Bright Room in Vintage Reno Home
Bright Room in Vintage Reno Home
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Private room in a 1940's brick home in the old southwest.

The space

My home is located in the Old Southwest near Washoe Golf Course and Virginia Lake, just on the Southern side of the thriving Midtown redevelopment and about 1.5 miles from Downtown. Midtown to Downtown boasts Reno's best new (and established) restaurants, bars, wine shops, coffee shops, movie theater, museums, boutique shopping and the beautiful Truckee river.

A park with a small lake and 1-mile circumference walking path is a few blocks away if you want to stretch your legs after a long drive.

For Burners, I'm close to the Melting Pot Emporium, Junkee Clothing, Ace Hardware and within walking distance to grocery shopping, Marshall's, and CVS. I can point you to the Reno Bike Project and numerous other local businesses to facilitate supplies for the Playa.

The interior is cozy, yet spacious at 1,250 sq. ft. upstairs, as well as a semi-finished basement. The floor plan offers plenty of room for guests and resident to pick their spots to relax, read, cook, watch t.v. or play pool in the "girl-cave" located in the basement where during the summer heat, it's deliciously cool even without a/c.

Your room: a top-quality mattress on the queen bed is conducive to a great night's sleep, as well as drapes that keep the light out. The bathroom is shared, but surprisingly large for such an old house. The photo shows only the bathtub, but there's a shower as well with an adjustable shower-head to accommodate very tall guests comfortably and wonderfully refreshing (or soothing) water pressure.

Amenities include: fresh sheets and towels, wi-fi access, cable, streaming movies & fireplace in living room, central heat and a/c, and kitchen use. Washer and Dryer are available, as well as an old-fashioned clothes-line if you prefer the sweet smell of sun-dried laundry.

I work banker's hours Monday through Friday. I have an English Pointer who is sweet, but very energetic when "on" and a terrific snoozer when "off". There is a secure, gated yard where your dog can do their biz and hang out. I can point you in the direction of some good trails where you can walk off-leash.

Whether you're flying or driving, the house is about 8 minutes from both airport and HWY I-580, or about 15min from I-80.

Guest access

Guests are welcome to enjoy the main living spaces including the kitchen for food storage and preparation if they prefer to cook their own meals.

Interaction with guests

It is my tendency to give a lot of space unless the guest indicates that more visiting is welcome.

Other things to note

Check-in time is between between 4 and 7pm. Late check-in only with prior approval.


Amenities
Dryer
Cable TV
Indoor fireplace
Washer

Prices
Cleaning Fee $15 NZD
Weekend Price $111 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 4PM - 7PM
Check out by 11AM

Check-in time is between late afternoon or early evening (4-7)- no later than 7 p.m. unless prior arrangements have been made.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

46 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Karen User Profile
September 2017
The host canceled this reservation the day before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Shah User Profile
August 2017
Lori is an amazing host. Super smart, hospitable, knowledgable and just everything a great host should be. Her house is beautiful and her dog is lovely! She is the person to stay with in Reno.

Rach.Sutton@Hotmail.Com User Profile
August 2017
Beautiful home with a great host in a great location .... what more could you ask for! Amazing place! Lovely grden to sit out and just a block away from a lovely park and lake to walk around. Very close to coffee shops and restaurants, also stores ... and the casinos. The shared bathroom is not a problem, Lori is vey accommodating. Her fury friend Ruby is great company too ... her and my dog worked out their diffrences and became friends. Would definitely ask Lori if we can stay again if we are in the area

Natasha User Profile
August 2017
Lori provided coffee and fruits in the morning which was wonderfully nice before we got on the road. The room was nice with a comfortable bed. She also let us use blankets so my dog had a bed. Thank you for the stay!

Annamarie User Profile
July 2017
We stayed one night on a long trip towards Vegas. LOVE the interior decorations of the house! Bed was comfy and home was well air conditioned and clean. Her cute dog was a nice addition to the stay. I always love getting greeted by a cute dog! Lori was very friendly and hospitable. Thanks for a good time!

Sandra User Profile
July 2017
This was the perfect place for our brief stay in Reno. We wanted to explore a bit, rest, and we had our dog and Lori helped with all happen. Super cool house!

Belinda User Profile
July 2017
Lori was a welcoming host and the home was well-kept and clean. We stayed here for a night during a road trip and found the home to be a comfortable place to rest out legs.

Reno, Nevada, United StatesJoined in August 2012
Lori User Profile

I try to always take life's absurdities & disappointments in stride. Hosting through airbnb has only increased my sense of humor because you just never know what each experience will bring. That said, I strive to make people comfortable and invite guests to enjoy what the house has to offer in the way of making a short or extended stay unique.

The other character in this home is Ruby: an energetic Pointer who will greet guests enthusiastically, entertain with her spunky personality, and who believes she's a lap-dog in spite of her 40 lbs. A guest joked that she's like a big cat!

I'm a paleo eater because I just feel better, but totally respectful of other people's food choices. It's highly personal, I get it.

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings