Outside of the barnView of the main barn living space
The Old Barn at Goetre Farm
Hosted by Theri And Tom
Theri And Tom is the host.Theri And Tom is a superhost.
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
4 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Located within the stunning Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, we look forward to welcoming you to our 35 acre small-holding. Our small holding is divided into three zones; the first third is a nature reserve, the second third is rough grazing for sheep and horses and the final third is more managed land for dairy cattle. We welcome you to walk on our land and wellies can be borrowed.

The space

Guests will be accommodated in our comfortable and peaceful self catering barn annex, that has its own private entrance. The barn has a sleeping/ living room space, a small kitchenette and a bathroom with shower. In addition, you have access to a garden room and a patio area. We welcome either babes in arms, or children 8 years and over (2 kids maximum).

This barn used to be the old dairy, until about 15 years ago, when it was converted to living accommodation. It is a light and airy space that oozes rustic calm and is tastefully decorated. Enjoy cosy evenings around the log-burner. TV and DVD players are present and there is internet access . We have recently had a small kitchenette installed that has a fridge, two hobs and a combination microwave/ oven with grill.

The sleeping loft (roost) can accommodate two 'sensible' children. Access to the roost is via fixed wooden steps with handrail (from the main area of the barn), but parents must supervise ascent and descent of their children. Mattresses are provided for sleeping in the roost, not beds. We do not consider our barn suitable for toddlers or infant school children.

Towels and bedding are provided, as well as tea and coffee. Heating via radiators (geothermally heated) is put on in the winter months and guests are welcome to use the log burner. The first 'trog' of logs is provided free of charge, but after that a trog of logs costs £5.00 per loads. Our children sell eggs at the property entrance. An 'honesty' system is in place.

Guest access

Guests have access into the barn via a private entrance. In addition to the barn, guests are welcome to use an attractive small conservatory, as well as a patio seating area outside the barn, surrounded by our small orchard. Our house is located 500 metres down a private drive. There are walks down the track and around the farm. We are about a mile from Amroth beach, which can be accessed by walking down a footpath, through a wooded valley, or by a short drive along the road.

Interaction with guests

Theri and Tom (as well as our kids Malachi and Hannah) live in the farmhouse attached to the barn. We love to share ideas and local knowledge. However, we will respect your privacy and you will have your own fully separate, quiet space with local maps and useful holiday information provided in the barn.

Other things to note

Free-range chickens live at the bottom of our garden and guest's children are welcome to feed them and collect their eggs, under supervision. Guests can buy the eggs from our children, who look after them. Guinea fowl wander free range in the garden and sometimes there is a molly lamb to bottle feed. There is also an electric car charging point on the farm. Guests are welcome to walk around our small holding (please shut gates behind you) and children will enjoy playing in the stream and the woods.


Amenities
Family/kid friendly
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises
Kitchen

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (2-12 years)
Check in time is 2PM - 11PM
Check out by 10AM

We would like to welcome our guests after 2 pm and ask them to kindly leave by 10 am on departure day. We accept small babies, as long as guests are able to provide a carry cot and other necessary baby items. Please leave the barn and garden as you would like to find it.

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property - Black Labrador, horses, sheep, guinea fowls, chickens

Cancellations

64 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Kay User Profile
October 2017
Goetre Farm is well off the beaten track, often an advantage - especially in Summer when Pembrokeshire roads can get pretty full!! The peace and tranquility of the surroundings is so calming. Absolute quiet. Your hosts have lived in the Middle East and the decor of the old dairy where you will stay is full of memorabilia and photos of their life there. Fascinating! There is so much information about where to go and what to do you will be spoilt for choice. Tenby and Narbeth are just down the road (you WILL need a car!) and both offer great restaurants and shopping. Theri and Tom are charming and thoughtful hosts . . the Welsh Cakes and fresh milk and eggs were a welcome and thoughtful gift . . thanks again.

Lizzie User Profile
September 2017
Really lovely place to stay in Pembrokeshire. Lots of walking routes nearby and helpful information provided in the barn. Cosy accommodation and very scenic! Thank you for a great weekend!

Glen User Profile
September 2017
The Old Barn was very nice, and I would recommend it. It is easy to find, quiet, and fairly spacious for two people. It is decorated with an exotic Middle-Eastern flavour which we liked very much, and if you get a wet evening, it has a very cosy log-burner. The kitchenette has everything you need for cooking, and the bathroom is nice and modern with plenty of hot water. The dog was nice and well-trained, although she did bark a bit on first meeting. The track down to Amroth beach is fairly muddy so you need decent shoes, and it does climb a bit coming back up. Plenty of day-trips nearby - such as Pembroke Castle (nice cafe for lunch called Williams just along the main street), Tenby of course, and St Davids cathedral - we caught evensong which was quite atmospheric. In Sept there are loads of little seal pups easily visible from the cliffs neighbouring Skomer Island, and that was a highlight of our visit - you need to be lucky with the weather though to get maximum benefit I think.

Hermen User Profile
September 2017
Lovely cottage where great times are had, even when it rains cats and dogs!

Beatrice User Profile
September 2017
Had an absolutely great stay, was sad it was just for the weekend! Great location for walks, a lovely cosy place to return to in cold weather, and lovely hosts. Really cannot fault :)

David User Profile
August 2017
We really enjoyed our stay here and wished we had booked for a longer time. Its such a great place with so many things to do. The b&b was in a separate renovated barn. Very tastefully done with lots of interesting decorations. It had all the facilities with a nice en-suite, very comfortable bed (we nearly pinched the pillows!), functional kitchen, separate sun room and outdoor setting. The farm is interesting with different breeds of sheep and horses. This place really gives you a good feel for the farming life in south Wales. We loved it. It is an easy drive to Temby and many other interesting places on the coast and inland. There are lots of good walks to enjoy from the farm and along the coast. We liked the interaction with the host family that live in the attached house. If we are in the area again we would not hesitate to stay here.

Adam User Profile
August 2017
This place is great the location provides families with the opportunity to really explore the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside and beaches. Tom & Theri are really helpful and the barn is perfect for a small family. I would go back again to explore the other parts of the county that you can't fit in a week.

Amroth, United KingdomJoined in March 2015
Theri And Tom User ProfileTheri And Tom is a superhost.
I am a bird and wildlife veterinarian working in West Wales. My wife, Theri, is a biologist by background with an interest in environmental and outdoor education and she teaches part-time. Our family has lived in the Middle East working on wildlife projects and we returned to …
Response rate: 90%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings