The real gem of the apartment once spring arrives: the secluded deck and lawn, which is the heart of the garden area. Note the south-western style fire pit, and the gas fired barbecue. Looking from the elevator entry across to the far end of the large living room. Note the lovely ash floors which extend throughout the apartment.
Big, sunny garden apt in Brooklyn
Hosted by Matthew
Matthew is the host.
6 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
2 baths
6 guests
3 bedrooms
5 beds
2 baths
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
6 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Modern, comfortable, family-friendly and sun-filled, our spacious 2nd floor home is in the heart of one of New York's most vibrant neighborhoods. Visit the cool new bars and restaurants, or sit peacefully on our wooden deck with a glass of rose.

The space

We're one floor up, but the elevator opens directly into a large wood-floored living area, comprising of a large teak family dining table, cozy sofas and a well-stocked kitchen, complete with washer-dryer, and dish-washer. There's a queen-sized bed in the front guest bedroom, desk and plenty of storage. At the rear of the floor-through apartment is the master bedroom, with en-suite bathroom. The second full bathroom is in the main hallway. The rear guest bedroom has bunk-beds and a modern day-bed - ideal for the kids.
Adjoining the back bedrooms you'll find our beautiful slate-floored porch, which has room to play, eat a meal, or just sit and contemplate the expanse of green across the back gardens. We've made it very comfortable for all ages. Walk down our metal staircase to the decked walkway, which will take you to one of our apartment's biggest highlights, a large rear garden with full furnished deck, complete with a grill for barbecuing. There's also a healthy lawn for sitting or playing. We feel so happy having bought a home (nine years ago now) with a lovely outdoor space, despite being in one of the hippest urban environments in New York. There is individually controlled air-conditioning in each room, and constant hot water. Our easy-to-use appliances are reliable, and we like to cook, hence you'll hopefully find all you need for every kind of entertaining imaginable.
We have evolved into a fairly family-centric building, with kind and thoughtful neighbors who tend to get along. But everyone is relaxed and respects each others space, so we are confident you will enjoy the great mixture of privacy and great local amenities for going out, day and night.

Guest access

We intend to be hosting from afar, and therefore you will have the run of the place entirely.

Interaction with guests

We won't be in the neighborhood or the city during your stay, beyond (hopefully) welcoming you and showing you around. We will be available online most of the time, and via US cell.

Other things to note

This is condominium living, so there are routine things that we will need you to take care of yourself, such as some very basic garden maintenance; putting trash and recycling in the appropriate places in the basement. We won't expect you to empty the mailbox, but we also have a management company which we all pay for, who can handle any large practical emergencies. Our neighbors will also know you are coming, and will be able to give limited help and advice on most matters.
There are several new condo buildings being built without a block radius, which does mean some daytime noise, but so far it has not impacted badly on us at all. We have no reason to think it will be a nuisance unless you are expecting total peace and quiet in the daytime (in which case, New York ain't for you).


Amenities
Lift
Wheelchair accessible
Washer
Dryer

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $215 NZD
Security Deposit $1434 NZD
Weekly Discount: 14%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events

Treat our home like you'd treat your own, would be the most obvious rule of thumb. Having two children aged 8 and 6, we are not precious about everything being perfect, and accidents happen. But honesty and accountability are import to us, and we'd ask that you respect our furnishings and property, and let us know if things get broken or go wrong.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card

Availability
5 nights minimum stay

3 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Dave User Profile
July 2017
Matthew's home is beautiful and comfortable. We were so happy to have a special space where our little one could read and play. As adults, we were also treated- The house was just as described and even better than the photos. Matthew and his family were very generous and accommodating. Thank you for everything!!

Susanne User Profile
August 2015
After weeks of travelling with two little children we found Matthews and Heathers Apartment to be an oasis. It is really lovely decorated with all the amneties one could wish for. The owners, though we didn't meet them, were always available when we had questions. Also, Matthew seemed to have gone out of his way to make sure we knew everything about the apartment and the neighbournood. Additionaly wie were greeted with a bottle of Chardonnay. So far our best AirBnB experience!

Heinz-Uwe User Profile
August 2015
Wir hatten zwei angehme Wochen, in dieser liebevoll eingerichteten Wohnung. Mit Lift direkt in den eigenen Flur. Die gut ausgestattete Küche mit Wohnzimmer und das Gästezimmer liegen nach vorne zur Washington Avenue,das Masterschlafzimmer, mit eigenem Bad und das Kinderzimmer liegen auf der Rückseite und haben Zugang zum Balkon mit Treppe zum Garten. Die Ausstattung war mehr als komplett, wir haben aber weder die Küche, noch Fernseher benutzt sondern Abends die verschiedenen Restaurants in der Umgebung probiert. Insgesamt war die Umgebung deutlich ruhiger als Manhattan und auch hier gibt es viel zu sehen. Die Anbindung an den öffentlichen Nahverkehr ist mit zwei Buslinien "vor der Tür "super und mit dem gut ausgebauten U-Bahn Netz kommt man flott voran. Das 7 Tageticket für 31 $ amortisiert sich schnell und erspart den Kleingeld Zwang im Bus! Die Kommunikation mit Matthew war angenehm und unkompliziert. Für alle, die etwas abseits vom großen Trubel,in New York eine Wohnung suchen kann ich diese nur empfehlen. Platz für 3 Erwachsene und 2 Kinder. Ein Balkon und ein kleiner Garten mit Grill. Ein angenehmer Platz, um sich vom anstrengenden Sightseeing zu erholen. Unsere Empfehlung!

New York, New York, United StatesJoined in August 2014
Matthew User Profile

I'm a New Yorker of 14 years, but born and bred in England. I'm married to Heather, who hails from Michigan, and we have two children, Safia 8, and Jasper 6.
We have lived in this great apartment ever since we bought it right at the beginning of 2008. Until 2 years ago I worked for BBC Radio and online, with some TV work thrown in. For the past few years I have been working at United Nations headquarters in Manhattan. I get to travel a fair bit for work, as does my wife, who is an accomplished playwright, actress and educator.
We love Brooklyn and our neighborhood, which has changed pretty dramatically in the past 8 years. Just one example, the wonderful local bar opposite, The Bearded Lady, used to be a very funky hair salon, that was open almost as late, but without the cocktails. The bar named one of its first bespoke drinks in their honor - The Kinky Krowne. I am an urbane, well-travelled guy, who loves London and Paris as much as NYC, but I think Brooklyn is the best place going, for its amazing mix of people and places and healthy attitudes to living and life. Another great thing about here, is that there is a world class beach just 25 minutes away by car - you can't get that in the other iconic cities, and we love taking advantage of that.
We are confident that our own very eclectic range of tastes, and styles (we have a kind of Middle Eastern, Mexican, Mediterranean, British kind of mix going on) is reflected in our warm home. It's definitely a good place for kids, but they're by no means obligatory. We like to live as well as our means can afford, so food, drink, comfort and new tastes and perspectives, are all part of the mix here.

Languages: Français

The neighbourhood

Similar listings