Skip to content
Entire apartment

THE HEART OF ART IN THE HEART OF NY

THE HEART OF ART IN THE HEART OF NY

2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

The space

I am thrilled to share my home/studio. This is a small one bedroom apartment. It is a second floor walk-up in an old Hell's Kitchen tenement that I would describe as cozy and quiet and a taste of real New York City living.

Location/Location

Start your visit with a jog and/or walk in Central Park, breakfast at Whole Foods, then back to the apartment to freshen up, lunch at any of the fun Ninth Avenue or Tenth Avenue restaurants, then off to Chelsea or to 57th Street to see art or one of the many Broadway or off-Broadway shows. And how can I forget Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, City Center or the Alvin Alley Dance Theatre, also within walking distance? If you're feeling rich, dinner at the Russian Tea Room, or very rich, there is Per Se. Not to mention shopping.

This apartment is a working artist's studio with art all over, including some large, sexually explicit paintings on the walls and pastel paintings in the works. I would prefer to host mature, open-minded people interested in an opportunity to experience art in the making.

The apartment sleeps 2 comfortably with a feather bed cover on a Queen bed, a full bath, a galley kitchen with a full refrigerator. There is also a kettle and a French Press or drip coffee maker. Fresh coffee beans are offered and some tea too. I will provide milk, half and half, etc., just let me know your preference.

There is also free telephone, wi-fi, DVR, cable, HBO and Showtime. A new Smart TV (not seen in the photos). Clean linens and towels provided.

Public Transportation is excellent: the A, C, B, D at Columbus Circle, 57th Street crosstown bus is close, or the N, R, Q are near Carnegie Hall.

Amenities
Wifi
Cable TV
TV
Shampoo
Essentials
Heating
Sleeping arrangements
Common spaces
1 queen bed
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 8AM - 2PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)
Cancellations

71 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Graeme User Profile
June 2016
Kathleen was at the apartment to greet us and settle us in. The location was perfect for, handy to subway, Central Park and great range of local restaurants.

Clare User Profile
May 2016
We had a wonderful time in New York and Kathleen's cozy apartment was the perfect base for it. Her apartment is clean and she provides everything you need and more. The bed is comfortable and the strong shower was highly appreciated after a long day! It is ideally located close t…

David User Profile
October 2017
Excellent apartment in a beautiful neighbor close to anything you want to do! Great communication and friendly host!!!

Craig User Profile
August 2017
Kathleen's place was close to everything we needed for our trip - sushi, subway, times square and central park. And when it was hot and rainy outside, the air conditioning was great and we watched Game of Thrones on HBO.

Nicolas User Profile
July 2017
This experience was great! Centrally located in Manhattan, it's surrounded by restaurants and it's a reasonable walk to many hotspots. Kathleen is a perfect host. Everything is organized and she is very thorough in getting you oriented to the space. Definitely a gem in the c…

Angela User Profile
May 2017
This studio apartment is in s great location for enjoying New York.

Giacomo User Profile
April 2017
This is the best place you will ever find in NY, close to main attractions, walking distance to central park and metro station. The place is really nice and confortable. Kathleen is really lovely person.

Hosted by Kathleen

New York, New York, United StatesJoined in August 2012
Kathleen User Profile
74 Reviews
1 Reference
Verified
I'm an artist, most recently doing portraits. I love NYC, art, food, movies and books (mysteries in recent years). I lived for 5 years in Paris, France (my French is surprisingly mediocre) and I would like to begin spending more time in Rome, Italy (I'm studying Italian); whe…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings