Skip to content
Living RoomRockpool at Medlands
WaiOra Beach Retreat, Medlands Beach
WaiOra Beach Retreat, Medlands Beach
5 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1.5 shared baths
5 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1.5 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

Comfortable Beachfront homestay accommodation in a magnificent peaceful setting right on the Pacific Ocean. Relax in your Home away from Home - the white sands and surf of Medlands Beach are less than 50m away. Special diets catered for & you're welcome to use the kitchen or join me for a shared meal.
I have a guest room in my house or self-contained Garden Chalet option - its your choice
The wood-fire makes for a very cost winter w/e away from it all and the beach is stunning in all weather.

The space

Welcome to Aotea and Great Barrier Island's pristine East Coast paradise surf beach which provides the magnificent setting for your relaxing holiday. WaiOra Beach Retreat is a spacious 2 bedroom Eco-retreat and family home, with self-contained Garden Chalet, and has been purpose built for beachfront living.
I have a full off-grid power system supplied mostly by solar panels, solar/ gas hot water and a very cosy wood-fire for cooler/winter nights, providing year round comfortable living- so come for a winter w/e way from it all....and the beach will be all yours !
The large front deck provides fabulous outdoor living and back deck gives private access to the guest bedroom and flows into the garden. This fabulous home-stay guesthouse offers real homely comfort, with peaceful rural outlook and the sounds of the ocean and nature to lull you to sleep.
This Island Retreat has a strong focus on holistic well-being, healing with nature and your total R&R. I can help you plan, book and arrange activities, local holistic therapies and transport for your island holiday as required. I invite you to join me on a Forest/Beach Therapy guided walk for an experience you will remember and this may change the way you look at and appreciate Nature !
I know you will want to come back again and again....

Guest access

Large private bedroom with own entrance.
Comfortable super king or twin king single beds, plus extra mattress (extra charge applies). Portacot available.
100% cotton linen and luxury silk duvet/pillows.
Breakfast is available when Vicky is at home - please inquire- includes organic coffee, herb teas, and delicious home-made pancakes/cooked/continental breakfast options- special diets catered for with notice. Shared evening meals also an option.
Shared kitchen, bathroom and living room.
Large decks front and back & attractive gardens.
Gluten-free/dairy-free/vegetarian diets catered for ( 3 days notice - small extra charge may be applied).
Wi-fi/internet.
DVD/TV in living room.
Shared kitchen if required, with shared meals on offer
One-party bookings ensure privacy.
Separate fully self-contained Garden Chalet also available, with queen mattress and single bed option - please inquire or check website: (website hidden).

Other things to note

Our shops carry a good basic range of fresh and packaged foods and many organic products, but can be expensive so its good to come prepared. There are no banks on island but all shops take Eftpos- and bringing some cash is an advantage. Many areas do not have adequate cellphone coverage or wi-fi. There is no mains electricity on the island so leave your hair driers and electric jugs at home ! Water is a also a precious commodity here as most of us run on rain water tanks which we manage very carefully in Summer. Waste and rubbish disposal are a major issue for us so composting and recycling where possible is much (URL HIDDEN) run on rain water tanks which we manage very carefully in Summer. Waste and rubbish disposal are a major issue for us so composting and recycling where possible is much appreciated.


Amenities
Kitchen
Family/kid friendly
Wireless Internet
Free parking on premises

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed, 1 floor mattress, 1 crib
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed, 1 single bed, 1 floor mattress
Common spaces
1 floor mattress

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

No Smoking in or around the house.
We respect everyone's right to total R&R in this retreat environment so appreciate quiet after 10pm. We would also like you to respect our family home and all other guests and helpers who are staying here.
Pets welcome on negotiation.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house

Cancellations

21 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Julien User Profile
October 2017
Vicky was a great host which gave us a lot of attention and tips for our stay. The place is a lovely little wooden chalet where you immediately feel relax. Great experience, great host, I recommend.

Yoshi User Profile
October 2017
We had a lovely stay at Vicky's Beach house! We cooked dinner, using some of Vicky's Vege Garden grown vegetables, which was nice! Vicky also kindly prepared some delicious pancakes for breakfast! We were also able to explore some hidden gems around Medland Beach and Kaitoke Beach thanks to Vicky's knowledge around the beach! On our last day, Vicky also kindly offered to help us offload our luggage to airport first so that we can explore the beach without having to carrying the load! If you are looking for a true B & B experience with a wonderful host in a great location in Great Barrier Island, Vicky's place is definitely the one to go for!

Catherine User Profile
October 2017
Great place to stay with an excellent beach very close by.

Brigid User Profile
October 2017
Vicky is a great host, warm, welcoming and caring. The house is comfortable, attractive and clean. Bedroom with king bed homely, sunny and pleasant to be in. Lovely bathroom. The breakfasts were yummy with plenty of options. We enjoyed the organic coffee and gluten free pancakes. The location is fantastic on beautiful Medlands Beach central to the island, with every day swimming and walking, and also convenient to the airport and stores at Claris. Thank you Vicky for a lovely stay!

We had a great stay with Vicky on Great Barrier. We liked the fantastic location best of all, with a stunning beach just outside the front door. Vicki and her home are both warm and welcoming. The bed was huge and super comfortable. Great Barrier is a fantastic place to visit and we like to go when its a bit quieter, outside the high season. At these times it is a little limited in options for food etc so Vicky's advice and tips on where to eat and find things was invaluable. If you like a good burger, try the Burger Shack! Vicky went out of her way to look after us including delicious breakfasts, many cups of tea and chats. We loved staying there and would recommend "The Barrier" and Vicky's place to anyone.

Daniel User Profile
May 2017
I had a great stay at Vicki's and the pancakes were delicious. It's just a stones throw from the beach, beautifully quiet, peaceful and Vicki made me feel right at home. Highly recommended.

Nigel User Profile
December 2016
I often work on Great Barrier but this was the first time I have used airbnb. What a great choice. Vicky made me feel very welcome and nothing was a problem. Even though I was working, I returned home feeling as if I had returned from holiday. Great Barrier is so stress free and the people so friendly it makes you want to stay there forever. Thanks Vicky :)

Great Barrier Island, New ZealandJoined in September 2014
Vicky User Profile
Interaction with guests

Your privacy is respected at all times, however I also really enjoy meeting new people and sharing my island paradise lifestyle with all its special and magical places so the choice is yours completely.
Come with me on an adventure- I offer sensory-based guided Forest and Beach Therapy walks for an experience with a difference that may change the way you see and interact with Nature !
I also offer 1:1 Flower Essence Therapy consultations to give clarity and support through life's ups and downs using Native NZ flower and plant essences.

About Vicky

Originally from Bath, UK I have called Great Barrier Island home for almost 30 yrs. I have 2x adult children, 1x teenager and 1x baby grandson all living away from home. I work part-time running holiday accommodation and a home-based healing practice working with Nature and forest therapy and Native NZ plant remedies for emotional balance and holistic well-being. I love music and movies, and run a small community choir. I also am passionate about my beach lifestyle, the elements and nature and I love to share my special island home with friends family and visitors from around the world. I also love to travel, meet new people and eat different foods. My vice is dark chocolate ! I also love to try new things, enjoy adventures and will give most things a go. You will be well looked after here and treated as family, but your privacy will also be respected so interaction will be as much or as little as you want.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings