De Cango farmhouseVeranda for breakfasts, relaxing or sundowners
De Cango Farm - Cango Caves, Oudtshoorn,
Hosted by Belinda
Belinda is the host.Belinda is a superhost.
3 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
3 guests
1 bedroom
3 beds
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

De Cango is just outside Oudsthoorn, near the Cango Caves and situated at the base of the Swartberg Mountains. The farmhouse is completely off the grid, 'green', using solar power and gas for the oven. We are close to the Oudtshoorn town as well as centrally situated for a day trip to Calitzdorp and Prins Albert. The farm is perfect for hiking, trail running , bird watching and mountain biking.

The space

We are based on the historical farm where the Cango Caves were discovered in the valley at the foot of the Swartberg Mountains. It is a historical site, where nature meets luxury and relaxation. The house is private with en suite bathroom and separate lounge and dining room. We supply firewood and there is private parking and a beautiful garden with outdoor seating area. Our neighbour farm have a restaurant and deli which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner on arrangement. The menu is situated in the house however we can also reserve a table for you beforehand.

Guest access

De Cango is a working farm with Bonsmara cattle, Ostriches and lucerne. We have a tortoise sanctuary on the farm. The guests have access to the entire farm and the entire house.

Interaction with guests

Our farm manager is on hand and our housekeepers are available at your request.

Other things to note

We provide milk, rusks, coffee and tea as a matter of course. Should you require additional supplies then please notify Belinda prior to your arrival and these can be arranged.


Amenities
Kitchen
Washer
Free parking on premises

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed
Common spaces
1 single bed, 1 couch, 1 toddler bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

De Cango house is a non smoking establishment. The farm is in the heart of nature and completely off the grid away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We have created an environment where we would love our guests to feel at home, relax and enjoy our 'piece of paradise.'


Cancellations

54 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Isla User Profile
July 2017
This cottage is gorgeous! Well appointed, remote and with an incredible view. The mountains were covered in snow while we were there and although it was cold, the open fire places made it cozy and warm. What a lovely experience.

Blaine User Profile
July 2017
The farm house is perfect! Everything was as Belinda said it would be and more! This is the ideal location for a weekend getaway, away from your emails, phone calls and the big city life. We found a new appreciation for what it's like be away from it all. The fireplaces are a treat and the outside area is great for an evening braai and night time star gazing. Nonki who is one of the foreman's on the farm was extremely attentive without being intruding and was even willing to help us with a puncture we got offsite. The gravel road is manageable in a sedan or hatchback providing you drive slowly. Be sure to check out De Kombuys at the start of the road for an afternoon drink or dinner. The best meal we've had in ages! Don't hesitate when booking at De Cango, It's a top Western Cape experience!

Louisa User Profile
June 2017
It was a beautiful setting completely off the grid. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely be more prepared with supplies next time....

Gorm User Profile
June 2017
We loved our (too short) stay at De Cango Farm. Perfect location, beautiful house, view and spot.

Lohith User Profile
May 2017
Unfortunately, this turned out to be a really bad experience for us. I'd rate our stay 2/10 for the price we paid. - There was a power cut from 6.30pm to 8am, for most part of our stay - There was no hot water supply for that time period, and it was due to the power cut. It was very cold outside - There was no support staff in the immediate vicinity to ask for help. We were asked to meet them on the other side of the hill in case of any concerns. It was virtual impossible to do that in such scary pitch darkness not knowing the surroundings - Eventually when we did go to the host's place on the other side of the hill, had a bad experience with the dogs and feel lucky to have escaped with a 5min attack rather than sustaining any dog bites. One warning that there would be dogs would have helped! The only good part of the stay was the amazing location. All in all, it was a really bad experience, although both the hosts were sorry about it. I'm sure it's just a bad day for them as well and all that could go wrong went wrong. So, I'd expect at least 50% refund for this stay. If all is well, this place deserves a 9 or 10 on 10.
Belinda User ProfileBelinda is a superhost.
Response from Belinda:
Dear Lohith and Vibha We regret that you had such an negative experience and truly wish that you had called one of the staff or driven 500 metres to our house to let us know. Had we known, we could have flipped the switch on the board and ensured that you had power and hot water. We will definitely offer you a 100% refund. Our dogs have always been a highlight of our guests experience at De Cango and once again we apologise for them barking at you.
May 2017

Wesley User Profile
May 2017
The place was super hidden. The off road adventure to get into the place was an experience! Highly recommended!

James User Profile
April 2017
Hands down the best Airbnb we've ever stayed in. The farm is in an incredible setting, with the backdrop of stunning mountains and a divine night sky. The photos do not do the house itself justice - it's just perfect, designed and equipped so thoughtfully, with a very comfortable bed and a real fireplace! We arrived at night and were greeted by Nonki who had lit us a fire and ensured we were in safely. Well worth the slight detour beyond Oudtshoorn, and our only regret is not staying longer. Would go back in a heartbeat.

George, South AfricaJoined in July 2015
Belinda User ProfileBelinda is a superhost.
We love our homes and the outdoors! The farm, city life and the beach house are special places with fabulous memories where we as a big family come together. We love to meet new people and share our pieces of paradise with them. We enjoy travelling, arts and culture, music, red w…
Languages: English
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings