Skerwink Hostel-Family Rm+Breakfast
Hosted by Martha And Gavin
Martha And Gavin is the host.
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
0 baths
3 guests
1 bedroom
2 beds
0 baths
You won’t be charged yet

We are a cosy, family run hostel located in the remote fishing village of Trinity East. All prices include access to all TAXES, facilities, linen, towels, and BREAKFAST! Join us in one of our private, shared rooms, or tent spaces.


Amenities
Kitchen
Internet
Essentials
Heating

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
Check in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 11AM

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Safety card
Fire extinguisher

Availability
1 night minimum stay

23 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Jerilyn User Profile
September 2017
Excellent Place to stay! Very friendly hosts, a minutes walk from the Skerwink trail, 10-15 min walk from the Port Rexton Brewery and a great place to meet new people! :)

Sarah User Profile
August 2017
While the house has a great atmosphere and vibe and the staff were friendly, we didn't think the value of this place was worth what we paid. For the same price, we often had full houses or cottages to ourselves during our travels in Newfoundland. We decided a fun night in a hostel meeting other travelers would be great. We read about the blueberry pancakes for breakfast, and knew the Skerwink Trail was just down the road. Turns out the managers were out of town so there would be no pancakes. The fresh bread was nice, but they ran out of milk for the cereal since several of the other guests were up and chatty around 6:45am. The power was out from 7-8, so for that reason they started breakfast early. Sound travels and walls felt paper thin.

David User Profile
August 2017
Perfect location right at the start of the Skerwink trail. Brewery and store just a few minutes down the road. The hostel is very clean with great decor and good vibes throughout. Thanks Martha and Gavin!

Vicky User Profile
August 2017
Almost the same price as a hotel, with little privacy and not much comfort. For a hostel, it was clean and fine. Don't expect a B&B situation! Very minimal breakfast was provided and no services. Awful coffee. Horrible road. No water views. Lovely, lovely staff though. Close to good hiking. Amazing view of the stars at night!
Martha And Gavin User Profile
Response from Martha And Gavin:
Hi Vicky, Thank you for your feedback. As you have mentioned in your review, it is clear you did not read through the hostel information when booking with us. This is disappointing as we do our best to outline that we are a hostel with shared accommodation, and not a Bed and Breakfast, through the title of each of our listings, and the welcome emails that we send to all guests when booking, and 7 days before their check-in, outlining the hostel activities, and other helpful information. We never wish guests to have a negative experience, and would have done our best to assist had you spoken to us about your concerns when you arrived. We hope that you nonetheless enjoyed your time in the Port Rexton area. Warm regards, Martha and Gavin
August 2017

Katherine User Profile
July 2017
Lovely one night stay right at the entrance to the skerwink trail and close to the brewery too! A bit futher from Trinity than I thought but no issue for us since we had a car and it was only 10 minutes away. Limited parking if required. Never seen such a clean hostel before and trivia night at the brewery was a fun time.

Jay User Profile
July 2017
This is a great hostel. The kitchen facilities were good, with an included breakfast spread. The stuff to see on the Bonavista peninsula is spread out quite a bit and Port Rexton is a fairly central location from which to base your stay. Staff and other visitors were very friendly and helpful.

Victoria User Profile
June 2017
Right beside the skerwink Trail! Really cool little hostel, clean and staff is really friendly :)

This host has 47 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews
Trinity East, CanadaJoined in July 2013
Martha And Gavin User Profile
Languages: English, Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings