End of cul-de-sac on the left. Please park in front of the brown wall. Your entrance is to the right side. The white door.Entrance to the flat. CCTV camera directed at your car and recording who enters the flat.
Clean and cosy 2 bedroom flat.12 min walk to town.
Hosted by Bernie And Nicola
Bernie And Nicola is the host.Bernie And Nicola is a superhost.
5 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
5 guests
2 bedrooms
4 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

WE NOW ALLOW 1 NIGHT BOOKINGS. THERE IS A £20 SURCHARGE FOR THIS. I will contact you via airbnb to confirm you are aware of this charge before approving the booking, then send the alteration request which you also need to approve.
This 2 bedroom flat is a granny flat that attaches to my home. You have your own entrance, kitchen, bathroom and bedrooms. We share a large garden.
A perfect location for golfers, wedding guests and tourists needing a comfortable base to rest your tired feet.

The space

Please take the time to read through the feedback that other guests have left. As much as I would like to sing our own praises, it is much better to hear what previous guests have to say about their experience.

Our aim is to get 5 stars for every aspect of your stay with us. We monitor what other places are charging and try to be competitive and fair. We also use the airbnb suggested pricing as a guide so some days will be more expensive than others.

We use airbnb frequently ourselves as guests and make the extra effort to ensure your experience in St Andrews is a good as it can be.
Communication is the key, so if you have any questions/requests/worries please message us and we will do what we can to address them.

This 2 bedroom self contained flat is attached to the house that I am living in with my wife and 2 children.
If you are wanting a place to party in, please look elsewhere. The street is in a quiet residential part of St Andrews and we would like to keep it that way.
If you are golfers visiting town or tourists looking for a cheaper place to stay than the B and B's, this is a great option. No issues finding a parking space, cooking facilities, Sky TV and washing machine all in one place.

As I am literally next door, if there are any issues you can just knock or send a message and we will try to sort it as soon as possible.
I play golf in St Andrews every week and my wife was born and bred here so we like to think we know a fair bit about the place.
We also eat out a lot so know most of the restaurants in the local area if you need any recommendations.

I am more than happy to give advice on which golf courses to play and how to ballot for the Old Course. Local knowledge is a big bonus!

There are 2 bedrooms. The first bedroom has a double bed and large wardrobe. There is an electric heater in the bedroom and sliding French doors to the back garden.

The other bedroom has a single bed, a pull out single bed and small wardrobe with chest of drawers.

The living room has a 2 seat sofa as well as a pull out single sofa bed.

There is a dining table for 4 people and a well lit open area for cooking and eating.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a fridge, toaster microwave, oven, hob, dishwasher and washing machine. There is NOT a clothes dryer. You are welcome to the hangomg rack or clothesline in thr garden. The kitchen also has 3 stools to as a breakfast bar or another dining area.

You are welcome to use the bbq I imported from Australia as long as you clean it afterwards.

We obviously have a fairly busy guest list and interact with you as much as we are able to (due to work and children) or as little as you want. It is really up to you but please don't expect a 5 star concierge service where we book your flights/transfers/dinner reservations.

We try to be as accommodating as possible to make your trip as enjoyable and hassle free.

For y/our extra safety and security we have had CCTV installed on the outside of the house pointing onto the driveway and parking spots and covering the back yard.

Hope to see you in the Scottish Summer!I

Guest access

Check in is from 3pm onwards. If you are arriving earlier than this and would like to drop off some luggage, we might be able store it in the main house rather than leaving it in your car while sightseeing. This can ONLY happen if agreed to in advance. Please don't just turn up at the door and expect us to look after your stuff for the day.

We try to be there personally to show you around the flat, get you settled, connected to wifi and handover the keys. We would appreciate being told what time you land (at the airport) or are expecting to arrive in St Andrews and be kept up to date with any delays. I understand you may be playing golf in Ayrshire or driving up from England, so plans change. We get that and almost expect it now. We are flexible but need to be kept in the loop so we don't have to stay in the house and wait for hours after your planned arrival. Nicola and I both have phones so all messages via the app get to us immediately.

If you are going to be arriving when we are not home we will message you via airbnb the instructions on getting into the flat and security codes. Communication is very important to us as we can't read your mind so tell us when you are planning on arriving and we try to work around your schedule.

You will be given keys to enter the front door and then a code to enter the 2nd door. There is super fast fibre broadband and the full SKY TV package for movies, kids programs, sports and documentaries.
The kitchen will be stocked with basic cleaning equipment and all utensils.

Check out is by 11am to allow us time to clean up for the next guests.
Please do NOT take the bedding/pillowcases off.
Please hang the towels in the bathroom.
Leave the key on the kitchen bench and make sure the security door is locked as well as the sliding doors.
Just close the front door and pull the handle up.

If you have left any stuff behind, like clothing or anything you want mailed back we will do it but at your cost of postage.

Checking out is pretty simple. Please leave the front door key on the kitchen bench and pull open the blinds as a sign. Make sure the security (coded) door is shut and the front door is closed as well.

A message via the AIRBNB app telling us you are leaving would be really appreciated so we don't have to look into the flat to see if you have gone.

Interaction with guests

As much or little as you like.
We would be happy to give tips/guides about what to see and do in the area as well as some local knowledge about all of the golf courses in the area and some local attractions.
If you would prefer complete privacy and no interaction face to face, please say so and we will do our best to avoid you, but we do live on the same property so are bound to cross paths at some stage.

I will generally message you via the app to see if everything is up to standard and if there is anything I can do to improve the stay while you are with us, not just for the next guest.

Other things to note

CCTV with a hard drive is constantly recording to protect your hire car and golf clubs while parked on the street. It is a very safe and private area but you can never be too careful.
It obviously records who comes into the flat or onto the property at the front and back.


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
TV
Essentials

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Bedroom 2
2 single beds
Common spaces
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in time is 3PM - 10PM
Check out by 11AM
Self check-in with keypad and lockbox

SINGLE NIGHT BOOKINGS: We normally have a 2 night minimum booking but are going to try the single night booking. There will be a £20 surcharge on single night bookings. Please send us a booking request. I will then confirm that you are aware of an additional £20 fee being added to your stay. Once you agree, I will send a "Change booking" request which you need to accept via the airbnb site to keep everything on the airbnb platform.

Please take off shoes before entering the second security door. This ensures the csroet is grit free and dry.

No smoking in or on the property.
I and most guests hate the smell of stale smoke so if you are a smoker, please tell us during the booking process as even the smell of cigarettes on your clothes will require extra cleaning after you leave.
Only pets are pet rocks.
If you are visually impaired and have a guide dog, please make contact as we may bend this rule.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not flush baby/facial wipes down the toilet. We learnt the hard way that this is a great way to block the drains and ended up with a fairly nasty mess to clean up.

Children over the age of 2 will be charged at the price of an extra person if using a bed or linen. I understand the desire to save money but as parents ourselves I know that young children cause more mess and occasional damage to everything.


Cancellations

77 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Rosemary User Profile
September 2017
Easy walk to town. A quiet area, lovely garden right outside the apartment (breakfast in the sunshine), a well equipped large apartment. Recommended.

Cathy User Profile
August 2017
A very nice unit. Very clean and comfortable. A bit of a walk downtown, but not unpleasant. Bernie and Nicola are great hosts.

Mark User Profile
August 2017
Spotlessly clean, very nice and comfortable. Bernie and Nicola had thoughtfully supplied tea, coffee, milk, butter, jam and marmalade. The bus station is a bit further from the flat than the town centre and the beach; we took a taxi which cost less than £5.

Fiona User Profile
August 2017
An amazing apartment! Great location, close to town and lots of parking. Perfect! The appartment was spotless and looked like a recent renovation as everything looked shiny and new. Nicola and Bernie were great hosts too and responded to queries instantly. Check in and out was very easy and flexible. Highly recommend this appartment. It was a home from home!
Bernie And Nicola User ProfileBernie And Nicola is a superhost.
Response from Bernie And Nicola:
Thanks for the glowing review Fiona. We were really honoured that you chose to stay at our place before moving to the Old Course Hotel for the night before your wedding. Over the summer we had at least 8 groups of people staying overnight for friends' weddings but not the actual bride! It was nice to meet you outside the St Andrews Golf Club randomly and I am glad you had a great stay. Congrats!!
August 2017

Penny User Profile
August 2017
This is a convenient and comfortably furnished ground floor flat with plenty of space and everything on hand. It's a 15 minute walk into town and just behind the beach at East Sands. Welcoming and accommodating hosts.

Gillian User Profile
August 2017
Fantastic accommodation for attending a wedding in St. Andrews. Extremely good value for a party of 4. Accommodation vey spacious and very clean. Early check-in to collect keys was accommodated and communication excellent. Bernie recommended a local taxi firm for our transfers and they were brilliant too. Enjoyed a game of trivial pursuit before bed too! All round brilliant, would highly recommend!

Timothy User Profile
August 2017
The property easily came up to our expectations and was a great venue to attend a local wedding. Bernie and Nicola were both very helpful and great hosts.

Saint Andrews, United KingdomJoined in February 2013
Bernie And Nicola User ProfileBernie And Nicola is a superhost.
Nicola was born and bred in St Andrews and I grew up in Melbourne Australia. We met while I was on a six week golf tour of Ireland and Scotland. We have two children who are 10 and 8 years old and we all love to travel. Our favourite destinations are Italy, France and Australia b…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings