When it is summer you can sit outside on your own balconyThere is a small desk which you can also use as a table
Sunny single room with balcony near city center
Sunny single room with balcony near city center

Private room

1 guest

1 bedroom

1 bed
Please set the number of adults.
Please set the number of children.
Ages 2 - 12
Please set the number of infants.
Under 2
1 guest maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

This cozy and comfy room with a sunny balcony is for solo travelers. You have a great view over the petting zoo of the city park, and you can see the famous Domtower. Downtown is a 15 minutes walk through the park, popular for running, sports, picnic, BBQ or just being lazy.
If available you can combine this one with the 'sunny double room' next to you.
Central Station, as also Utrecht University is 12 minutes per bus, which run regularly. Amsterdam is 25 minutes by train

The space

The house is situated in a quiet street at the Griftpark. Your room (3 x 3) is on the first floor of the house and has a beautiful view over the petting zoo of the park. The room has all amenities you need to prepare your own coffee/tea/breakfast/lunch (a fridge, water boiler, microwave and a sink with hot/ cold water).
Smoking is allowed aslong as you smoke on the balcony.
Opposite your room is a (shared) spacious bathroom, equipped with a bath, walk-in shower and toilet.

Guest access

You'll have access to your private room and the bathroom.

Interaction with guests

I will not be around all the time, but when I am, I am always happy to answer questions and/or give information about stuff to do in Utrecht.

Other things to note

Third party booking is not allowed.

The space
Accommodates: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Bed type: Real Bed
Bedrooms: 1
Beds: 1
Check In: 12PM (noon) - 10PM
Check Out: 11AM
Room type: Private room


Cleaning Fee: 17
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in time is 12PM (noon) - 10PM

- 3rd party booking is not allowed.
- For safety reasons visitors are not allowed unless otherwise discussed.
- Please keep the noise level down between 10 PM and 9 AM.
- Switch off the lights in daytime and when you are asleep.
- Turn off the heating when you open the window(s) and turn it low when you are gone for hours/ the whole day.

You must also acknowledge
Amenity limitations - You cannot use the kitchen and cook diner for yourself



Cancel up to 5 days before your trip and get a full refund. Cancel within 5 days of your trip and the first night is non-refundable, but 50% of the cost for the remaining nights will be refunded.

3 nights minimum stay

82 Reviews

Check In
Ben User Profile
August 2017
After flying 21 hours from Australia and notifying the host that I will be 1 hour late for check in, the host was not flexible or happy with that and as a result I felt unwelcome by the host the whole time I was there. Room was nice, location was nice, however the host was not very welcoming.
Tineke User Profile
Response from Tineke:
Delayed because of transport problems is never a problem. Delayed for 1 hour because a guest decides to first do some shoppings and a relaxed walk through town before going to the listing is not so polite. I do not like it when a guest acts like it is a hotel.
August 2017

Mun User Profile
July 2017
Lovely balcony, close to public transport! 30 mins walk to central, 10 mins bus, quite convenient. However, limited check-in time and some hidden rules like not allowed to use shampoo & shower gel inside bathroom...i hope i could know it earlier. The host need to check the room before check out, it's normal in hotel however, in airbnb, i felt not being trust. Host is also not very helpful in answering question like where to store the luggage if there's just limited check in time. Overall, a lovely room to stay but host make me feel not being welcome.
Tineke User Profile
Response from Tineke:
As I wrote you 3 days before your arrival : "A guest cannot expect to check in any time he/she wants because then a host will never have a private live. That is why I always emphasise that the airbnb system is not based on 24/7 reception, and ask you 6 weeks before your arrival to let me know asap what time you like to check-in so I can arrange my schedule according to your wishes. Since you did not gave any notice, the only moment to check in now is between 19.00-21.00. Luggage storage? I do not know." In short, you created your own problem by not communicated with me timely, even when I gave you all chances to discuss your time of arrival. The same happened when you were here and did not checked what was yours as a guest but grabbed whatever you needed in the bathroom and used gel and shampoo of other guests. What we share in common is that when a guest is solely focussed on what to get and has no focus on what to add, this guest is not very warmly welcomed.
July 2017

Tera User Profile
July 2017
Tineke is a wonderful host! Her guide to restaurants, coffee shops, grocery stores, and public transportation in Utrecht was incredibly helpful to me. The room I stayed in was perfect and had a gorgeous view of the park. I loved it.

Małgorzata User Profile
July 2017
It was really nice to stay with Tieneke, she's a great host and makes you feel very comfortable at her place. The room was exactly what I needed and balcony with a view on the park was lovely! :)

Qiang User Profile
June 2017
Thanks for Tineke's host, I felt really relaxed after return from my work. She is a very nice person and she really enjoys her life, which I can tell from her sunny smile. The house is beautiful and clean, and very well equipped. I got everything I need from Tineke. I would suggest to anyone coming to Utrecht.

Heather User Profile
June 2017
Utrecht is a town, yet you will feel like staying at a countryside here There is a small balcony that just prefect for chilling with snacks or breakfast and at the same time having a great view of the petting zoo opposite. at night, I was in loved with the full sky of stars, with the cooling air and quiet housing environment.. What a great feeling of waking up by the birds and "moo and bleat" from the petting farm. Check in and check out was quite flexible to me. Easily access by public transport. Tineka offered me an ov chip during my stay which is a plus point. I enjoyed my two nights stay with Tineka and would definitely come back again if happen to visit Utrecht in the future.

Romulo User Profile
June 2017
I've had a fantastic stay in Tineke's place! She's kind, fun and very knowledgeable. I learned a lot from her trips to Africa over a nice bottle of wine or a couple of beers. The single room I stayed had a great view from the park outside and it had everything I needed: good wi-fi (with a rangebooster), a minibar fridge, tap water with a mirror, good closet and fantastic bed. Next time I come to Utrecht I will definitely stay with her again. No doubt about it! Really recommended! Only think to keep in mind is that it's not only her own house but her workplace as well, so all house rules must be followed very strictly. If you fail them rest assured Tineke will come to you in a very kind and direct "dutch" way. Not a place for lousy guests!

This host has 31 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Utrecht, NetherlandsJoined in May 2014
Tineke User Profile

I like to travel and also worked and lived in several African countries. When traveling, I prefer public transport to get in touch with local people. For my work I stayed In many hotels and know how important it is to feel at home with friendly people around you and with some space to move. What I often missed myself was hooks to hang my stuff, a mirror, a table to do my work or sit on, a fridge for cold beer, basic facilities for drinking or eating, a good matrass and a quiet place to sleep. I hope I have created a place for you to feel comfortable and welcome.
Although I will not always be around, please ask if you want some information or when you need anything. What I expect from my guests is that they also respect my privacy and nightrest so take it easy in the evening, even when you have a drink and a good time.

Languages: Deutsch, English, Nederlands
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Exact location information is provided after a booking is confirmed.
Similar listings