Skip to content
Bright double in trendy Brixton
Bright double in trendy Brixton
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

The room is a large double and the space arranged over two floors. The flat is cosy and peaceful. I'm a tutor who sometimes works from home during the day time. Vibrant and dynamic Brixton is a 5 minute walk away.

The space

The flat is ideally located. Only five minutes from Brixton tube station (taking you into central London in another 7 minutes), yet in a peaceful quiet back block surrounded by a pretty garden. Beautiful and tranquil Brockwell park is only a 7 minute walk away.

The room is a large double, in a 1940s art deco building. As there are two windows the room is very bright and sunny. The flat is split level over two floors, and so the two bedrooms are separated by a floor from the main living area and kitchen. The flat is on the 5th and 6th floor so you get a feeling of space and relaxation with some nice views despite being located in the middle of the city. In the room available there is a desk, chair, full length mirror, double bed, two bed side cabinets, a wardrobe and chest of drawers, so plenty of space! Also in the room is a book case with plenty of reading material and speakers with bass that you can connect to a laptop or phone to listen to music.

Guests are free to use the sitting room which is spacious with plenty of comfy seats, some classic vinyl and a record player as well as smart TV, and a table and chairs. Guests are welcome to use the kitchen to prepare food or make a hot drink.

I will be very happy to share our knowledge of the local area, venues and events to to generally help whenever I can. Also I respect privacy for guests who simply want to use our home as a base.

The block of flats has it's own private garden which is lovely to sit out in when the weather is good!

As well as being five minutes from Brixton tube (zone 2) there are direct 24 hour bus connections from outside the flat to the city center.

Guest access

Sometimes I will be in the sitting room and you are very welcome to join me for a chat/listen to music/watch tv or we could share some food if you feel like it. I also understand if you would prefer privacy.

Interaction with guests

I work as a tutor, when I'm not working I would be very happy to help with advice on the local area or to give you a tour of Brixton. I'm also able to give you plenty of space if you would prefer privacy.

Wireless Internet
Extra people $30 NZD / night after the first guest
Cleaning Fee $30 NZD
Security Deposit $400 NZD
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
Check-in time is flexible
Check out by 12PM (noon)

I like my guests to feel at home and for us to respect each others personal space. My home is a non-smoking house but you can smoke in the communal garden.

On entering the flat I usually remove outdoor shoes and store them under the stars as the carpets are light.

Being on the 5th floor the flat is open to the wind and rain. I usually close the large windows when leaving for the day.

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Fire extinguisher
14 nights minimum stay

15 Reviews

Check In
Murat User Profile
May 2017
The apartment location is really good, just walking distance to the public transports, bus, tube etc. Also, it is close to the Brixton centre to spend very good time. The flat was very clean and tidy, the room is quite large and has two big windows, makes it bright as it was explained. Katie is helpful and explained everything I need, also she is open to conversation and give advice about the area and London. I recommend her place to everyone.

Philip User Profile
May 2017
Katie is a lovely person,the flat is great and quiet.

Jeremy User Profile
May 2017
All I can say is wow! What a great experience! Katie's home is located just a short 7 minute walk outside of Central Brixton. The neighborhood has so much to offer and her home was only minutes away. I love her home. I was very sad to leave it. It felt truly like my own home for the few days that was needed away. Katie also is a wonderful person. She was super kind and inviting. She went out of her way to get me the keys on her way to work as I arrived late for check in. She definitely made my stay all that much better. I highly recommend her home if you want to check out Brixton and be close to it's Underground station.

Clément User Profile
April 2017
Katie's apartment is lovely. I stayed for 5 days/nights with my girlfriend and we had a very positive experience. The room is relatively spacious, very clean and cozy. Katie was a great host, she had good suggestions and did everything to make us feel at home. The location is great (less than 10 minute walk to Brixton market, the underground, etc). We will definitely try to stay with Katie again during our next trip to London!

Bill User Profile
January 2017
Katie was a great host! Really friendly, and helpful as she showed me around the local restaurants, pubs, bars and coffee shops in the area, as well as able to help with any questions I had. The flat was always kept clean, and the room was larger than it looks in the pictures. I stayed for two months, and it worked out very well for an extended stay. I would highly recommend staying here if you have the chance, and will book again when back in London.

Mitchell User Profile
October 2016
This double room is located in a very convenient location in Brixton. Very easy to get around london as it is located near the Victoria line (which is also a night tube service). Katie was a friendly and welcoming host and very helpful. The room was clean and had plenty of space for a week's stay.

Pat User Profile
October 2016
Katie was a great host and went out of her way to ensure I had a comfortable stay. Location was good for access to central London. My room was warm and bright and the flat was spotless. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

London, United KingdomJoined in September 2014
Katie User Profile

I'm an easy going northerner who has been living in London for the last few years (with a brief stint in Switzerland). I love the vibrant, varied and multicultural nature of Brixton, which has been my home for the last few years. I love traveling, meeting new people, vegetarian food, gardening, music, yoga and science. I'm a qualified Science teacher and I'm working as a tutor at the moment.

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

The neighbourhood

Similar listings