ExteriorUnderneath sitting area
"The Jordan", Low Country Cottage

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Charming Low Country Cottage by the Sea that inspires comfort, coastal elegance and relaxation. This is a bedroom with a private bath, queen size bed with luxury sheets! This is a perfect get-a-way for a couple's retreat!

The space

Coastal living at its finest on one of NC finest family barrier islands

Guest access

The low Country Cottage and grounds to include the two porches with Rocking Chairs and several Outdoor Dining spaces inclusive of a bar area, hammocks and swings.

Interaction with guests

As little or as much as my guests would prefer!

Other things to note

A memorable experience is sure to await you at The Low Country Cottage!

The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Private bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 3PM
Check Out: 10AM
Pet Owner: Dog(s)
Room type: Private room


Cleaning Fee $70 NZD
Security Deposit $211 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM

I am sure that my guests will be respectful and considerate and that they will enjoy the experience! Please No Smoking! Pet Friendly for an extra $50.00 per night! (Electric fence and user's collar for pet; go to extra guest to include a pet)


Safety features
Smoke detector

2 nights minimum stay

12 Reviews

Check In
Karen User Profile
August 2016
This home was immaculate, welcoming and smelled DELICIOUS! The location was suburb!! Prettiest home on the street!! Barbara had everything you would need. She keeps a spit spot home and I hope we lived up to her expectations as well!! Thank you again!! Karen Symond

Kathryn User Profile
August 2016
The house was exactly as shown in the pictures. We were 5 adults and 2 kids and there was enough space. The downstairs area was very nice and breezy....didn't feel like we were missing out by not being ocean front. Arrival couldn't have been easier- even though I got caught up at work and another member of our group arrived before me to check in and Barbara had no concerns. Barbara was super responsive to all our questions before and during our stay. She let us shower in the outside shower post check-out which allowed us a few more hours at the beach- thank you! A nice change from a realty rental....didn't have to bring sheets/bath towels. Distance to the beach was super easy- even with a 6 and 8 year old in tow. While we were really nervous about doing something wrong given the long list of rules, Barbara seems very reasonable. We tided up before we left and she was happy!

Keara User Profile
July 2016
What a treat! Barbara's home is truly a little piece of pink heaven tucked away in OIB. Not only is it a great house, but Barbara is a delightful hostess. We will definitely be back!

Courtney User Profile
June 2016
This was not a good experience. Our flight was late and the trip,started with the hostess blaming us for costing her money with her appointed agent at check in. We arrived to a two page list for items/things we could not do or touch in the house-these were not posted in the website and I would never have stayed here had these been posted. We paid over $500/ night and were not allowed to use washer and dryer, salt /pepper, no dish soap or paper towels. the morning of checkout we asked the hostess's agent if we could stay later to say goodbye to family and the agent said yes. We later received a phone call telling us to get out immediately. We proceeded to the house and gather our luggage and had to leave in wet suits, find a public bathroom to change for the plane. we did not strip any of the beds and the hostess is now accusing our family of taking a fitted sheet. The chaos of leaving was very uncomfortable and the hostess continues to harass me over text about the fitted sheet.
Barbara User ProfileBarbara is a superhost.
Response from Barbara:
On the day of Courtney's arrival, I asked her about her arrival time as I hired a concierge service to greet my guests, give them a key, instruct them where the TV is located and how to turn it on, to use only the towels provided tied with the pink ribbon (which is 4 bath, 2 hand and 2 wash towels...they used my decorative towels in additional to the ones provided), etc. I feel it is a nicety if I am unable to be here to greet them. She informed me that her husband would arrive first and of course that was fine. But he was an hour late without calling me so my service waited as long as she could and left. She did come back and he had let himself in which is also fine and at that time showed him around Etc. I assumed all went well because I did not hear from Courtney after they checked in. She also told my neighbor what a nice house this was but felt it was too pricey. I do provide paper products, towels, beach chairs, umbrella, 2 grills, 2 bikes, all kinds of games etc for my guests to use. (Additional paper towels and toilet paper were on a shelf in a downstair bedroom so there would be ample space in the kitchen pantry for my guests food). All went well until Courtney asked my service (not me which she had been communicating with) if she could stay an extra 30 minutes when I agreed to with my service when my service asked me. I also had previously asked Courtney to leave the key on the kitchen counter when she left because I would be there at 12:00 to clean. Courtney knew I was coming at noon but when I arrived, the house was a mess...They did not have their things packed ready to go but strode out everywhere and a total wreck. I called her to ask her to come back and please check out. They were in a neighboring town swimming because they were wet when they arrived. I did offer twice to both she and her husband to get cleaned up before they left, she refused. I hardly call that being nasty. I merely ask them to pack up and checkout! For all I knew they were going back to their friends to continue swimming. After I finished cleaning the 4 bedrooms and washing every towel in my house, I realized that I was missing a queen fitted sheet. I asked Courtney if their attempt to hurriedly pack did they accidentally scoop up the sheet. In her response, she was flippant and defensive and said That was ridiculous why would they take a sheet. I replied that I have looked high and low, inside and out and can not find it. No reply from Courtney. I then asked her for $30 to replace the sheet. No reply from Courtney. So I asked Airbnb to get involved. If you read all of my other reviews and I have hosted many, many times, no one has even complained about my homes or my demeanor. But, I also have never had a guest who showed such disrespect of my homes. I think that Courtney had sour grapes over the checkout time and became defensive because she ignored what I had asked her to do. As far as the two page house rules, it is a compilation of tips of how to turn on the outside fountain, outside cafe lights, grill location, no wet bathing suits on furniture, use sheets and bath towels provided, do not rearrange furniture, do not use personal items in dressers or my food or alcohol etc...basic common sense respectfulness in using a person's home (not a hotel room). The washer and dryer can be used to wash the sheets or towels but not your personal clothes...Perhaps Courtney was uncomfortable in my home because she is not used to living around nice things and keeping them nice! I only ask that people show my home with the same respect that they would want others to treat their things. It is really quite simple and most people instinctively know to show respect in another person'a home. I have never had a problem before and hope that I will not have to experience such hostility again because it as a very upsetting experience.
June 2016

Melanie User Profile
May 2016
Our family had a wonderful visit and loved every nook and cranny of this beautiful beach home. Everything was immaculate (right down to the most comfortable beds and bedding ever encountered). The kitchen had everything we needed and the outdoor areas were like a garden oasis. Barbara was a gracious hostess and we look forward to our next opportunity to visit.

Alexandra User Profile
September 2015
Barbara was very easy to communicate with and the house was exactly as described and in great condition - she had towels all wrapped up and distributed in each room. That being said the house is really nice with lots of breakables and many rules to follow, and while it was fine our group, it is definitely something to consider. It is just across the street from the beach, which is convenient, and the beach itself is really nice and not too crowded (even for LDW). The area under the house is a great place to hang out and grill, we really enjoyed spending the evening down there!

David User Profile
August 2015
The experience was exactly what my family asked for. Southern feel just right for the wedding experience we had. My Godson married a Southern Bell and we felt like we were in "Gone with the Wind!"

This host has 110 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Wilmington, North Carolina, United StatesJoined in February 2015
Barbara User ProfileBarbara is a superhost.

I am a "Southern" Hostess who enjoys entertaining and showing others who stay in my home the warmth of "Southern" hospitality. I love historical homes and find the stories of their owners fascinating. Gardening is a passion of mine, so fresh flowers brighten each room. Bayberry soaps, luxurious towels, and fine linens await my guests. I invite you to experience a little bit of Southern Charm at "Bella Vie".

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings