A view of our garden from the kitchen.Our garden.
Single room in Summertown, Oxford
Hosted by Helena
Helena is the host.Helena is a superhost.
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
1 guest
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Next to our pretty single room is a large bathroom for your sole use except occasionally, when our grown up children, or a friend come to stay. Our lovely house is in a prestigious and quiet neighbourhood but only 10 minutes from Oxford city centre. We also have a double room listed separately.

The space

This is the listing for our single room. The room is very quiet and has a comfortable bed, table with lamp, desk, chair and wardrobe. If you are looking for a double room, please book it on our other listing: 'Double En-Suite Summertown Oxford'. If you would like both rooms, please book the single room on this listing and the double room on the other listing.

We have a brand new bathroom with wet-room style shower, with toilet and washbasin for the exclusive use of our guest in the single room except when our grown-up children come home for the weekend, or sometimes if we have personal guests. Our double room has an en-suite shower room.

Our house is in leafy Summertown, a prestigious suburb of Oxford just 2 miles from the city centre. The bus stop is 3 minutes walk away and the journey into the city centre takes 10/15 minutes. We also have a free car parking space where you can safely leave your car all day.

A pub serving good food is 10 minutes walk away and a 15 minute walk brings you to the many restaurants and shops in Summertown . The famous 'Trout' pub of Inspector Morse fame is a short drive away.

The spacious kitchen is available for breakfast (cereal and toast, tea, coffee and orange juice). A fridge and microwave are available for occasional use in the early evening, or if you would like to stay more than a week, these could be available more regularly, by agreement. Longer term guests can also use the washing machine and drying facilities for £4 per load. We have a lovely big garden and if you like walking or running, you can take a number of attractive routes from the house.

We have lived in Oxford for many years. Helena is a historian and former tour guide and so we can give you the 'Inside Oxford' view.

Guests have access to the kitchen for breakfast. Long term guests may use the microwave to warm food in the early evenings by arrangement.

We enjoy talking to our guests over breakfast, and giving advice about places to visit. We like our guests to feel welcome and at home.

Our neighbourhood is very quiet and safe. We have great local shops and restaurants and a neighbourhood pub all within walking distance.

The bus stop to the city centre is 3 minutes' walk from our house. The bus to Blenheim Palace also stops very close by.

Guest access

Kitchen before 11 am and for long-term guests in the early evening by arrangement.

Interaction with guests

We like to chat to our guests over breakfast and we can offer travel or any other advice. After 7.30 pm we need time to ourselves.


Amenities
Breakfast
Free parking on premises
Internet
Laptop friendly workspace

Prices
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 5PM
Check out by 11AM

No smoking in the house or in the garden. If you wish to smoke, there is plenty of space in the street.

If you come home late we will leave on the outside light. Please switch it off and all other lights when you come in.

We respectfully ask guests not to eat wet food, including take-aways in the bedrooms. Guests staying more than a week may use the kitchen with fridge and microwave before 7.30 pm.

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs
Pet(s) live on property - Cat
Some spaces are shared - This is the hosts' home so guests will share the kitchen at breakfast time.

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

111 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
I stayed for one month and enjoyed very much my time. When I arrived, Helena and Jeremy were away but, their neighbour Helge welcomed me. They are excellent communicators and pleasant people to be around. The house is spacious, clean and very well equipped. There is a garden to chill out. It takes about 20min to walk to the center and there are plenty of cafes and shops within walking distance. It really worked for me because it was quite and away from crowds. Staring a day with their breakfast was a real bonus!! I highly recommend Helena's place. Thanks, Helena for hosting me. It was my pleasure.

Claudia User Profile
October 2017
I had a lovely time in Helena's gorgeous house. The room is very nice and the location was very convenient as it was close to my college and ten/fifteen minutes to town by bus. Both Jerry and Helena are extremely friendly and relaxed hosts, I will definitely be coming back! Thank you very much!

Alicia User Profile
October 2017
Helena and Jerry were great hosts. I stayed in the single room which was big enough for me. The bathroom was available for my use only during the week I was there and it alone was almost worth the stay! However, Helena and Jerry were even greater hosts. Helena was very responsive to all my queries and Jerry's freshly baked bread, great conversations and sense of humor provided a great hosting partnership. I recommend them unreservedly. It truly made my Oxford trip memorable.

Hannah User Profile
September 2017
I loved staying with Helena and Jerry! They are wonderful, kind hosts! See you soon!

Joel User Profile
September 2017
Helena (and her cat) made me feel perfectly welcome and happy for my entire stay. And it was a long stay, for which I am eternally grateful! All the amenities were perfect and the breakfast provisions were great. The cat was also delightful! Highly recommended for anyone visiting Oxford.

Brad User Profile
August 2017
I had an excellent stay at Helena and Jeremy's--my second in two years. Both are kind and hospitable while the property itself is very well located with easy access to the town centre as well as to Wolvercote, Port Meadow and the Thames Walking Path. Outstanding in every way.

Alessandra User Profile
July 2017
I spent two months at Helena's place and I really enjoyed my stay there. Helena and her husband are very friendly and welcoming, and they want you to feel comfortable. If you need anything, you can just ask as they are always willing to help you. Also, their house is spacious and well-equipped, with a beautiful garden. It is very close to the bus stop and within walking distance from shops, restaurants, pharmacies, etc. Last but not least, Helena's husband will have delicious homemade bread ready for you every morning. I would highly recommend this place!

Oxford, United KingdomJoined in June 2012
Helena User ProfileHelena is a superhost.

I am a university lecturer and married to Jeremy who is a property consultant. We have four children who have all grown up and left home. They visit from time to time at weekends, but as we have 6 bedrooms, there is plenty of room for everyone. We love gardens and gardening as you can see.

Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings