Entire home/apt

4 guests

2 bedrooms

2 beds
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
4 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Hale Kapuna is a wonderful Hawaiian and quaint 2 bedroom 1 bath fully furnished home complete with everything you will need to make your visit to "The Big Island" as comfortable as possible.

The space

We offer a quaint 2-bedroom house, with a comfortable at-home-feel and a scenic garden view. The house is elevated above the Hawaiian Forest, in the residential area of Nanawale Estates. From the living room, there is a perfect view of the garden, and the nights are fresh with a nice tropical breeze.

The bedrooms have queen beds and ample closet space. The living room has a wood-burning fireplace. The home was renovated in 2015, with a New Refrigerator, New Stainless Kitchen Sink, and New Stainless Kitchen Faucet. We have also refurbished the solid oak wood floors. We have provided you with New Queen-sized beds, New drapes, New curtains, New bed furnishings, New bath towels and accessories.

All appliances, fans, plumbing, etc. are in working order as is the washer and dryer.

The home has a charming Hawaiian old plantation feel to it. The kitchen is well equipped with basic . The bathroom has a tub/shower combination.

We are located a short 10-minute bike ride to Pāhoa Town or a 5-minute ride by car to Pāhoa Town for shopping, dining, or banking. We are a 30-minute drive South from Hilo International Airport.

Interaction with guests

Brenda, our world-renowned guest host is a permanent resident of Hawaii, if you have any questions or suggestions, please let her know.

Other things to note

There is no smoking of "Any" kind in the house. "If you are caught smoking in the house, you had better be on fire!" :-)

Nearby Attractions:
Pāhoa Town: 10 minutes away for shopping, dining, or banking
The Big Blue Pacific Ocean: 10 minutes away
Ahalanui Hot Ponds: 20 minutes away
Lava Tree State Park: 10 minutes away
Hilo Town: 25 minutes away
Kilauea Volcano National Park: 45 minutes away


The space
Accommodates: 4
Bathrooms: 1
Bedrooms: 2
Bed: 2
Check In: Flexible
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Room type: Entire home/apt
Self check-in: Lockbox

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: 28 / night after 2 guests
Cleaning Fee: 211
Security Deposit: 352
Weekly Discount: 30%
Weekend Price: 127 / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Check in time is flexible

The Aloha Spirit is a well-known reference to the attitude of friendly acceptance for which the Hawaiian Islands are so famous. However, it also refers to a powerful way to resolve any problem, accomplish any goal, and to achieve any state of mind or body that you desire.

In the Hawaiian language, "aloha" stands for much more than just "hello”, “goodbye”, or "love." Its deeper meaning is "the joyful (oha) sharing (alo) of life energy (ha) in the present (alo)."

As you stay with us, please remember the "Aloha Spirit" and help spread it to all that you are and all that you do, and more importantly to all that you meet on the islands and you will experience the "Aloha Spirit" throughout this magical land in more ways than you will ever have thought possible!

There is no smoking of "Any" kind in the house. "If you are caught smoking in the house, you had better be on fire!"

Yes Hale Kapuna is pet friendly! But we only receive well-behaved pets that have been very well trained by their owners and that bring their own beds (no pets sleeping on couches or on beds). An extra pet fee of $150.00 will be paid prior to arrival.

As this is a family neighborhood, our quiet time is between 9:00 PM and 9:00 AM.

Enjoy this magical land and live out your Hawaiian dreams!

If you need anything please do not hesitate to ask as we will do what we can to accommodate your desires!

Mahalo! (thank you)

Remember:

E komo mai! Nou ka hale!
Hale Kapuna
“Welcome! My house is yours!”

Aloha,
The A. T. Escobedo 'ohana (family) & Associates
Owners ~ Hale Akule Hawaiian Beaches Cottage


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card

Availability
7 nights minimum stay

4 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
A User Profile
February 2017
The location is great. Very central to a bunch of magical things. Waterfalls in Hilo, the quirky town of Pahoa, the warm pools and beaches of every color. I will say that I would be a bit disappointed if I were just coming for vacation. But if you're coming to Puna not to be indoors or for a length of time especially with animals it might be the perfect fit. It is very wet here. Sometimes more rain than sun, which can lead to a few obstacles (mold being one of them). The area will surely win you over. A magical place with a great sense of community. Aloha.
A.T. And E.M. User Profile
Response from A.T. And E.M.:
Aloha Emily and Ashley, We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as we are centrally located, being just a fifteen-minute walk to town (Pahoa Town). We sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with our various amenities. As we strive to offer as much as we can and still keep our costs as well as your costs down, for instance in the kitchen. We offer a full-size kitchen with a full-size stove and oven as well as a new full-size refrigerator. Other amenities include a full set of stoneware dishes, various glasses, various pots and pans. We also provide a large microwave oven, blender, toaster, mixing bowls, and various kitchen utensils. Other amenities include high-speed Internet access, Wi-Fi as well as high-speed Internet access through Ethernet at no additional charge. We also offer Time-Warner/Spectrum cable TV with pay per view channels on a flat-screen 34" LCD. Outside we offer a barbecue grill, adequate for a couple or small family. We also offer a stackable washer and dryer and complementary laundry detergent for a few washes. We also offer beach cruiser bicycles to ride around with locks provided. We also provide Boogie Boards and snorkeling gear for the more adventuresome, just ask us and we will provide them to you as well as beach towels. I am not sure what other amenities you had in mind please email us and let us know your thoughts. As we are certainly open to new suggestions. Mahalo (thank you) The A. T. Escobedo ‘ohana (Family) and Associates Owners ~ “Hale Akule Hawaiian Beaches Cottage” and “A Hawaiian Country Home”
February 2017

Madeline User Profile
March 2016
From first inquiry sent this experience was nothing but heartwarming and wonderful. Anselmo, Ben and Kim are absolute angels and exhibited the upmost graciousness and kindness. All correspondence was filled with care and done in an exceptionally timely manner. Anselmo so nicely helped me plan around my own bad planning and assisted me in finding reliable transit across the island and never let me feel worried and also provided me with an abundant list of activities, sights, attraction and restaurants in and around our area and the island. When Ben and Kim picked us up at the bus station and took us to our lovely neighborhood. (a 40 minute drive otherwise, which was immensely appreciated. During the drive Ben and Kim gladly told us directions to beaches, little known places to check out and made us feel instantly wrapped in the aloha spirit. When we walked into the house the dining room was blessedwith the gorgeous produce that hawaii has to offer, which was such a pretty surprise that touched my heart. The neighborhood is lush, beeautiful and filled with kind residents. I enjoyed my daily runs around the neighbour hood and everyone was nothing but smiles, waves and shockas :) The neighbourhood is secluded but close to Pahoas wonderful little restaurants and unique shops and lively and warm people, and only a quick trip to check out Hilo. The car is equipped with a gps and gets awesome gasmileage and we made a fee trips to Kona with absolutely no problems and didnt break the bank one bit. The house itself was so darling with a relaxed tropical, country vibe that made us forget any stresses ar home that we carried with us. We settled in so instantly and it was nothing but pure bliss. The sun, the green yard with the tangerine and apple banana trees, little purple flowers and birds singing in the air. We loved cooking in the kitchen and being able to make a meal at home and not have to worry about going out. The wifi was excellent, we were able to stream netflix and hulu easily if there was nothing to our liking on the cable TV. The amenities and the perfect little house were perfect enough but Anselmo, Ben and Kims warm hearts filled with aloha were what made this trip. It felt like staying with family yet privacy was respected. For the short two weeks I was there the enviroment had me feeling like living there and gave me the most beautiful, magical and intimate experience with Hawaiis Big Island. I am sure I am forgetting some other kindness displayed by my hosts and I can thank them enough for everything the did to make this vacation truly a blessing. Mahalo, Anselmo, Ben and Kim❤️❤️❤️❤️

