Skip to content
Entire bungalow

"A Hawaiian Country Home" "Hale Kapuna"

A.T. And E.M. User Profile
A.T. And E.M.

"A Hawaiian Country Home" "Hale Kapuna"

6 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
6 guests
2 bedrooms
2 beds
1 bath
HOME HIGHLIGHTS
Self check-inEasily check yourself in with the lockbox.

Hale Kapuna is a wonderful quaint Hawaiian 2 bedroom 1 bath fully furnished home complete with everything you will need to make your visit to "The Big Island" as comfortable as possible.

Amenities

Kitchen
Indoor fireplace
Wifi
Free parking on premises
Iron
Cable TV

Sleeping arrangements

Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Bedroom 2
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 sofa bed, 1 couch

House Rules

No smoking
No parties or events
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Self check-in with lockbox

Accessibility

Well-lit path to entrance
Accessible-height toilet

Availability

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check-in
Value
Joel User Profile
Joel
April 2018
Great location. Close to Pahoa town and tide pools. Excellent communication with host.
Debra User Profile
Debra
April 2018
Anselmo and Eva Marie were the best hosts. They met us at check-in with shell leis that they put on us in greeting. It was a memorable moment because we were not on vacation but moving here. This house was perfect for our first home in Hawaii. We loved the location. Close to Pah…
K Genevieve User Profile
K Genevieve
January 2018
The space was just what we needed. Hosts were kind and hospitable above and beyond what would be expected. They gave us great tips, they left us beautiful flowers, they brought us coffee. It was these little gestures that made the trip extra special. Thank you so much! I hope to …
Rhonda User Profile
Rhonda
September 2017
Hale Kapuna was a great place to stay! Great amenities with great tangerines, bananas and liliquoi in the yard! Anselmo and Eva Marie were just amazing hosts. If we needed anything, Brenda and Jeff? were there asap to make things right. Will definitely recommend to friends and fa…
A User Profile
A
February 2017
The location is great. Very central to a bunch of magical things. Waterfalls in Hilo, the quirky town of Pahoa, the warm pools and beaches of every color. I will say that I would be a bit disappointed if I were just coming for vacation. But if you're coming to Puna not to be indo…
A.T. And E.M. User Profile
Response from A.T. And E.M.:
Aloha Emily and Ashley, We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as we are centrally located, being just a fifteen-minute walk to town (Pahoa Town). We sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with our various amenities. As we strive to offer as much as we can and still keep our costs as well as your costs down, for instance in the kitchen. We offer a full-size kitchen with a full-size stove and oven as well as a new full-size refrigerator. Other amenities include a full set of stoneware dishes, various glasses, various pots and pans. We also provide a large microwave oven, blender, toaster, mixing bowls, and various kitchen utensils. Other amenities include high-speed Internet access, Wi-Fi as well as high-speed Internet access through Ethernet at no additional charge. We also offer Time-Warner/Spectrum cable TV with pay per view channels on a flat-screen 34" LCD. Outside we offer a barbecue grill, adequate for a couple or small family. We also offer a stackable washer and dryer and complementary laundry detergent for a few washes. We also offer beach cruiser bicycles to ride around with locks provided. We also provide Boogie Boards and snorkeling gear for the more adventuresome, just ask us and we will provide them to you as well as beach towels. I am not sure what other amenities you had in mind please email us and let us know your thoughts. As we are certainly open to new suggestions. Mahalo (thank you) The A. T. Escobedo ‘ohana (Family) and Associates Owners ~ “Hale Akule Hawaiian Beaches Cottage” and “A Hawaiian Country Home”
February 2017
Madeline User Profile
Madeline
March 2016
From first inquiry sent this experience was nothing but heartwarming and wonderful. Anselmo, Ben and Kim are absolute angels and exhibited the upmost graciousness and kindness. All correspondence was filled with care and done in an exceptionally timely manner. Anselmo so nicely h…
Alan User Profile
Alan
January 2016
I cannot recommend this house as a rental to anyone else in it's current condition. Pros: inexpensive, decent bed, wi-fi, tangerine tree in yard. Cons: the place was dirty, with lots of dust everywhere. At a minimum it needs a thorough deep cleaning. The house's descript…
A.T. And E.M. User Profile
Response from A.T. And E.M.:
We sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with our vacation home rental and that you were unhappy with the dust. This is a “Hawaiian country home away from home.” Just as we have stated on our Airbnb website. In Hawaii, we have birds that sing all morning long and roosters that may wake you in the morning. We even have Coqui Frogs that will hypnotize you to sleep at night. It is true that in Hawaii, we have extreme humidity to deal with on a daily basis. That said, we only have one real option to deal with the humidity; open windows and open doors. In Hawaii, we leave the windows and doors open to allow the airflow to help evaporate the dampness in the air at all times. It is true, that dust may accumulate a bit more than in a dryer or colder climate. We do our best to clean our home the day before guests arrive and (yes, we leave the windows open after we do a cleaning) if things are/were not up-to-par we would have gladly done our best to dust/clean the place to your satisfaction to make your stay with us more enjoyable. If you had requested a more thorough deep cleaning and had brought it to our attention while you were on-island we would have corrected the issues you state and we would have gladly done as you requested, because If you were unhappy; then we are unhappy as we strive to live up to your expectations. According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary: A Simple Definition of Renovate: “to make changes and repairs to (an old house, building, room, etc.) so that it is back in good condition.” We have renovated the home with a New Refrigerator, New Stainless Kitchen Sink, New Stainless Kitchen Faucet. We have also refurbished the solid oak wood floors. We have provided you a New Queen-size bed, New drapes, New curtains, New bed furnishings, New bath towels and accessories. All appliances, fans, plumbing, etc. are in working order as is the washer and dryer. Free Wi-Fi, Free Time Warner Cable, Free Netflix, a fresh fruit basket with Hawaiian Coffee, fresh cut Hawaiian flowers, a fully appointed kitchen in which to cook meals indoors as well as a brand new Barbeque grill to cook outdoors in the beautiful landscaped garden. All for the unheard of price less than a nights stay at a Motel 6 that is usually less than 200 square feet of living space. . . It is true that we do not have a covered place to sit outside undercover (with the exception of the covered carport), in all fairness we never stated that we had such a place. All photographs accurately and clearly represent our place as it is, a “Hawaiian country home away from home.” We represent our vacation rental as it is, a simple “Hawaiian home away from home”. Our prices reflect what you are getting as we are one of the lowest-priced homes to be able to rent and stay on “The Big Island” of Hawaii for an entire house with two-bedrooms and one bath as well as the covered carport. Unfortunately, the Hawaiian island life is not for everyone. We sincerely apologize that we could not make you happy with our “Aloha spirit” at our “Hawaiian country home away from home."
January 2016

Hosted by A.T. And E.M.

Joined in January 2014
A.T. And E.M. User Profile
15 Reviews
1 Reference
Verified
We started out looking for a little place by the water, who would have thought that we would have found paradise!. . .We have been very fortunate to have the opportunity to travel this beautiful planet and meet some of its most amazing people! My daughter and I traveled to “The B…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings