Skip to content
Sunny rural aspectNice big room
Character Double (URL HIDDEN) St Ives Old Dairy
Character Double (URL HIDDEN) St Ives Old Dairy
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Lovely large room Original Dairy features.Working locally?Enquire longstay deals Comfortable double Sofa bed,memory foam mattress.With own kettle & fridge in room, and food box..breakfast basics supplied for first day.Adjacent to large farmhouse kitchen for easy access.Facilities include dedicated shower/loo.Ideal all year round for St Ives,Penzance and Poldark country.Music,art,food,festivals,especially The St.Ives September Festival..a delight for music, art,culture, poetry, Open Studios etc

The space

Near Poldark filming locations

Characterful Converted dairy, still with features of original cowshed. This comfortable room is in use by the family at times, but the quality sofa bed allows it to become a comfy guest (URL HIDDEN) has it's own 'in room' fridge and kettle, with a dedicated food box to keep your supplies in, with breakfast basics provided for your first (URL HIDDEN),Wifi,big character farmhouse Kitchen with dishwasher,and recently refurbished Shower & loo through kitchen for use with this space
Cooker,Washing machine and tumble dryer available.

This comfortable warm room hosts 2 guests

Table in sunny courtyard for use by guests at all times
Washing machine in porch £3 - honesty box (for general use)
Tumble dryer in hous(URL HIDDEN)£3 - On request

Clothes airers provided for outdoor and indoor use.
Eco-friendly (& free) option to tumble dryer.

Free fibre optic broadband

No TV, but Iplayer available on devices.

Mobile phone/ 3G signal varies with network in the valley
Premises has booster for phones with EE contract
PayPhone in porch

The spaces are created in such a way that we can all mingle, or be private when we want to be.

For guests staying 5 days or more, food shopping can be arranged in (URL HIDDEN) you can arrive to a stocked fridge.
The balance can be settled on arrival.

The space has old fashioned style with up to date fibre optic wifi technology.
Solar panels provide hot water for the kitchen, and hand basins.
The shower is electric, and hot hot hot...

The mediterrannean style courtyard in the garden is a glorious suntrap.

The location is in accessible rural West Cornwall near to the sophistication of St Ives, and local food of star chefs Ben Tunnicliffe and Rick Stein in Sennen, Porthleven and Falmouth.
As well as the famous St Micheal's Mount and Eden Project, and miles of golden beaches...including world class surf spots.
Lots of local secret spots for lovers of peace & quiet, & hidden Cornwall 'off the beaten track' are nearby too.
Great for walkers,cyclists and nature lovers.
Historians too, with standing stones and ancient villages and churches in the locale.
Beautiful subtropical gardens abound in the area for plant lovers...or can be visited just to enjoy the tearooms..
National Trust members have some nearby locations too.

The Isles of Scilly are a worthwhile daytrip on the boat from Penzance, or plane from Lands End.

The house is a lovely spot to start and end your day at..

Guest access

You'll be able to use the large communal farmhouse kitchen, the downstairs shower & loo shared only with the host ,wifi,washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher & the sunny courtyard

Interaction with guests

I am available for ESOL lessons with prior booking..

Socially,I am at home, or nearby quite alot.
I have my own Cabin in the garden,which is private & unobtrusive to guests, when am not in my own part of the house.
Sharing only the kitchen with guests.

Although I work, and have sports & other interests that I go out to.....
Which gives guests the chance to enjoy the lovely space all to themselves too
I enjoy meeting people & chatting, finding out about my guests, & helping them with information about the area
Maps, guidebooks etc are available in the house and I am happy to show you good places to go & give personal recommendations.

Nonetheless I respect people's privacy, and enjoy mine too.

The spaces are created in such a way that we can all mingle, or be private when we want to be.

Other things to note

If Barbara ,your host, is unable to greet you, she will make sure you have been fully informed about everything you need to know before you arrive.

Free parking on premises
Wireless Internet

Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 5PM - 9PM
Check out by 10AM
Security deposit is $130


To enable everyone to be relaxed and comfortable please be considerate of others and the space by:-
Showing respect towards everyone else in the house & village, in a civil & courteous way
Quiet voices before 8.00 a.m and after 10 p.m please.
No smoking indoors. All butts to be disposed of considerately, and not to be left in the garden.
No loud or offensive behaviour.

Please keep kitchen area, cooker, microwave, toaster & fridge clean.

Do not allow rubbish/recycling to build up.
Recycling Collection Bags & Landfill Bin are outside by front gate for your convenience.
A compost container is in the kitchen for your organic waste.

You are welcome to use the washing machine in the porch.
Thankyou for paying £3 into the honesty pot for each use, towards electricity & water costs.
Racks for outdoor drying are provided, and a dryer rail for inside .

On checkout please strip bedding & put with used towels & bath mats into washing machine, no need to start wash.
Check space for any rubbish that has not been placed in bins, & put it away.
Report anything broken, & replace if possible.
Please wash up before leaving the premises at the end of your stay.

Thankyou for your co-operation.

You must also acknowledge
Cat(s) live in the house


20 Reviews

Check In
Christina User Profile
August 2017
What a nice room to use whilst exploring the area. Breakfast was provided and a shower unit is available for your use only. This was very inexpensive accommodation, in an area of very expensive hotels. I slept well, ate well and went home refreshed. Barbara, is kind and supportive without being interfering. Thank you for a good visit.

Lucy User Profile
August 2017
Great location and great landlady

Pauline User Profile
July 2017
thought I'd try a bit of rural as I was house hunting around st. ives area, stayed 2 nights. Buses were great but don't run on sundays - taxis were good though and reasonable. Felt a bit isolated having no tv, radio or phone system but made up for it by getting out and about and using local services . barbara seemed a nice person when I caught her in the yard and had a quick chat.

Kevin User Profile
July 2017
Very nice place and a quaint little hamlet. We felt like locals in the end. Barb is a great host. friendly without being invasive. very helpful. definatly recomend

Kerri User Profile
July 2017
Barbara's place was lovely and exactly what we were looking for. She was super helpful in helping us locate the house (can be a bit tricky without phone service) and had tons of recommendations for towns and walks for us to check out. Thank you again!

Michal User Profile
May 2017
Very Comfy bed. Close to Penzance and St.Ives. I reccommend this place for everyone !

Sally User Profile
October 2016
Lovely stay, thanks very much

Penzance, United KingdomJoined in July 2013
Barbara User Profile

Hi! I am a Jill of many trades...but over the years have evolved into a Garden Designer & Ethnobotanist, and have worked in many countries - & currently teach Australian horticulture to Australians online!
More recently I qualified as an ESOL teacher, and as well as working locally, I have worked in several schools in the UK, & in Spain.
Am very happy to give English lessons to guests or hosts...

I have travelled alot...hard to pick a favourite place
(Have been as far North as the Lappish Arctic, and as far South as Byron Bay..& LOTS of places in between..having lived & worked in Thailand & Spain too)
But my best adventures always seem to have a boat plants :)

Spend as much time as possible on or near the sea...rowing, sailing & kayaking
Land based activities are walking, cycling, gardening and generally being out in Nature
Borrowing friends dogs for company when possible

Musically..I like most sounds, & always enjoy being introduced to something new...or previously unheard
Films...Like fun ones, not a fan of horror or depressing dramas!
Books...Again, funny ones, or factual based fiction. Like English films & books best, very closely followed by Spanish ones.

Enjoy learning languages, & meeting, photography, spirituality of life.....amongst many other interests!!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings