Viking gas range cook topKitchen view towards indoor lounge area
Family Friendly Modern Marin Home
6 guests
4 bedrooms
5 beds
3 baths
6 guests
4 bedrooms
5 beds
3 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Our Scandinavian design, modern mid-century home allows for sunny, easy indoor/outdoor living! It fits a family of 5 or 6 and is conveniently located 1 block from SF Bay, 5 minute walk to Andy's Market and 5 minute drive to downtown San Rafael.

The space

Our home has an open plan with large public spaces for gathering friends and family. The chef's kitchen is large and airy featuring an entire wall of sliding glass doors, and a long island for prep and eating. The adjoining dining room, lounge and living room and windows were designed to make the space feel like a beach house. If you love hiking and cycling (mountain or road) this is the house for you! Access trails to China Camp State Park are a few minute bike ride away, and a short drive (10 minutes) gets you to the home of mountain biking: Mt. Tam! A huge array of hiking and biking trails awaits. From this peaceful light filled home and large garden space is easy access to San Francisco, Berkeley, Sonoma and Napa Valleys. Sit on the terrace with your feet up, enjoy a glass of wine and the peaceful view of the hills and lush garden.

Guest access

Guests will have access to 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, a large backyard and terrace, front yard, and apple orchard, hen house, play house and swing located behind our lot.

Interaction with guests

We are happy to help you with any local arrangements or guidance you need prior to your visit. We will be traveling while the house is being rented but have a very reliable person close by to be of help in person if needed. Of course we are always available by email. We are happy to help you enjoy our our special home and Marin County and San Francisco!

Other things to note

We have a large and well maintained landscape in both the front yard and back yard. Our back terrace allows for indoor-outdoor living in true California style! The back of our house is largely glass sliders that open on to a large terrace with a comfortable couch seating area and farm style dining table and benches. A second shaded seating area is in the upper yard surrounding a fountain, near the back gate of the property. Beyond this gate is our "apple orchard & farm" - the hen house for our 5 hens, a barn like play house and a large tree swing.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people $71 NZD / night after 5 guests
Cleaning Fee $283 NZD
Security Deposit $1133 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price $496 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 11AM

We invite people to enjoy our home with joy and treat our home with the same care and respect that we do - and leave it in the same condition as you found it. We do not allow pets nor smoking on the property. If you break something please alert us and fix it promptly. Our hens are cared for when we are gone by a friend who stops by daily. Please don't wear shoes in the house.

You must also acknowledge
Other pet(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Suki User Profile
August 2017
We have spent great and peaceful living time at Johanna's beautiful house, enjoyed every moment since woke up in the sunny peaceful morning, lovely garden with mini cutie tomato n apples, the kitchen was amazing we had a couple great cooking there and all of us was amazed by the Johanna's good taste of house deco and good organize! Easy to park and quiet neighborhood, and definitely safe around. Loved every bit. Couldn't love more. Hopefully next time we head to SF could still stay at this amazing house again. Thank you Johanna, hopefully see you soon!

Fernanda User Profile
August 2017
We had a great time in this house! It's super comfortable, clean and has amazing spaces. We enjoyed the patio and the backyard too. We would love to stay here again.

Charles User Profile
July 2017
Very much enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful and immaculate. We got fresh eggs daily from the chickens and now a local market has moved to within a block of the house. An ideal location to stay in central Marin!

Sheila User Profile
July 2017
Exceeded our expectations! The spaciousness, backyard area, decor, and amenities were very comfortable and relaxing for our family. Johanna is a perfect host. We highly recommend her place.

Charles User Profile
December 2016
We had a wonderful time staying at Johanna's spacious, well laid out, and immaculately clean home. The neighborhood is very quite but centrally located in Marin with easy access to either northern Marin or south to the city. There's a great market a 10 minute walk away or a central shopping area that's a 7 minute drive away. The backyard is spacious and well kept and the kitchen is very nicely laid out and has everything you'd need to prepare an excellent meal. You couldn't ask for anything more in a place to stay in Marin.

Sandrine User Profile
August 2016
Lovely house in a nice area !

Khahtee User Profile
August 2016
We had a fantastic time staying at Joanna's home! I'm so glad it was the one that we chose and the one that we got. My children were so free and happy in the beautiful indoor and outdoor space - and it was a comfortable amount of space for all 6 in our group. The home is immaculate and charming - and, the open floor plan, design, and minimalist, but calming and joyful aesthetic allows for such peacefulness and relaxation. All amenities were quality and allowed for us to really have a home away from home (cooking, playing, coming and going, regrouping) - which is especially so important when traveling with young children. Joanna was a friendly and attentive host throughout our process of booking her home and staying there. We hope to stay at Johanna's again when we stay in the Bay!

San Rafael, California, United StatesJoined in February 2015
Johanna User Profile

I am a brand and product designer who has owned 2 businesses and consulted on the launch of many others. I am the mother of 3, an avid reader, hen farmer, school volunteer, cook, collector of textiles, sewer and knitter, gardener and bread baker. I mountain bike, road ride, swim and run as much as I can here in Marin County and elsewhere. I've lived overseas in Sweden, Hong Kong, Thailand and Senegal, and love to travel to source indigenous textiles, develop new product ideas, snorkel, mountain bike, explore markets and museums and enjoy excellent food of all kinds.

Languages: English, Français, עברית
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings