convenient in the new kitchen with an induction cooker. There's also a washing machine, dishwasher, dryer (all better than ours at home), fast Wi-Fi, a new bath, two fireplaces, ... But what's most important: a lot of space for all of us!

Juliane User Profile
August 2017
Thomas' place is perfectly located just outside of a nice and quiet village in the western part of Ærø. There is a bus station and a public playground close by. The house is large and has three bedrooms on the ground floor and a huge living room and children's play area on the first floor. It's very cosy and homely and there was nothing we missed during our stay. The kids just loved the garden, toys, and books and they could entertain themselves for a long time. It is definitely one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in. The communication with Thomas was spot on. He always replied immediately when we had a question about where things were or if we could invite friends over to stay with us for a weekend. We can definitely recommend this place for families but also for small groups. Just loved it!

Rhissa Zakary User Profile
July 2017
Great island great place and great host

Daniel User Profile
July 2017
Thomas's house is absolutely beautiful. It is in such a peaceful location with stunning surroundings and lots of space inside and out to enjoy time alone or with a group of friends or family. Thomas is a very accommodating and communicative host and made the place feel like it was our own. If you're taking a trip to Aero Island and need accommodation, I highly recommend booking with Thomas.

Nicole User Profile
June 2017
Beautiful and clean house well located on a wonderful island! Thomas is always available to help us. Thank you !

Copenhagen, DenmarkJoined in November 2013
Thomas User ProfileThomas is a superhost.

I like to travel, meet new people and learn about different cultures.

Languages: Dansk, English, Norsk, Svenska
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Similar listings