Skip to content
The front of the cottage as vast lawn with beach and ocean view.
Entire house

Dunskey Estate: Beach Glen Cottage on 2000-acre


Dunskey Estate: Beach Glen Cottage on 2000-acre

5 guests
2 bedrooms
5 beds
1 bath
5 guests
2 bedrooms
5 beds
1 bath
Anne is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.

Newly upgraded Glen Cottage with mid century furniture and soft white beddings. Located in the midst of a secluded glen walk, surrounded by trees and a babbling brook, steps away from two private beaches, a waterfall and amazing coastal cliffs.


Free parking on premises
Hair dryer
Indoor fireplace

House Rules

Check-in is anytime after 4PM
Check out by 10AM


7 Reviews

Jodie User Profile
July 2017
Glen Cottage is in the most beautiful, magical setting. Right next to the beach, surrounded by woodland, wildlife and complete peace. Unfortunately the Cottage isn't in the same league. It is extremely damp and mouldy. The bathroom is so grotty, black mould around the bath and th…
Anne User Profile
Response from Anne:
This is an unbelievably false review. We have been managing this cottage since 2015 and have paid extremely close attention to it. We manage several accommodations at Dunskey Estate and take great pride in presenting excellent products to our guests. After this review, we were so horrified that we immediately rushed down with two additional staff to inspect. To be sure, we inspect every cottage before every single booking, so we knew these issues did not exist. There is absolutely no mold around the bath and sink. Yes it is an older cottage, but it is exceptionally clean and maintained to great care. There is zero mold on the shower curtains, since we replace shower curtains with every booking to wash them. That is a shocking accusation. The walls are badly decorated? What does that mean? It is freshly painted and there is no problem there. The hob and dishwasher is an older appliance but it is 100% serviced and absolutely 100% functional with zero problem. The fridge absolutely does not leak and I simply cannot understand where this accusation comes from. Regarding the duvet, I did a thorough inspection each time and did not notice any dried blood. After this booking, the duvet cover and the duvet did have some dried blood near the middle, which means it occurred during this booking. We have replaced the duvet. We take great care with linens and bedding with all our accommodations and would never allow such a thing to happen. As seen across all our properties, we are proud of the service we provide. This is an inaccurate and offensive review, and we absolutely stand by our products.
July 2017
Emma User Profile
April 2017
The Cottage is in the most magic location, the glen is like someting out of a fairytale, the beach just seconds out the door with your own waterfall. The cottage has gorgeous furnishings and we had yummy scones on our arrival.
Erica User Profile
February 2017
What an amazing place. Unique surroundings perfect for a real break from technology and city life. We had the most amazing rest. The scenery is unrivalled. And the little touches in the cottage like the eggs and chocolate cake make the long drive from London worthwhile.
Francesca User Profile
September 2016
Anne's cottage is amazing, simply wonderful! Everything was as expected, there was even some delicious homemade scones and jam waiting for us. The cottage is a two minute walk from two beaches, granted one is down a steep hill so be prepared to give your legs a work out! The area…
Stuart User Profile
September 2016
Anne is friendly, helpful, and very keen to provide anything you need. The estate is breathtaking and so much to soak in and enjoy. The two beaches are beautiful and lots to explore there and along the coast; well signposted walks, rowing boats on the loch, really stunning wall…
Mekenzie User Profile
October 2015
The beach cottage was a mixed experience for me. The home was older, heating didn't work, it was hard to find, and there was no cell service. At the same time, it was a beautiful location once we got to it, only a short walk from two beaches and about a thirty to forty minuet wal…
Anne User Profile
Response from Anne:
Thank you MeKenzie for staying with us at Dunskey. It's true that the estate is a historic destination, deemed "listed" in Scotland, which means it is a "Statutory List of Buildings of Special Architectural or Historic Interest." It wouldn't be considered such if it were not old and "outdated" as you say. We came to see you the morning after your arrival bundled in our coats, and your dad greeted us at the door in a t-shirt and assured us all was fine. We also checked the heating before you arrived and after your departure and it was blasting with hot air. The electric meter also went up quite a bit! But I am sorry you were cold. We did specify it was remote, and recommended that you needed a car and tried to steer you to another cottage that had easy wifi and phone access but you maintained in your messages that you wanted to be seaside. We also sent you detailed driving instruction weeks before arrival and twice on the day of arrival, and offered to call your phone to help you get here. However you insisted that we communicated via airbnb text messages, which truncated our messages. We were quite concern with you both being there without a car, hence the offer to delivery grocery and meals to your door in the dark, and came the next day to see that you had everything you wanted. If you asked, we would have brought additional space heaters. I hope you've had a lovely rest of your birthday journey with your father.
October 2015
Fiona User Profile
September 2015
Our stay at Glen cottage was wonderful. The cottage is very cosy and comfortable. The beach is a 5 minute walk away and it's a half hour walk along the coast into Portpatrick. I brought my Westie Buddy who loved his stay - particularly his swim in the top loch! I would highly …

This host has 71 reviews for other properties.

View other reviews

Hosted by Anne

Dumfries, United KingdomJoined in September 2013
Anne User Profile
79 Reviews
Anne is a SuperhostSuperhosts are experienced, highly rated hosts who are committed to providing great stays for guests.
Reading is my life, especially if the books are by women of colour. My husband and I have traveled quite a bit, and we've concluded, without any bias, Vietnamese cuisine is the absolute best. I am also a proud and outspoken feminist who is passionate about racial justice, rural d…
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour
Always communicate through AirbnbTo protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

The neighbourhood

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check In

Press the down arrow key to interact with the calendar and select a date. Press the question mark key to get the keyboard shortcuts for changing dates.

Check Out
You won’t be charged yet

Similar listings