Joey immediately complained about problems with the internet connection. I tested the modem after check out and actually the connection was not stable. I tried the modem in my home and the connection was stable so the problem is not to be sued to the modem but evidently to the provider in the area where Joey has stayed. For this reason, I still made a refund of € 15 although Joey had consumed about 3GB in three days (?!). Later I did not hear from Joey again. He also complained about the dripping of water from the air conditioning machine and I explained to him that in Rome during this very hot and humid period this thing can occur especially the air conditioning units without outdoor unit that are installed in the historic buildings. I told him how to fix the problem by opening a valve to let the condensing water flow away in a bucket..I have not received any response from Joey. When I entered the apartment I found an unpolished note in which Joey urged me to wash the sheets for the presence of insects in the bed. I was contacted by the airbnb staff because Joey had not stayed the last night in my apartment but elsewhere and I was asked for a further refund of 50 €. I was really sorry for this inconvenience and I reassured Joey that something like this had never happened in two years and that the sheets are always washed and disinfected by a professional laundry, but I never had any more answers from Joey, even after the refund.
I searched the internet and I read that the bed bugs are not widespread in Italy and today on an airbnb forum I read about similar cases, often linked to guests from the city of New York, where the problem of bed bugs is very widespread. I do not know what to think but for sure it was an absolutely unpleasant experience for both.