Brand new wallpaper brings some color and joy to the room!Antique king size bed
Queen with Sunroom: University City
Queen with Sunroom: University City
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Large bedroom and sunroom in the Spruce Hill neighborhood. Home located on a bird sanctuary where guests can relax and birdwatch!

Join us if you are visiting UPenn, Drexel or CHOP or just want to stay in an historic neighborhood in Philadelphia.

The space

My wife and I are a young couple who recently purchased our first home in University City. It is a three-story Victorian home and we are renting out two bedrooms on the third floor through AirBnB. As it is just the two of us in the house, guests will have lots of privacy on the third floor.

We have put lots of love into decorating the Queen bedroom for AirBnB guests along with our own family and friends who visit. The bedroom is large and it also features a private sunroom with a table where guests can relax with a cup of coffee and enjoy the view. The room features central air conditioning as well!

Just behind our home is a green space that the neighbors have turned into a bird sanctuary! Guests have a perfect view from the sunroom or, they can head down to the sanctuary to see the birds or relax on a bench. The birds are charming and we have never noticed them to be particularly loud or annoying :)

We have just begun renting out this room, but you can see reviews for the other room we rent here: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/7678587?checkin=01%2F29%2F2016&checkout=01%2F31%2F2016&s=RWJke1OX

We have a toddler. She sleeps through the night, but, like most babies, is an early riser. She gets up around 6:30 and generally we spend most of our time on the first floor after that.

Guest access

The bedroom is accessed through the main house.

Queen bedroom guests will generally have a private bath (unless our other guest room, "Twin Bedroom in University City" is rented out, in which case the bathroom will be shared). We have a mini fridge on the second floor. We are pretty easy-going people, so we can be accommodating should the guest need broader kitchen access.

Wireless high-speed internet is available throughout the house and on the patio.

Interaction with guests

My wife and I look forward to meeting guests who visit our home and are happy to provide suggestions on restaurants, transportation, etc. We both speak French and look forward to welcoming guests from outside the U.S.

Other things to note

We have a small dog (a sheltie) and she is very sweet and cute. She does not stay on the third floor, so interaction with guests should be limited.


Amenities
Free parking on premises

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $15 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

House Rules
No smoking
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for infants (Under 2 years)
Check in is anytime after 3PM
Check out by 12PM (noon)

We are happy to have children stay in our home as well. If you are traveling as a family, you may consider our second bedroom as well, "Twin Bedroom in University City".

We kindly ask smokers to use only the front porch or back patio for smoking.

We may be open to pets coming along, but would want to clear this ahead of time with any guests.

No parties, please :)

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

9 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Alex User Profile
September 2017
My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at Philip and Elise's place. They were wonderful, thoughtful hosts! They happily accommodated our later than expected check-in and they were very accepting of our canine travel companion. The house was beautiful and spacious, brimming with character. And its location was convenient to Penn, where I was interviewing. Our hosts were kind enough to recommend eateries in the area. The only (minor) challenge was finding street parking that allowed longer than two hour stays. After circling the neighborhood a few times, we found a parking place nearby. Though our stay was brief, it was charming and perfectly suited to our needs. We will definitely seek out Philip and Elise's place on future visits to Philadelphia.

Thomas User Profile
June 2016
Philip and Elise are welcoming hosts with a wonderful home. We stayed in the comfortable Queen room and very much enjoyed the sun porch, birds, and views into the canopy. It's a charming neighborhood with a two cafes close by and more eateries only a short walk.

Yeo Jeong User Profile
June 2016
I have stayed at their place a few times now, it is a go-to for me whenever I need to be in Philadelphia. They are great people and wonderful host, their house is beautiful and fully accommodating while the neighborhood is very residential and serene. I very much enjoy staying at their place!

Jane User Profile
June 2016
Philip & Elise are wonderful, fun, welcoming people. They're excellent hosts, their place is beautiful, and I recommend it highly !

Yeo Jeong User Profile
May 2016
I love their house, especially the very beautiful porch attached to the bedroom. Phillip was very accommodating and very welcoming; the neighborhood is beautiful and serene, one of the nicest places to stay in Philadelphia. I would most definitely stay here again when I'm in Philadelphia!

Sien User Profile
May 2016
It was a fantastic experience in Philip's house. It is a beautiful house with a big living room,dining room,kitchen.We lived in a very cozy and clean room with soft bed and bright bathroom that make me feel comfortable to stay there.And The host is a very very nice person that he did everything to make us enjoyable.I would definitely stay there if coming again.

Aaron User Profile
April 2016
They were amazing and we're happy to work with me on arrival times. The apartment was beautiful and the room very spacious, and sound proofed apparently because I leaned the next day that I had slept through a rather bad storm that night.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United StatesJoined in August 2015
Philip User Profile

My wife and I live in University City, PHL. We are originally from North Carolina and California and have grown to love Philly. We love enjoying the great food the city has to offer, the amazing museums, and great outdoor spaces. I work at one of the universities in Philadelphia and my wife works in marketing for a local company.

We love traveling and have spent time traveling and working abroad. We both speak French and have lived in France and the French Guiana and spent time working in West Africa. We have also driven across the U.S. together a few times and love discovering the diversity of our country. We are excited to be AirBnB hosts because we want to meet people from different walks of life and also, help share our new city with those traveling through.

Languages: Français
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a day

The neighbourhood

Similar listings