Alan User Profile
January 2016
I cannot recommend this house as a rental to anyone else in it's current condition. Pros: inexpensive, decent bed, wi-fi, tangerine tree in yard. Cons: the place was dirty, with lots of dust everywhere. At a minimum it needs a thorough deep cleaning. The house's description includes this statement: "the home was renovated in 2015 . . ." This is outright fiction: I saw no signs of an internal renovation of this house, in fact the kitchen and bathroom could use one. The only place to sit outside undercover (from sun, or rain) is the carport. In short, a disappointing place to stay while on vacation.
A.T. And E.M. User Profile
Response from A.T. And E.M.:
We sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with our vacation home rental and that you were unhappy with the dust. This is a “Hawaiian country home away from home.” Just as we have stated on our Airbnb website. In Hawaii, we have birds that sing all morning long and roosters that may wake you in the morning. We even have Coqui Frogs that will hypnotize you to sleep at night. It is true that in Hawaii, we have extreme humidity to deal with on a daily basis. That said, we only have one real option to deal with the humidity; open windows and open doors. In Hawaii, we leave the windows and doors open to allow the airflow to help evaporate the dampness in the air at all times. It is true, that dust may accumulate a bit more than in a dryer or colder climate. We do our best to clean our home the day before guests arrive and (yes, we leave the windows open after we do a cleaning) if things are/were not up-to-par we would have gladly done our best to dust/clean the place to your satisfaction to make your stay with us more enjoyable. If you had requested a more thorough deep cleaning and had brought it to our attention while you were on-island we would have corrected the issues you state and we would have gladly done as you requested, because If you were unhappy; then we are unhappy as we strive to live up to your expectations. According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary: A Simple Definition of Renovate: “to make changes and repairs to (an old house, building, room, etc.) so that it is back in good condition.” We have renovated the home with a New Refrigerator, New Stainless Kitchen Sink, New Stainless Kitchen Faucet. We have also refurbished the solid oak wood floors. We have provided you a New Queen-size bed, New drapes, New curtains, New bed furnishings, New bath towels and accessories. All appliances, fans, plumbing, etc. are in working order as is the washer and dryer. Free Wi-Fi, Free Time Warner Cable, Free Netflix, a fresh fruit basket with Hawaiian Coffee, fresh cut Hawaiian flowers, a fully appointed kitchen in which to cook meals indoors as well as a brand new Barbeque grill to cook outdoors in the beautiful landscaped garden. All for the unheard of price less than a nights stay at a Motel 6 that is usually less than 200 square feet of living space. . . It is true that we do not have a covered place to sit outside undercover (with the exception of the covered carport), in all fairness we never stated that we had such a place. All photographs accurately and clearly represent our place as it is, a “Hawaiian country home away from home.” We represent our vacation rental as it is, a simple “Hawaiian home away from home”. Our prices reflect what you are getting as we are one of the lowest-priced homes to be able to rent and stay on “The Big Island” of Hawaii for an entire house with two-bedrooms and one bath as well as the covered carport. Unfortunately, the Hawaiian island life is not for everyone. We sincerely apologize that we could not make you happy with our “Aloha spirit” at our “Hawaiian country home away from home."
January 2016

Marcy User Profile
August 2015
Convenient location, very comfortable and spacious house with a nice yard. Responsive and accommodating hosts. Would stay here again.

This host has 2 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

We started out looking for a little place by the water, who would have thought that we would have found paradise!. . .We have been very fortunate to have the opportunity to travel this beautiful planet and meet some of its most amazing people! My daughter and I traveled to “The Big Island” to see about the feasibility of one day retiring to this most wonderful and magical island. We spent two years, looking and when this magical property became available we knew that we had found “Our New Home”, we hope you will join us in this magical place and share some life-long memories with your loved ones the way that we have shared some life-long memories with ours, come be a part of our ‘ohana (family) as we open our hearts and home with you and yours . . . “Come Feel The Mana (life energy) with us” and “Come Home to Hawaiian Beaches Cottage's!”

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings