Skip to content
Bright open floor plan.  Yoga? Yes!  TV? No!XL 6' Fuf bean bag!
On the edge of the forest
On the edge of the forest
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 private bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
3 beds
1 private bath
You won’t be charged yet

Welcome to my home nestled at the end of a quiet street, tucked into the woodland! Enjoy this quiet, private home featuring a bedroom and an additional room for extra guests in the cool basement! Access to private bathroom included. Huge garden and miles of trail to explore! Abundant wildlife and birds!

The space

This is a nice home in a quiet neighborhood, close to town, and closer to nature. I do not have TV or cable. WiFi is available.

The bedroom is in the basement and has a queen bed, a desk, dresser, closet and a window.

There is a second room available for additional guests. It has a queen bed, sofa bed/futon, desk, dresser and wardrobe.

Guest access

24 hour access with door code.

Guests may use the kitchen (advance notice preferred), dining room, and laundry room.

Living room has a chair and large bean bag! It's a great space to exercise or do yoga.

If you are coming in more than 1 car please let me know! Park in the driveway or at the end of the street, NOT across from neighbor's driveway.

Interaction with guests

I'm usually home in the evenings and on weekends. I enjoy getting to know visitors if our schedules allow. I have a super cool roommate who lives in the upstairs room, who you may or may not see, also depending on schedules.

Other things to note

There is no TV or Cable. Wifi is available!

The living room is mostly a gym, but I have a chair and a extra large bean bag! There is a dining room table that seats six and there are chairs outside on the deck!

BYOB (bottle!) Help yourself to filtered water! I have a Berkey carbon block filter which removes chemicals, pesticides, bacteria, fluoride, heavy metals, nitrate, nitrites and parasites.

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Family/kid friendly
Kitchen
Prices
Extra people $21 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $76 NZD
Weekly Discount: 35%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed, 1 sofa bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 2PM
Self check-in with keypad

No pets, and please note, I am very sensitive to fragrances and need to avoid air fresheners, scented candles, perfumes etc. Please refrain from using strongly scented products in the house. Thanks!

If I'm home, I'm typically in the kitchen. If you would like to use it, just let me know in advance.

No smoking anywhere, ever.

You can park in the driveway or at the end of the street.

I love my home and would like you to enjoy and respect it.

Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Availability
3 nights minimum stay

23 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Tiff User Profile
October 2017
Dorothy is an amazing host. Great hospitality felt just like at home. Very quiet. great considering I was there for schooling, so studying most of the time. Dan her room mate was so nice and friendly extra helpful when it came to advice about the area. Like she wrote “edge of the woods.” Great view! nice walk through the woods. so expect to encounter a few crickets and spiders nothing to bad. Will stay again if in the area.

Nina User Profile
September 2017
This was a great place to stay at. Dorothy was very fast at responding to my questions. The place was in a great location right next to a forest. There were spiders seen in my room several times but that's expected since it's located in the basement. Other than that, Dorothy was very friendly and accommodating to all my needs.
Dorothy User Profile
Response from Dorothy:
Thanks for the feedback Nina! And thank you for your understanding about the spiders. I only wish you would have said something when you were here, I could have put out glue traps. I'll definitely set them out before the next guest!
September 2017

Joe User Profile
March 2017
Dorothy is very kind and helpful! I really enjoyed staying at her house. I would love to stay there again. The home is located at quiet neighborhood and gives great scenic views. Great host and great stay!

Mihail User Profile
March 2017
Great place, superb surroundings, excellent hospitality. The forrest makes all the difference in the world.

Maja User Profile
January 2017
We had a wonderful time at Dorothy's place! Dorothy is extremely friendly, welcoming and took excellent care of us! The bedrooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable. It is a very quiet neighborhood and you can walk directly from the backyard into the woods which we loved. You definitely need a car to stay here - it is maybe a 15 min drive to the metro and then another 15 min on the train into Washington D.C. Everything was clean and well maintained. Staying there was for us the perfect combination of proximity to D.C. and to nature.

Tracie User Profile
December 2016
Wonder place to stay! Clean and very comfortable. Dorothy was out of town this time but her roommate Daniel was awesome and very helpful. Ensured our stay was pleasant and that we have everything we needed.

Alexander User Profile
October 2016
Our stay at Dorothy's beautiful house was wonderful. The pictures are very accurate and the location "on the edge of the forest" made for a great getaway at the end of a long day. The neighborhood is very quite, friendly, and peaceful, with lots of squirrels and white-tailed deer to watch while relaxing on her beautiful deck. Dorothy and her friendly roommate Dan were very accomodating, and we had everything that we needed. We really enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay there again.

Silver Spring, Maryland, United StatesJoined in September 2013
Dorothy User Profile

Hi, I have traveled extensively with couchsurfing and AirBnB! Now I have my own home and I am really enjoying hosting people!

In addition to travel, I love outdoor activities, going to concerts, CrossFit and eating nutrient-dense real food!!

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings