Private room & parking by Getty and UCLA

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

Private room in quiet but friendly home.

UCLA: Approx. 6 mins. driving - Bus: 15 mins (Bus is direct - only one stop in between house's stop and UCLA's first stop; nice route).
Bus: at end of the block.

Getty: 5 min. walk

This option offers the privacy of a room (no curtain - walls & doors w/glass) with a very good size closet, furnished with a twin bed, desk & chair and with natural light from a skylight.
Since bathroom is shared, it is checked periodically to keep it clean.

The space

The room is approximately 100 ft sq., and it can either open to living room or be an independent room from living room by keeping a sliding door closed. It is furnished with a twin size bed, and desk/chair and a small fridge.
The environment is quiet to allow for studying and resting.
No drugs or smoking allowed.
This is a good fit for guests who prioritize the following for a low fee considering the high cost of this area:
(1) Private space, (3) Parking without having to read many signs and having to move your car to avoid a ticket. (3) Saving time and gas to get to UCLA or the Getty, since you avoid the traffic congestion that less expensive areas would require, (4) Having the option for public transportation, (5) A quiet environment where you can study or rest (6) a place where people respect your privacy yet are friendly.

Guest access

The use of fridge and microwave are always available. I do not have a big kitchen as it could be expected in this area therefore I kindly request that you let me know if you plan to use the stove at the beginning of our correspondence.

Other things to note

This space compares in price to renting a couch in the area but it offers the privacy of a room when sliding door/section is kept closed from living room. The doors/partitions are wood, not a curtain, as seen in the pictures. However when you close all the doors/partitions you loose the windows. The skylight provides natural light and there is an air filter also for your use. The air conditioning is also excellent.

Please let me know in advance about stove-cooking plans so that I can confirm with you if I can accommodate.

The bedroom and bath are cleaned before guest arrives but guest has to maintain it clean.
Please note that this room does not have a carpet to hide dirt. The hardwood floors are dark and any dust may show. The daily fee does not include daily cleaning but those interested in discussing additional cleaning services may add them for a fee.

Thanks!


The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1 (Shared bathroom)
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: Anytime after 4PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room

Amenities

Prices
Cleaning Fee: 28
Security Deposit: 423
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 single bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 4PM

I ask that the guest is considerate and polite. We would like to keep a quiet environment so that guests can study and/or rest.

No smoking in house areas.

Quiet time 11 pm to 9 am.
Please no guests.
Clean after yourself and leave things as you found them.
Trash goes in Black bin and recyclables in blue by shrubs, around the garage.
If you plan to cook, to work from home or if you are interested in a 28 day stay or longer please do not book without confirming with me first.


Cancellations

Strict

Cancel up to 7 days before your trip and get a 50% refund. Cancel within 7 days of your trip and the reservation is non-refundable.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

11 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jermaine User Profile
August 2017
Worth it for a short stay. Nice host.

Jonathan User Profile
April 2017
Maria is very accommodating and just an overall nice lady to boot. The place is as described and perfect if you're looking for a place to camp out while on business. Highly recommended!
B User Profile
Response from B:
Thank you Jonathan. You are always welcome!
April 2017

Patricia User Profile
April 2017
Maria was a great host and was very nice and accommodating with my check-in. The place is somewhat dated and would probably be best suited for students on a budget.
B User Profile
Response from B:
Although I have had guests who tell me I have a nice house, my house is not perfect. However, I have seen many “dated” houses (love real estate shows) and this house is very pretty in comparison. To be objective: The room is exactly as shown in the pictures, with mahogany doors and floors. The bathroom is tile with a double sink, a good size shower, a large mirror, and a mahogany door in a hallway with hardwood floors. A fee of $40/night covers Airbnb’s fees, A/C or heating, a private room (furnished), cleaning to prepare for your arrival, linens and towels (clean at arrival), kitchen use, wifi and parking. All of us who choose this neighborhood also pay a premium to have a 5 min. drive to UCLA (or public transportation) and a safe environment. Comparable parking in the area is $15/day. Housekeeping for a day is $200. Rooms in the area are around $165/night. Patricia is a very pleasant person but learning that she comes from a very affluent background I was surprised when she booked this room since she could have booked so many “perfect” rooms in the gorgeous mansions/hotels in the area (although paying a lot more). She said she just wanted a simple room to spend the night while visiting UCLA and I can understand that since I wish I had a room like this one when I go visit my daughters in the East coast and I pay 3 times as much for a smaller room with fewer amenities. I kindly ask that guests remember the benefits they choose this room for and review it accordingly, for value not on a standard that would have cost 4 times as much. Thank you!
April 2017

Willa User Profile
May 2016
Maria was home to welcome me, show me around and had a parking space reserved for me.

Joanne User Profile
April 2016
Maria was a great host. She was great at communicating before, during, and after my stay, and was very hospitable and accommodating. As a student, I was able to study in peace during the month I stayed there. She is a very caring and honest person, and I would recommend staying here.

Junpu User Profile
August 2015
The host is a great person. I was late due to my flight and rental shuffle. By the time I got to the place, it's already 1AM (host usually go to bed by 10PM). That's super sweet to someone you never meet before. During the stay, host has kept the place nice and quite. You can access bathroom easily. Oh, one more thing, this place is right across the highway from Getty Center.

Tabitha User Profile
August 2015
Maria was very kind and friendly. This room is small, but the neighborhood is very nice. The house is in a good central location.

This host has 28 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Joined in December 2014
B User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings