Left side of the loungeroom
Cosy artist cottage in exceptional location

Private room

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Nestled in one of Melbourne's most sought after suburbs, our place is in the heart of Fitzroy North with Edinburgh Gardens, countless local bars, Piedimonte's supermarket and the beautiful Merri Creek trail and bike tracks all just a stone's throw away. With iconic Brunswick street just down the road, you'll be spoilt for choice: incredible music venues, street art, galleries, bars and cafes. Come and check out your home away from home and make your Melbourne experience an unforgettable one.

The space

The house is a modest, double brick miners cottage. Pretty old (particularly the bathroom) but bursting with character and quirks, it is made up of 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom/laundry (with washing machine) and an open plan kitchen/dining/lounge space which backs onto a leafy courtyard and typical inner north, blue stone laneway. We have a projector installed in the lounge as well as a very decent sound set up for music/movies.

There is a bbq and outdoor seating in the backyard which is perfect for low-key weekend drinks. I'm an artist so the house has plenty of art throughout.

Guest access

Your room is fitted out with a double bed, work desk and wardrobe space and is great for a single person or a couple.. or just two people who don't mind sharing a bed, if that's your thing.

My girlfriend and I stay in the other room so aside from that room, you have complete access to the whole house and all facilities. We are both artists who work and study different hours so are at home at varying times.

Interaction with guests

We're friendly and approachable and happy to help you enjoy your time with us in any way we can. We've been in this spot for 2 years now so have a few local tricks up our sleeves.

We are quite sociable, particularly in the evenings and enjoy our friends popping in for impromptu courtyard drinks and snacks. It's a beautiful, relaxed vibe- If you like to socialise then you are welcome to hang out, but you are also perfectly able to just close your door and keep to yourself, that's fine too. It's all fairly relaxed so whatever works...

Other things to note

If there is anything else you want to know just give me a call or send an email.

Oh, also we have a cat... His name is Alfred and he's very docile and sociable and loves the sunshine. If you have a cat allergy or have a deep loathing of cats, this will not be the place for you.


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check Out: 12PM (noon)
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Private room

Amenities
Free parking on premises
Internet
Smoking allowed
Wireless Internet

Prices
Extra people $23 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $11 NZD
Weekly Discount: 10%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 double bed
Common spaces
1 couch

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)

The golden rule really is just to be respectful. Treat our house like you would the house of a close friend, be kind and honest and we will all get along swimmingly. The place itself is small so cleaning up after yourself is imperative:
- Please wash up after cooking
- Please keep the common rooms/bathroom tidy.
- Feel free to eat the food/drink the drinks but be sure to replace things.
- Keep it relaxed, have fun and don't be shy to ask questions.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit

Availability
1 night minimum stay

14 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Grzegorz User Profile
June 2017
The host canceled this reservation 7 days before arrival. This is an automated posting.

Jasmine User Profile
May 2017
This is my first time in an air bnb and I loved it. It felt like I was at home. The room was large. The bed was comfortable. So many beautiful paintings in the house. The area is great. It's in such close proximity to the city. Also there is a supermarket close by. Jason and Freya were great hosts. Nice meeting you both! I would definatly love to stay there again next time I'm in Melbourne.

Jim User Profile
April 2017
Great location for eats & tram. Older house, ask when next party planned, and vacate! ( or join )
Jason User Profile
Response from Jason:
We did NOT have a 'party' when Jim was here. We had 5 friends over on Saturday night, who sat out the back of the house on the other side of 2 closed doors and everyone was gone by midnight!
April 2017

Uli User Profile
April 2017
Nice couple in a bit different location.

Marcus User Profile
April 2017
Cool art place. The owner makes art of everything and there is a feeling there that is one of its kind

Alexis User Profile
April 2017
Wow, it was perfect. I stayed 10 days, at the end it was like my home in Melbourne. The location is perfect. Jason and freya are so nice, they are available, flexible and know how to leave you space. In summary a beautiful house where it is good to live. I highly recommend it.

Excellent location. Great host and I would stay there again.

Melbourne, AustraliaJoined in January 2014
Jason User Profile

Hiya :)
I'm an actor and a visual artist based in Melbourne. I have just this year gone back to study at uni and when I am not there, I work out of my studio and at home. I enjoy getting together with pals, having picnics in the gardens and going to shows, gigs, local galleries and movies.

I love hosting on air bnb cos meeting new people from all over the place helps me to feel like I'm travelling too :) I keep to myself mostly but am more than happy to have a drink and a chat and share a meal if you're keen- otherwise I'm just as happy to leave you to your own devices- whatever you like, it's your holiday. If this sounds good to you, you're more than welcome to come hang out with me, my girlfriend and my cat at our place in Fitzroy North :)

The neighbourhood

Similar listings