Kitchen, living room, dining room, music room, office, study, etc.

Entire home/apt

2 guests

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

About this listing

My apartment is small but comfortable, in a neighborhood that is friendly if not glamorous. VERY close to 1 train, close to A train. My fluffy, funny cat stays home while I travel, and I like her to have company. I am told she is a good host.

The space

Here's what you should know:
-1 bedroom in upper Manhattan, good for one person or couple
-2 minute walk to Dyckman St. stop on 1 train; 8-minute walk to Dyckman St. stop on A train
-AC, heat always comfortable temperature

-about two minutes per day of cat care requested (simply replenish water and dry food, and scoop litter--which is really easy)

Notes:
I book guests when I travel, and sometimes there will be more than one guest without me being home in between to clean. This means you might have to change sheets yourself, and I expect the place to be exactly as you found it when you leave.

The cat always stays in the apartment. She has very long fur, and sheds quite a bit. I do my best with the cat hair, but even so, there is inevitably some accumulation, especially after a few days. If this will be a problem for you, you might want to seek an alternative. I do have appropriate cleaning tools at the apartment--I don't expect you to use them, but you may if it bothers you. Many people have stayed and not been bothered by it, but a few have, so I include it here for the sake of full disclosure.

Guest access

One full-sized bed.
Full-sized appliances, smaller appliances
WIFI
Large screen computer, great for movie watching on Netflix/Amazon etc. (but no TV)
My passes to Met museum (including Cloisters) and New York Botanical Garden

Interaction with guests

I only book guests when I travel, so you'll be on your own!


The space
Accommodates: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Pet Owner: Cat(s)
Room type: Entire home/apt

Amenities

Prices
Extra people: No Charge
Cleaning Fee: 14
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)

PLEASE leave things the way you found them. Sadly, I will leave an unfavorable review if I find things unwelcoming and in disarray. I'm not overly picky, just nothing extreme please. (Basically, don't completely trash the apartment and I'll be fine!)

Take off shoes, please.

Please take all your belongings (personal care items, towels, any food you might have purchased) with you. Thank you!

You must also acknowledge
Pet(s) live on property

Cancellations

Moderate

Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.


Safety features
Smoke detector

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

58 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Camille User Profile
August 2017
Abby was very kind in allowing me to drop my bags off before check-in. Her cat Gretchen is also very sweet and I enjoyed my time with her. Unfortunately, I could not stay longer than one night and moved to another AirBnB. It isn't suitable for two people nor is it clean enough for someone to pay money to stay. The place smelled of litter, which has very strong chemicals that even when opening the one and only window it doesn't go away. The litter box is RIGHT NEXT TO THE BED. The cat also uses it in the middle of the night, spending at least 5mins in there (twice during the one night I stayed) and she scratches at the bin, the pole, the wall so it's easy to wake up to. There is loose litter all around the litter box and so you have to keep you shoes on if you don't want to step in it. There's a rug in front of the door that I was told not to leave my shoes on because the cat throws up on it. Another reason to keep your shoes on because you have walk on the rug to get to the living room or bathroom. The guest towels smelled of mildew. The place is so cluttered (worse than in the photos) there is nowhere to put any of your things. And if there are two of you, there is only one chair to sit in and the other person will have to use the bed. The bed and linens didn't feel clean either. It was loud outside (not the problem), but I couldn't close the window because of the smell in the house. I've never stayed in a place that felt so uncomfortable and unclean. It's also far north from the city, so if you're staying to go into the city be ready for long commutes. It may not worth the price considering you will be spending more time and money to get around.

Debra User Profile
July 2017
Good space for one person or very-in-love couple who will not eat in; it's far north so always check subway lines before booking (1 train was out for repair, leaving only the A train, not counting buses); be respectful of your elder, kindly Gretchen the cat

Francesco User Profile
July 2017
Great place if you are easy. Great value for the money, anything equivalent in Manhattan. You just count half an hour to get to downtown.

Jordan User Profile
June 2017
Abby was great!

David User Profile
May 2017
Abby's home was lovely, and her cat Gretchen was a gracious host. The apartment location is very close to the subway, the neighborhood has good Mexican food, and the building has surprisingly awesome washers/dryers.

Henry User Profile
December 2016
Pretty cheap place that's a little bit out of the way but close to public transit. Don't try to get too close to Gretchen

James User Profile
December 2016
Cute place! Close to restaurants and the 1 and A subways.

New York, New York, United StatesJoined in September 2012
Abby User Profile

Professional violinist with a cat. I'm a native of Boston, and moved to New York in August 2010. Besides music and cats, I enjoy coffee, documentaries, museums, reading, and exploring New York, which still feels new and exciting to me. And I do genuinely like having guests!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.

Similar listings