Skip to content
Spacious room - private bath #2
Spacious room - private bath #2
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

This large bedroom with big window and a skylight is the second of two rooms offered on the second floor of our home. The large private bath with a bathing tub and shower is just outside your door. Guests have use of a basement kitchen and laundry.

The space

Our large, welcoming second floor bedroom is your private space. You are welcome in the rest of our home including our sun room and on our wrap around porch when the weather permits. We always have short and long term guests living here and willingness to work graciously with the other guests use of the shared bath and the shared kitchen is a must

Guest access

Other than our private bedroom and bath, the house is pretty much your home away for home

Interaction with guests

We lead fairly active lives between work, and spending time with our grown kids and our grandkids. You will see us, for sure, and we enjoy getting to know our guests, but we also understand one's need for privacy

Other things to note

Please note: Our two second floor bedrooms are never rented simultaneously so that an individual, couple, or two family members can have the second floor bath to themselves (private bath). In the case of two couples or 3 or more family members traveling together, the other bedroom can be rented for an additional charge.

Amenities
Kitchen
Essentials
Shampoo
Heating
Prices
Extra people $8 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $53 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Weekend Price $53 NZD / night
Supports Living Wage Pledge
People who clean this host’s listing are paid a living wage. Learn more
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check-in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We only ask that you treat our home and other guests with kindness and respect, and that if you smoke that you do so outside.

You must also acknowledge
Some pet(s) live in the house
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
Availability
1 night minimum stay

8 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Megan User Profile
October 2017
Always clean and comfortable.

Megan User Profile
October 2017
Quiet, peaceful, comfy, and clean

Frank User Profile
September 2017
Great place to stay. Felt like I was staying at home away from home.

Wassim User Profile
August 2017
John and Sheryl were very welcoming and friendly hosts. I stayed there for just under two weeks and it felt like home the entire time. Their dog Indigo is great too. I wouldn't hesitate to stay with them again in the future.

Tanisha User Profile
August 2017
Two of the friendliest hosts you could ever have! Great home and value. Close to Metra train station to get into Chicago.

Brian User Profile
July 2016
We had an amazing experience with John and Sheryl!! The house was very well maintained and beautiful. They provided little 'extras' like water, tea, and coffee. We had no issues with our stay and would love to stay again when the need arises. They were very gracious and friendly. This was our first AirBnB experience and they set the bar pretty high if we were to stay somewhere else. Thank you John and Sheryl for everything!

Azi User Profile
July 2016
We met John and Sheryl after a long trip. They were so welcoming and friendly. They provided for us whatever a guest may need. The house is located in a beautiful and quiet neighbourhood. The room was better than we expected. We had an excellent experience in their house. We are so glad to meet such wonderful hosts. Thanks John and Sheryl

Crete, Illinois, United StatesJoined in December 2014
John And Sheryl User Profile

We live in the home we built and moved into in 1991. I am a remodeling contractor, licensed Illinois home inspector and a landlord. My wife has a house cleaning business. We enjoy traveling and meeting new people and hearing their stories. We've been to Ireland, Belgium, France, Germany and England, Canada and Mexico. We've also seen much of the U. S, traveling by car, plane, train, and most recently by wending our way through its back roads in our motor home. Since 2008 we've been hosting foreign students from China and India in our home, broadening our view of the world even more by looking at it through their eyes.
We love good food, my wife is a fantastic cook, and really savor eating out at good restaurants on occasion. We have a greenhouse and raised beds in our backyard where we grow organic vegetables during the spring, summer and fall.
We joined the Airbnb community in 2015 and have met some interesting and delightful people. We look forward to meeting you.

Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings