Skip to content
View of the room, the  bay window means lots of natural light.
Clean, large rm, quiet, & parking! Rothwell, NN14
Clean, large rm, quiet, & parking! Rothwell, NN14
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 shared bath
You won’t be charged yet

Large, bright, very clean, double-room in a quiet detached home, with kitchen use, Rothwell, NN14. Off A14, easy access A1/M1/M6/A6/Kettering hospital. 45min Silverstone/25min Rockingham speedway. 10min drive Rushton Hall/Kelmarsh Hall (see extra details re getting there & back). 5min walk restaurants, shops & historic centre. Please take the time read my detailed description & see photos :).

The space

The guest-room is the biggest bedroom, with a large, eastward facing, bay-window receiving morning sunshine. The room has stripped, varnished floorboards and Turkish rugs, a comfortable double bed with white, 100% cotton bedding and a down duvet.

Guests tell me the bed is very comfortable, & blackout curtains help to keep out the early morning light. There are double electrical sockets on both sides of the bed, and places to put phones etc, if you need to keep devices handy whilst charging overnight.

Although the guest room is at the front of the house, you won't be disturbed by traffic as I live on a relatively quiet road. The room has bedside lamps, desk, chair, rocking-chair, footstool and a small, Freeview, flatscreen TV with built-in DVD player. The wardrobe & chest of drawers are for guest use too. Lots of space to put your bits & pieces.

Guest check-in. My check-in time is 5pm but I will do my utmost to be as accomodating as possible over your arrival time. Please appreciate that sometimes 5pm is the best I can do. Please do message to ask :)

Happy to have couples stay, there is an additional charge of £15 per night for a second guest. Please note: the room has 1 double bed to sleep a maximum of 2 people. Please ensure your booking is for 2 people, (if there are two of you!). I don't accept requests via messenger for a second person within hours of arrival.

As everyone has different breakfast needs, I leave it to my guests to bring/organise their own breakfast. You are welcome to use the kitchen (which is well equipped, I do have a microwave (amongst other gadgets) you also have use of a separate fridge. There is usually coffee on the go in the morning. :)

Guest access

Guests have use of the guest bedroom, bathroom upstairs & downstairs kitchen (with dining area). Please read my full description & see all photographs.

My house has off-road parking for two cars, so you don't have to worry about finding a spot on the street. If you are on a motorbike it can be securely parked at the rear of my house.

The house has a full bathroom, no en-suite, but you will not be in competition with small children, teenagers or bathroom hogs! Hot water is constant & the electric shower is good. I provide towels, so you don't need to carry these. Downstairs, guests have access to the well equipped kitchen/dining area.

Interaction with guests

I try to respond to requests within a couple of hours usually much faster. I like to have an idea of who is asking to stay & what brings them to the area. Remember, AirBnB is personal, you are a stranger being welcomed into my home, not a hotel! Please show courtesy by responding to the questions I raise in my message after you book.

I am happy to try & help with late booking requests (e.g. on the day of arrival). Guests have, in the past, stayed a single night, been a regular visitor over a period of weeks or anything in between.

I have travelled the world & stayed at AirBnB spots, so know how useful host knowledge can be. I am happy to share info about my local home area & further afield.

Happy to chat over dinner / drinks or equally to leave you in peace during your stay. (The only caveat to this is that sometimes I may be out in the evening and I do need to work during the day. Please don't be offended if this is the case.)

Other things to note

**** Guest check-in. Although my check-in time is set to 5pm I will do my utmost to be as accomodating as possible over your arrival time.*****

I have a cat (and asthma triggered by fur...) he is nervous of new people, and likes to make the first move when saying hello. (He is becoming a little braver as he meets more guests.) He rarely enters the guest bedroom, preferring to sleep on my bed :). Please don't chase/shout/call-out at my cat.

I have hardwood floors throughout much of the house (including bedrooms) and do my utmost to keep the house cat hair/dust free. If you have mild allergies my home is probably OK for you.

One other thing - my house is nearly 80 years old and has lots of character, as a result heating pipes can occasionally make noises in the night especially during the winter. If you think this maybe an issue please do bring ear plugs.

Finally, if you are attending an event at Rushton Hall I am happy (schedule permitting) to take you/pick you up (at a pre-arranged time) for a £10 charge, this is less than half the price of a taxi!

Amenities
Kitchen
TV
Essentials
Heating
Prices
Extra people $30 NZD / night after the first guest
Weekend Price $56 NZD / night
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check-in time is 5PM - 10PM
Check out by 10AM

-Please treat me and my house as a host/home and not an employee/hotel :-).

-I expect all perspective guests to share what brings them to the area and to learn a little about you in your message. You will, after all, be welcomed and trusted in my home.

- I will message you enquiring about your arrival time - please take the time to respond, it helps everything run smoothly for both of us.

- Requests to bring a second person within a few hours of arrival time will not be accepted.

-Leave your outdoor shoes at the bottom of the stairs.

- Lock all doors and windows before leaving.

-My home/garden/drive are non-smoking environments.

- Be mindful of your water useage - I am on a water meter.

-I have lots of antique/old wooden furniture, please use the towel-rails and radiators for wet towels, not pieces of furniture, nor the bed, and coasters for all glasses and mugs.

-In the kitchen please respect that I need to prepare meals too and need space to do this; load used dishes directly into the dishwasher and leave the kitchen as you found it.

-If you need to have post sent to you during your stay please ask BEFORE giving my address to others. (Sorry bad past experience.)


-The room is for a max of 2 people sleeping in the same bed. I can't provide extra beds, nor accommodate more than 2 people. Sorry!

You must also acknowledge
Must climb stairs - please read full listing
Pet(s) live on property - please read full listing
Some spaces are shared - please read full listing
Cancellations
Safety features
Smoke detector
First aid kit
Availability
1 night minimum stay

55 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Moses User Profile
October 2017
A clean lovely place, Kay is very good in communication, very cheerful and kind

Phil User Profile
October 2017
Thanks Kay for an easy stay over, and a friendly chat. All the best. Phil

Moses User Profile
October 2017
it a good place to stay, very neat and quiet place

Nelson User Profile
October 2017
Kay was incredibly helpful with directions to her home and her replies were very prompt. Her accomodation is of great value. I would definitely recommend her to anyone coming to Rothwell or Kettering.

Serena User Profile
October 2017
Felt rather lucky to have found and stayed with Kay. Genuinely like staying with a friend. Would definitely book again.

Georgia User Profile
August 2017
Kay is a fantastic host and very helpful. The house and the room are very tidy and clean. I definitely recommend it.

Graham User Profile
July 2017
Kay is lovely person with a lovely home. It was better than I expected, Kay was a great host and very helpful. Next trip I will be booking in again

England, United KingdomJoined in May 2012
Kay User Profile

I have travelled the world, often with my backpack and tent (and scuba gear). In August 2015 I returned from a year living and working in the USA, prior to that I was a lecturer at the University of London. Now I am studying for a PhD and taking on some consultancy work.

I enjoy meeting people both when I am travelling and closer to home. Given the chance I like to find myself in warm water scuba diving, whilst at home I am a keen cook, baker and enjoy red wine :-) as well as learning how to steer my narrowboat!

Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings