Skip to content
Double and single bedsDouble bed, notice the window over it does not have a curtain.
Studio - 10 km South of Aljezur
Studio - 10 km South of Aljezur
4 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
4 guests
Studio
2 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Lovely converted garage, plenty of space and great garden.
Not recommended if you have allergies or do not like animals!
I will not accept bookings without a message saying that you have read and understood the full description.
I try to be as honest as possible with the description and photos. This is not a 5 star hotel, but apparently I need 5 star feedback in all categorys to stay on airbnb, so if you do not like what you read then please do not book!

The space

The house is inside our garden fence, but separate from the main house, and has it's own little patio separated of by a low fence there is space to park your car on the access road outside.
The house can accommodate up to 4 people, but I would recommend a maximum of 2 adults and 2 kids as the sofa bed is not the most comfortable! Inside the house has a double bed, a single bed at the back. One corner is a sitting area with and a small coffee table, wood salamander, sofa bed and chair, the other corner is the kitchen area, it has a sink, stove (not oven, only top burners work) and a small fridge and basic kitchen utensils, plates and cutlery (no microwave, electric kettle, coffee machine or toaster!). All the furniture is second hand and has been well used, so don't expect a new apartment! We do NOT have heating or air-conditioning.
There is an outside toilet and shower, they are private but separate from the guest house, 5m away, this can be inconvenient if raining.
Outside on the small private patio there is a dining table and chairs. If you have kids they are welcome to play with the kids outside toys.
Our water comes from a bore-hole and is ok for washing and showers but has a high mineral content and is not recommended for drinking or cooking, so I recommend you bring your own bottled water. It also leaves an orange/brown stain in the shower and sink and I have orange/brown patches on the sheets and towels that can easily be mistaken for dirt, but is impossible to wash of. Please do not leave bad reviews because of the brown shower (see photos) if it is going to bother you then do not book. I have also been told that the water can mess with hair that has been dyed blond!
We have cats and dogs that are not encouraged to go in the rooms, but will often try to. The dogs bark at strangers and at cars that slow down, or bikes that pass but are very friendly once they have been introduced to you. We have guinea pigs, cockatiels, budgies and chickens who enjoy their singing at all hours. There are sparrow nests between the roof tiles and swallows outside the room so expect to hear them early in the morning. There is often a gecko or two in the room and don't be surprised if you find a frog in the shower!
Dust, falen leaves, flaky paint are sometimes inevitable... Did you ever see how fast a spider can make a new web? Please consider all these things before booking not just when giving feedback.
Any questions please do not hesitate to ask.

Guest access

Kids are always welcome. Dogs are also welcome as long as they behave, don’t attack our pets (specially the cats) and don't scare the kids, dogs are free to enjoy the garden but you are responsible for making sure they behave and don't get out. Please no smoking indoors. You are welcome to enjoy the garden and can even help with the gardening or dog walking. We usually have surplus fruit and vegetables that we offer to the guests, you are always welcome to eat anything I put in your room or pick salad from the garden.

Interaction with guests

I'm not a very chatty person, but I am always happy to answer any questions or give recommendations, etc. Any problems or questions please do not hesitate to ask me, anything you need come and say hello any time from 8:00 to 21:00.

Other things to note

Check in after 15:00 and before 21:00 as that is the time kids go to sleep and dogs always make a lot of noise when someone new arrives. Please always confirm arrival time a few days in advance so that I can plan my day. ( If you want to arrive at a time I am not here I can tell you where to find the keys.)
We have NOT got TV, Air conditioning, heating, microwave or electric kettle, so if you can't live without them this is not the right place for you!
If you realy need to check emails we can sometimes provide WIFI access, but only outside and it is from my mobile phone so can be unreliable and slow, please do not use it for downloads as I have a very limited amount of traffic! The local Intermerche supermarket has a good free WIFI access.
If you need to use the washing machine I charge 10€ per load, or Intermarche charges 4€!
Please note that this is countryside but near the main road.
Although I do not charge a cleaning fee I always clean the room and make sure you have clean sheets, towels, etc. the morning of your arrival, but fallen leaves, dust and spiders are part of life. Please note that if you give less than 5 star feedback, I drop in the ranking and may even have my account suspended. I am well aware that this is not a 5 star accommodation ( I aim for cheap and cheerful) and am grateful for you to write whatever you feel on the feedback.
Due to the large number of people that do not read the full description and then complain about things already mentioned I will not accept reservations without a message saying: "I have read and understood your full description."

Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Shampoo
Washer
Prices
Extra people $9 NZD / night after 2 guests
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
1 double bed, 1 single bed, 1 couch
House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in time is 3PM - 9PM
Check out by 11AM

I will no longer accept reservations without a message saying "l have read the full description".
Not everyone like the same things so I try to be as honest as possible with the description, please make sure to read the full description before booking and please do not complain or give less than 5* feedback because of things I cannot change!

Keep gate closed at all times, I do not want children or dogs finding their way to the road.

Always confirm check in time with me with as much advance possible. I work mostly from home, but have to go out often for kids pick up, dog walking, etc, so it makes life easier to plan if I can know when to expect you.
If you wish to check in after 21:00 you must confirm with me at least 24h before and have a good reason, or you will be subject to a late check in fee of 5€ per hour after 21:00.
Check-out before 11 AM.

No smoking in the room please, if you need to smoke please do it outside and use an ashtray not the flowerpots! And please do not leave cigarette ends or ashes.

If you have any special requirements please let us know when you make your reservation.

There are usually things like instant coffee, tea, sugar, salt, pepper, oil, vinegar, washing liquid, soap, shampoo, toilet paper in the room, you are welcome to use, but there is also a small money box on top of the fridge, any loose change you leave will be used to get more bits and pieces.

Enjoy your stay!

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s), cat(s), and other pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
First aid kit
Safety card
Availability
1 night minimum stay

181 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Xavier User Profile
October 2017
The house is clean and tidy and has everything you need. Helen was really helpful when we needed a few things and the location is perfect for exploring the coast. The cats are very friendly and the sunset is beautiful. We loved this place!

Maurice User Profile
September 2017
The house was nice. We used the kitchen and everything was working fine. The one person bed was a little bit too small for my friend (he is 1,90m), but most of the people can perfectly sleep in the single bed. The cats will just walk inside, so be prepared for that. ;) Thank you Helen.

Michal User Profile
September 2017
nice basic accommodotion with kitchen

Florence User Profile
September 2017
Does Exactly what it says on on the tin. We had a very peaceful night's sleep

Cristina User Profile
September 2017
The studio is very nice, simple but totally clean, pleasant and very private, as it has its own gate, patio and fence. It's located next to the road but it was not noisy, the location was a plus! We could just hop on the car and go to different places. The communication and check in / out was very smooth. The cats & dogs are very sweet, animal lovers will be delighted with Helen's nice cuddly cat. The place is not fancy, but it's charming in it's own simple way, really makes you feel like you're in the countryside, which I personally find very soothing. I would definitely stay at this place again.

Simone User Profile
September 2017
We've spend a great time at the studio! I enjoyed so very much that everything is pure, simple and natural! Helen 'forgets' to tell in her description how absolutely cheerful, kind and wonderful her kids are! I have been there with my almost 2 year old daughter and it was perfect! So easy-going. Helens description is really how it is! I think in her description she's so supermodest because it's so absolutely great that she has to offer an insight to a 'pure lifestyle'. I find it so cool that everything is 2nd hand and re-used. Everything was very clean. Also communication about the booking was clear and easy. I would definately recommend staying at Helens place if you're into spending time in a more natural setting.

Stephanie User Profile
August 2017
Conveniently located for those travelers interested in discovering Portugal south west of Aljezur. Best suited for those with access to a car and who are comfortable with a mix of indoor/outdoor living as bathroom and shower are separate from studio. Spacious and the kitchen was generously stocked with spices, garden veggies and tools. Helen was happy to accommodate our cookware needs. At dusk the hills and windmills create a calm and reflective atmosphere. Beautiful stargazing from the garden. Lots of animal friends, especially kitties. Representation of the studio on Air BnB was perfectly fair and generously priced. Especially appreciated the fact that Helen made herself available the moment we arrived and that the plot is arranged in such a way to grant guests privacy and an outdoor space. Very special, Thanks Helen!

Aljezur Municipality, PortugalJoined in June 2012
Helen User Profile

Hi, I'm Helen, otherwise known as Ossie.
I was born in England, but my parents moved to Ferragudo in Portugal when I was 6 years old so I speak both English and Portuguese fluently.
Now I own a house in a place called Relvinha, 10 km away from the nearest town (Aljezur). I am a mother, pet sitter, gardener, odd job person and volunteer animal charities. At the moment I've got 7 dogs and 2 cats living with me, all of them rescued from the streets and most of them looking for new homes!
Our kids Rosa (age 11) and César (age 7) speak Both English and Portuguese are usually very shy when they first meet people, but love having the chance to meet new kids.

Languages: English, Português
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings