Response from Barbara:
On the day of Courtney's arrival, I asked her about her arrival time as I hired a concierge service to greet my guests, give them a key, instruct them where the TV is located and how to turn it on, to use only the towels provided tied with the pink ribbon (which is 4 bath, 2 hand and 2 wash towels...they used my decorative towels in additional to the ones provided), etc. I feel it is a nicety if I am unable to be here to greet them. She informed me that her husband would arrive first and of course that was fine. But he was an hour late without calling me so my service waited as long as she could and left. She did come back and he had let himself in which is also fine and at that time showed him around Etc. I assumed all went well because I did not hear from Courtney after they checked in. She also told my neighbor what a nice house this was but felt it was too pricey. I do provide paper products, towels, beach chairs, umbrella, 2 grills, 2 bikes, all kinds of games etc for my guests to use. (Additional paper towels and toilet paper were on a shelf in a downstair bedroom so there would be ample space in the kitchen pantry for my guests food). All went well until Courtney asked my service (not me which she had been communicating with) if she could stay an extra 30 minutes when I agreed to with my service when my service asked me. I also had previously asked Courtney to leave the key on the kitchen counter when she left because I would be there at 12:00 to clean. Courtney knew I was coming at noon but when I arrived, the house was a mess...They did not have their things packed ready to go but strode out everywhere and a total wreck. I called her to ask her to come back and please check out. They were in a neighboring town swimming because they were wet when they arrived. I did offer twice to both she and her husband to get cleaned up before they left, she refused. I hardly call that being nasty. I merely ask them to pack up and checkout! For all I knew they were going back to their friends to continue swimming. After I finished cleaning the 4 bedrooms and washing every towel in my house, I realized that I was missing a queen fitted sheet. I asked Courtney if their attempt to hurriedly pack did they accidentally scoop up the sheet. In her response, she was flippant and defensive and said That was ridiculous why would they take a sheet. I replied that I have looked high and low, inside and out and can not find it. No reply from Courtney. I then asked her for $30 to replace the sheet. No reply from Courtney. So I asked Airbnb to get involved. If you read all of my other reviews and I have hosted many, many times, no one has even complained about my homes or my demeanor. But, I also have never had a guest who showed such disrespect of my homes. I think that Courtney had sour grapes over the checkout time and became defensive because she ignored what I had asked her to do. As far as the two page house rules, it is a compilation of tips of how to turn on the outside fountain, outside cafe lights, grill location, no wet bathing suits on furniture, use sheets and bath towels provided, do not rearrange furniture, do not use personal items in dressers or my food or alcohol etc...basic common sense respectfulness in using a person's home (not a hotel room). The washer and dryer can be used to wash the sheets or towels but not your personal clothes...Perhaps Courtney was uncomfortable in my home because she is not used to living around nice things and keeping them nice! I only ask that people show my home with the same respect that they would want others to treat their things. It is really quite simple and most people instinctively know to show respect in another person'a home. I have never had a problem before and hope that I will not have to experience such hostility again because it as a very upsetting experience.