2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
Please set the number of adults.
Adults
1
Please set the number of children.
Children
Ages 2 - 12
0
Please set the number of infants.
Infants
Under 2
0
2 guests maximum. Infants don’t count toward the number of guests.
You won’t be charged yet

Comfortable, clean double bed in a bright corner of a walkout basement with a large window. Bathroom access may be shared when multiple rooms are booked. Includes access to family/game room.

The space

Room is located in a walk out basement, removed from the busier main living areas of the house, making it very quiet and private. One other bedroom, as well as the family room (with a couch, a pull out bed and an inflatable mattress) are available for extended parties.

Guest access

Room is located immediately to a large family/game room that includes a TV, pool table and Foosball table. A separate rear entrance is also found in that same family room. During the summer season, the swimming pool may also be accessed by guests. A fire-pit, grill, yard games, and a swing are also available for guest use. Kitchen area is on the main floor, Internet access, laundry facilities, and an entire fridge (found in the garage) are all open for guest use upon request. Bikes, basketball hoop, and a large open space behind the house are also available for guest use.

Interaction with guests

We are usually at home and are happy to offer help or directions, recommendations if needed. We love company, let us know if we can help you out!


Amenities

Prices
Extra people $14 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $21 NZD
Security Deposit $211 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Weekend Price $99 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Check in is anytime after 12PM (noon)
Check out by 11AM

We love having company and sharing our home. Sadly, due to allergies, we can't accommodate pets. No smoking. No alcohol. No unregistered overnight guests. No parties.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
1 night minimum stay

38 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Michael User Profile
September 2017
Quiet basement rooms with bathroom, in quiet neighborhood. Not too far from downtown and University, but not too close either

Andrew User Profile
September 2017
A lovely quiet place with lots of space and thoughtful touches. We will stay again if in the area again.

Julia User Profile
August 2017
This guest room is cozy, with a comfortable bed, and built in shelves handy for organizing your things. There is a refrigerator where you can store some groceries, nice when you're staying a few days and don't want to eat every meal out. Great shower (but no tub) in the shared bathroom. The place is very clean, and the separate entry makes it easy to go in and out without bothering others. Brad and April were friendly and flexible. I didn't see them beyond check-in, but that was because of my schedule.

Allison User Profile
August 2017
I had a great stay at Brad and April's -- I felt right at home and free to come and go. When I'm back in Iowa City, they're definitely on my list!

Greg User Profile
August 2017
The room is easily accessed thru their walk out basement. There are 2 rooms for rent with a shared bathroom and shared rec room. They have a full refrigerator for guests to use, and a coffee station and microwave. Very comfortable.

Carol User Profile
May 2017
The hosts were friendly and accommodating. Room and bathroom very clean. Love the smell of sheets and towels.

Jonathon User Profile
April 2017
Great place to stay. The area downstairs is nice along with the separate entrance.

This host has 60 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Iowa City, Iowa, United StatesJoined in October 2012
Brad And April User ProfileBrad And April is a superhost.

We live in Iowa City. Brad is a professor at the University of Iowa and April is an RN. We have 4 grown children who have blessed us with five grandchildren and two on the way! We value family and our LDS faith very highly. We both enjoy travel and visiting new places, learning about people, their culture and history, and exploring natural and historical sites. We like to travel and explore independently and impulsively. We both love sports, working in the yard/garden, home improvement/DIY and being with our family!

Languages: English, Español, Français, Sign Language
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings